android
  #1  
Old 10-25-2011, 04:34 PM
Kt_ Kt_ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 114
Default Problem syncing playlist to my clip+ with 16gb microsd inserted

Hey guys I was hoping you could help me with a problem i've got.

I've bought a sansa clip+ and a 16 gb microsd card. The problem is when I connect my clip to the computer with the microsd card inserted windows media player recognizes my sansa clip+ memory of 8 gb and the 16gb from the microsd seperately.

This means that i cannot sync any playlist that has over 16 gb music at a time because the sd card is filled up (even though I still have 8gb of internal memory left on the clip). Does anybody know how i can solve this problem because all my playlists are huge and this is really a problem for me.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 10-25-2011, 05:15 PM
FreeZ5's Avatar
FreeZ5 FreeZ5 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Niagara Region, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,498
Default

Kt...

you could stop syncing and start using drag&drop (ie Windows Explorer aka My Computer). However, this means that you would have to re-create the playlist once on the Clip+ if you wished to keep using the playlist. It kinda sounds ike Play All would suffice instead of a playlist.

PS..windows media player...not so good anyway.

Steve
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 10-25-2011, 05:15 PM
skip252 skip252 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5,154
Default

What's happening with WMP is how all media players I know about deal with the memory of Sansa players. They see the two memories separately and I haven't known any that can fill one then finish by switching to the other.

Even after it's loaded it's not simple to create a playlist that spans both memories. There is a post somewhere by CDMP3PlayerFan where he details how to do it with MediaMonkey and a type of specially formed playlist but I never tried it myself. Playlists that span both memories can also be made with files loaded in MSC using video4fuze. However if anything causes the Sandisk database to refresh it usually breaks the playlist.

If you use Rockbox you can address both the memories using the database. You would still have to fill each memory separately and Rockbox doesn't do sync. You can create playlists that span both memories from files you've added to both memories but the only way to update them would be manually.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 10-25-2011, 05:35 PM
epithetless's Avatar
epithetless epithetless is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, Mass
Posts: 1,609
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skip252 View Post
If you use Rockbox you can address both the memories using the database. You would still have to fill each memory separately and Rockbox doesn't do sync. You can create playlists that span both memories from files you've added to both memories but the only way to update them would be manually.
Just an addendum to that: If you're using Rockbox (and are thus in MSC mode), you can utilize oddgravity's Playlist Creator to make (and edit) .M3U playlists containing content from both the internal memory and a microSD card. In addition, if you drop the Playlist Creator Zip File contents onto your Clip+, it operates as a portable installation allowing you to fire up Playlist Creator from the device on any Windows computer you connect it to.

None of this gets the OP around having to make new playlists, but it can be a helpful tool once his/her music is on the device.
__________________
Rockbox Themes:
Sansa Fuze: XL Fuzed // Sansa Clip/Clip+: Cliplined
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 10-25-2011, 05:46 PM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FreeZ5 View Post
Kt...

you could stop syncing and start using drag&drop (ie Windows Explorer aka My Computer). However, this means that you would have to re-create the playlist once on the Clip+ if you wished to keep using the playlist. It kinda sounds ike Play All would suffice instead of a playlist.

PS..windows media player...not so good anyway.

Steve
My thoughts exactly.
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 10-25-2011, 06:20 PM
Kt_ Kt_ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 114
Default

Thanks for the replies! I can settle for no playlist, the problem is i've selected about 2000 songs that are in my wmp playlist it would a big hassle to add all those songs "by hand" (drag and drop). Is there any easy way to do this?
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 10-26-2011, 04:27 PM
skip252 skip252 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5,154
Default

Good media management software is also moves and catalogs files. That leaves out WMP.

You could save the WMP playlist in .m3u form and then use a better media library to open that playlist and copy the contents to your player. That won't give you a the playlist but it will move the files.

foobar2000 and MediaMonkey make it fairly easy. Just open the playlist, highlight the part you want to transfer and check the Properties. If the size is right you can just right click and copy/paste the files to your Music folder on you DAP.

If you want the arranged in Artist/Album folders you can use the File Operations in foobar2000 to do that. I use the pattern
Code:
[%album artist%]\%album%\[%track%] - [%title%]
If you paste that into the Filename pattern box after you pick your destination folder in the Copy To... dialog box it will create the folders and sort your files into them as it copies them over.

I don't remember the exact steps using MediaMonkey but I used to do essentially the same thing using that. Highlight items in the saved WMP playlist once you open it, be sure your selection isn't too large for the drive you want to fill and copy the files over. The free version of MM isn't quite as powerful in it's library capabilities a foobar2000 IMO but it's decent.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:23 AM.