android
  #1  
Old 10-03-2011, 02:36 PM
Steff8000's Avatar
Steff8000 Steff8000 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Denmark
Posts: 52
Exclamation EAC ripping issue

So I just got a new pc, and I decided to install the latest beta version of EAC so I could rip some of my new cd's to my hardrive in FLAC format. The problem is, that i've been getting errors on all the tracks I have ripped since my new setup. I have used the latest FLAC ripping guide posted here on the forum.

Here is one of my latest logfiles:
Code:
Exact Audio Copy V1.0 beta 3 from 29. August 2011

EAC extraction logfile from 2. October 2011, 23:44

Boots Electric / Honky Kong

Used drive  : TSSTcorpCDDVDW SH-222AB   Adapter: 2  ID: 1

Read mode               : Secure
Utilize accurate stream : Yes
Defeat audio cache      : Yes
Make use of C2 pointers : No

Read offset correction                      : 6
Overread into Lead-In and Lead-Out          : Yes
Fill up missing offset samples with silence : Yes
Delete leading and trailing silent blocks   : No
Null samples used in CRC calculations       : Yes
Used interface                              : Native Win32 interface for Win NT & 2000
Gap handling                                : Appended to previous track

Used output format              : User Defined Encoder
Selected bitrate                : 1024 kBit/s
Quality                         : High
Add ID3 tag                     : No
Command line compressor         : C:\Program Files (x86)\Exact Audio Copy\Flac\flac.exe
Additional command line options : -8 -V -T "ARTIST=%artist%" -T "TITLE=%title%" -T "ALBUM=%albumtitle%" -T "DATE=%year%" -T "TRACKNUMBER=%tracknr%" -T "GENRE=%genre%" -T "PERFORMER=%albuminterpret%" -T "COMPOSER=%composer%" %haslyrics%--tag-from-file=LYRICS="%lyricsfile%"%haslyrics% -T "ALBUMARTIST=%albumartist%" -T "ALBUM ARTIST=%albumartist%" -T "DISCNUMBER=%cdnumber%" -T "TOTALDISCS=%totalcds%" -T "TOTALTRACKS=%numtracks%" -T "COMMENT=EAC V1.0 beta 2, Secure Mode, Test & Copy, AccurateRip, FLAC -8" %source% -o %dest%


TOC of the extracted CD

     Track |   Start  |  Length  | Start sector | End sector 
    ---------------------------------------------------------
        1  |  0:00.00 |  2:56.62 |         0    |    13261   
        2  |  2:56.62 |  3:39.36 |     13262    |    29722   
        3  |  6:36.23 |  3:38.45 |     29723    |    46117   
        4  | 10:14.68 |  3:20.23 |     46118    |    61140   
        5  | 13:35.16 |  2:49.22 |     61141    |    73837   
        6  | 16:24.38 |  3:50.60 |     73838    |    91147   
        7  | 20:15.23 |  3:50.07 |     91148    |   108404   
        8  | 24:05.30 |  3:16.06 |    108405    |   123110   
        9  | 27:21.36 |  2:32.34 |    123111    |   134544   
       10  | 29:53.70 |  2:14.43 |    134545    |   144637   


Track  1

     Filename E:\Music\Boots Electric\Honky Kong [FLAC]\01 Complexity.wav

     Pre-gap length  0:00:02.00

     Peak level 97.7 %
     Extraction speed 0.6 X
     Track quality 100.0 %
     Test CRC 4B4750EC
     Copy CRC 4B4750EC
     Copy OK

Track  2

     Filename E:\Music\Boots Electric\Honky Kong [FLAC]\02 I Love You All The Thyme.wav

     Pre-gap length  0:00:00.24

     Peak level 96.6 %
     Extraction speed 0.5 X
     Track quality 99.9 %
     Test CRC 3F0E9A01
     Copy CRC 3F0E9A01
     Copy OK

Track  3

     Filename E:\Music\Boots Electric\Honky Kong [FLAC]\03 Boots Electric Theme.wav

     Pre-gap length  0:00:01.00

     Peak level 96.6 %
     Extraction speed 0.5 X
     Track quality 100.0 %
     Test CRC CFD9C6C9
     Copy CRC CFD9C6C9
     Copy OK

Track  4

     Filename E:\Music\Boots Electric\Honky Kong [FLAC]\04 Dreams Tonight.wav

     Pre-gap length  0:00:00.10

     Peak level 97.7 %
     Extraction speed 0.5 X
     Track quality 100.0 %
     Test CRC ADDE80B9
     Copy CRC ADDE80B9
     Copy OK

Track  5

     Filename E:\Music\Boots Electric\Honky Kong [FLAC]\05 No Ffun.wav

     Pre-gap length  0:00:01.02

     Peak level 97.7 %
     Extraction speed 0.4 X
     Track quality 99.9 %
     Test CRC B056EEF6
     Copy CRC B056EEF6
     Copy OK

Track  6

     Filename E:\Music\Boots Electric\Honky Kong [FLAC]\06 Oh Girl.wav

     Peak level 97.7 %
     Extraction speed 0.5 X
     Track quality 100.0 %
     Test CRC 6532A2DE
     Copy CRC 6532A2DE
     Copy OK

Track  7

     Filename E:\Music\Boots Electric\Honky Kong [FLAC]\07 Speed Demon.wav

     Pre-gap length  0:00:00.16

     Peak level 97.7 %
     Extraction speed 0.4 X
     Track quality 99.9 %
     Test CRC 7535B45E
     Copy CRC 7535B45E
     Copy OK

Track  8

     Filename E:\Music\Boots Electric\Honky Kong [FLAC]\08 You'll Be Sorry.wav

     Pre-gap length  0:00:00.14

     Peak level 97.7 %
     Extraction speed 0.5 X
     Track quality 100.0 %
     Test CRC C5CE76EF
     Copy CRC C5CE76EF
     Copy OK

Track  9

     Filename E:\Music\Boots Electric\Honky Kong [FLAC]\09 Trippy Blob.wav

     Pre-gap length  0:00:01.17

     Peak level 97.7 %
     Extraction speed 1.9 X
     Track quality 100.0 %
     Test CRC 4FB030D7
     Copy CRC 4FB030D7
     Copy OK

Track 10

     Filename E:\Music\Boots Electric\Honky Kong [FLAC]\10 Swallowed By The Night.wav

     Pre-gap length  0:00:00.18

     Suspicious position 0:02:14

     Peak level 97.7 %
     Extraction speed 2.3 X
     Track quality 99.6 %
     Test CRC 1FF84C2D
     Copy CRC 1FF84C2D
     Copy finished

There were errors

End of status report

==== Log checksum AC0E343135028D1F39AB0F4E3CBF5603072847DBA224A945C20C423B6B1F4073 ===
And here is a picture of my Offset/speed settings:

Maybe i have used the wrong Read Sample Offset Correction? Also, "Use Accurate Rip With This Drive" can't be checked. Guess my drive doesn't support it. Is that bad?

Anyways, I hope that someone can help me fix my problem, so I can get some perfect rips again
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 10-03-2011, 05:54 PM
McDougal's Avatar
McDougal McDougal is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,375
Default

Hmmm I'm not sure but I use foobar2000 for my FLAC rips. IMO its simpler than EAC and can get just as good results if configured right. I suggest you try it out, otherwise maybe try an older version of EAC? Did you follow the tutorials dfkt has stickied?

If interested here is a good guide for foobar2k.
__________________
iPod Touch 4G 32GB; Google Nexus 7 32GB
JVC HAS600B;Pioneer SE-M390;Audio-Technica ATH-P5

Retired Devices:
Sansa Fuze 8+16GB Rockboxed
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 10-03-2011, 06:52 PM
steinburger1109's Avatar
steinburger1109 steinburger1109 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Naperville, Illinois
Posts: 2,456
Default

Yea, I'd try not using a beta.
__________________
- Justin
Glossary for Newbies Everybody
Babble. On.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 10-03-2011, 10:37 PM
skip252 skip252 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5,444
Default

EAC is always in beta. That's never stopped it from being arguably the best ripper around.

I can't read a log report and tell what's wrong. What jumps out at me is the really slow extraction speeds. The only time I saw anything like that my drive was stuck in PIO mode on a WinXP machine. Uninstalling and reinstalling the drive in the Control Panel fixed that. No idea if that might be a issue here.

Looking up your drive it shows in the Accuraterip drive database with the offset you have. No idea why they option to use Accuraterip would be grayed out. I've only seen that when I chose the "only speed is important" option in the Configuration Wizard. Since the log shows the rip was done in secure mode that shouldn't be the problem here. Did you run the Accuraterip setup as part of the initial installation?

If it sounds like I'm not sure on this, I not. The only suggestion I would have would be to run the Configuration Wizard, accept the defaults and see if that helps.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 10-03-2011, 11:16 PM
steinburger1109's Avatar
steinburger1109 steinburger1109 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Naperville, Illinois
Posts: 2,456
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skip252 View Post
EAC is always in beta.
Heh... I only started using it a month ago, didn't know. Whoops...
__________________
- Justin
Glossary for Newbies Everybody
Babble. On.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 10-04-2011, 04:26 PM
McDougal's Avatar
McDougal McDougal is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,375
Default

If I were to use EAC, I would use version 0.99 prebeta5. I would do this because I had no problems with it, and it matched my favorite tutorial site.

Btw, I don't use EAC anymore.
__________________
iPod Touch 4G 32GB; Google Nexus 7 32GB
JVC HAS600B;Pioneer SE-M390;Audio-Technica ATH-P5

Retired Devices:
Sansa Fuze 8+16GB Rockboxed
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 10-04-2011, 04:40 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

It's not recommended to still use old versions of EAC. The new one works better on all the machines I installed it. You got another CD drive to test?

The +6 drive offset seems to be correct, with high certainty. You don't really have to activate overread. Maybe you could try to set up EAC once again, and pop in a popular CD that automatically configures the offset, as described in step #2 of the new guide.

Here's what a log checker said about your rip:

Quote:
Score: 65 (out of 100)
The following properties decreased the score:
Suspicious position(s) found on track 10, -20 points [20]
Copy not OK for track 10, -5 points [25]
AccurateRip not enabled for every track, -10 points [35]
I can't really see what's wrong, though... test&copy CRCs on track 10 match, despite the "suspicious position found". Hmm.

Also, you don't seem to use AccurateRip checking. You better enable that.
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 10-04-2011, 05:12 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

I updated the setup and ripping guide for 1.0b3: http://anythingbutipod.com/forum/showthread.php?t=52398
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 10-05-2011, 08:33 AM
Steff8000's Avatar
Steff8000 Steff8000 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Denmark
Posts: 52
Default

Thanks for all your replies. I'll try to set up EAC again, and use a more popular and older cd.

Edit: I have now set up EAC once again following the beta 3 guide posted dfkt. It all seems to work perfectly now. I get perfect rips and it doesn't take forever to rip cd's. Thanks for the help guys.

Last edited by Steff8000; 10-05-2011 at 02:59 PM.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Tags
eac, flac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:15 PM.