android
  #1  
Old 09-10-2011, 04:05 PM
joove joove is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 4
Default What software for Replay Gain for wma-files?

I have many wma-files. I do understand that in order to be able to use Replay Gain on my Clip+, I should add some information to each wma-file in order for the Clip+ to interpret that information. My question: how can I do this? The software Foobar2000 has been mentioned. But do I understand correctly that this software cannot be used for wma-files? If so, is another software available?
Many thanks and sorry that this question might seem stupid to many of you.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 09-10-2011, 04:42 PM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,061
Default

I know that mp3Gain works for mp3's, but I've yet to see something for WMA's. Besides, no one really uses WMA anymore,...
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 09-10-2011, 04:44 PM
steinburger1109's Avatar
steinburger1109 steinburger1109 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Naperville, Illinois
Posts: 2,456
Default

You can always try foobar2000 with your files. It's free.
__________________
- Justin
Glossary for Newbies Everybody
Babble. On.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 09-10-2011, 04:54 PM
McDougal's Avatar
McDougal McDougal is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,375
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by steinburger1109 View Post
You can always try foobar2000 with your files. It's free.
+1. I've used Foobar2000's scanner on some of my oldie WMA files, and it appears to work just fine.....
__________________
iPod Touch 4G 32GB; Google Nexus 7 32GB
JVC HAS600B;Pioneer SE-M390;Audio-Technica ATH-P5

Retired Devices:
Sansa Fuze 8+16GB Rockboxed
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 09-10-2011, 07:34 PM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,061
Default

I may need foobar2000 then, just for the fun of it!!!
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 09-11-2011, 02:09 AM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The DarkSide View Post
I may need foobar2000 then, just for the fun of it!!!
Quote:
2011-08-06: Fix replaygain for WMA files (broken in 3.9).
from http://www.rockbox.org/wiki/MajorChanges

So I'm guessing ReplayGain will work for WMA's at least on a rockboxed player.....I don't know if it would on a player with stock firmware though.
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 09-27-2011, 03:16 PM
joove joove is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 4
Default

Many thanks. I have used foobar2000 to scan all my wma-files. I've put them all on my player.



I use the original Clip+ software (not rockbox). What settings should I use? Shuffle / Play all songs / Replay Gain Song / Possibly gain volume. When I do so, the player stops playing (sometimes in the middle of the song) after 1 song. Are my settings wrong somewhere?
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:23 AM.