android
Go Back   abi>>forums > MP3 Players By Brand > SanDisk Sansa

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 08-30-2011, 05:31 PM
steinburger1109's Avatar
steinburger1109 steinburger1109 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Naperville, Illinois
Posts: 2,456
Default

On which cards to use, I like SanDisk, and a class 4 card will suit you fine, you don't need anything higher, maybe you can save some moolah that way.
__________________
- Justin
Glossary for Newbies Everybody
Babble. On.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #22  
Old 08-30-2011, 05:33 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Even a quality class 2 is faster than the internal reader of all these players can handle.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #23  
Old 08-31-2011, 02:02 AM
djfonplaz djfonplaz is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 97
Default

Yeah man, I already read it But it will works (I mean 32gb) only running RockBox? I hope not...
Reply With Quote

  #24  
Old 08-31-2011, 02:54 AM
Enigmatic Enigmatic is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 620
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by djfonplaz View Post
But it will works (I mean 32gb) only running RockBox?
http://www.sandisk.com/media/343157/...m_0809_eng.pdf, PDF page 8:
Quote:
MicroSD/SDHC card slot supports additional 4GB* and higher capacities.
Reply With Quote

  #25  
Old 08-31-2011, 03:41 AM
djfonplaz djfonplaz is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 97
Default

Oh...so 32gb works! Nice one...hope to find a 8gb model sooner on internet. Didnt see any good auctions on my country (at the moment only one at 95€).

I think I'll buy a KINGSTON 32 GB CLASS 4 (FAT32, as the internal Fuze memory I think), what do you think about? CLASS higher will be better? Or it doesnt make differences?

Last edited by djfonplaz; 08-31-2011 at 03:47 AM.
Reply With Quote

  #26  
Old 08-31-2011, 05:49 AM
Enigmatic Enigmatic is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 620
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by djfonplaz View Post
I think I'll buy a KINGSTON 32 GB CLASS 4 (FAT32, as the internal Fuze memory I think), what do you think about? CLASS higher will be better? Or it doesnt make differences?
You might get faster transfers loading the card. But other than that, I do not think it makes much of a difference. If you do not care that much about transfer speeds, a class 2 will do.
Reply With Quote

  #27  
Old 08-31-2011, 06:03 AM
djfonplaz djfonplaz is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 97
Default

Ok...so that's would be ok! I think i get all informations! I'll proceed with purchase in the next days, and I'll let you know how it works when I got it Thanks again to everybody, expecially to Enigmatic!
Reply With Quote

  #28  
Old 08-31-2011, 02:48 PM
Mikerman Mikerman is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,368
Default

I have 1 or 2 Kingston cards and they work just fine. I do note that their speed seems to be as rated, not faster. With some cards, especially SanDisk, I seem to get faster-than-rated speeds.
Reply With Quote

  #29  
Old 08-31-2011, 03:35 PM
djfonplaz djfonplaz is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 97
Default

In which terms these cards are faster/rated/slower? When I open the player? When I move the files from pc to the device? On playing?
Reply With Quote

  #30  
Old 08-31-2011, 04:00 PM
Lagoo56's Avatar
Lagoo56 Lagoo56 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: SI,NY
Posts: 737
Default

Speed of a SD card does not have any benefit when they are being used on a simple MP3 player,you won't notice any difference for playing or opening,speed only matters for cameras and other recording devices. Either way if a 32GB card is bought and used in an MP3 player,it will still take awhile to copy all files to the card.
__________________
DAPs I own: Rockboxed Sansa C250 2GB+64GB MicroSDXC
Tablets I own:Rooted 8GB Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 7.0 running Sungsonic 2 HD JB 4.1.2
Rooted 80GB Asus Memopad HD 7
Reply With Quote

  #31  
Old 08-31-2011, 04:45 PM
JK98 JK98 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,980
Default

I did some tests with a Class 10 card and my Clip+ and Fuze v1. With files averaging around 15MB, I got write speeds of under 2MB/s to the card in my Fuze, and around 4.4MB/s for my Clip+. So getting a class 10 card for a Clip+ is a waste, but getting a class 4 card makes sense. i don't know about the Fuze v2, although I don't imagine its card reader is faster than the Clip+. I don't know how fast the reader is in the Clip Zip. Anyone here try writing to a class 10 card in a Clip Zip? How fast was it?

My class 10 card is only 8GB, so it ws just a few dollars more than class 4. Decent 16GB and 32GB class 10 cards can be almost double the price of decent class 4 ones.
My Kingston 8GB class 4 card was written to in my Clip+ at around 3.8MB/s, while using a USB card reader I got write speeds of around 8MB/s with the same files.
Reply With Quote

  #32  
Old 08-31-2011, 06:35 PM
steinburger1109's Avatar
steinburger1109 steinburger1109 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Naperville, Illinois
Posts: 2,456
Default

^Yup. Simple media playback doesn't need to be a high-class card. Like JK98 says, you will notice a difference in write speeds, to an extent, but most of the time that doesn't matter that much to people.
__________________
- Justin
Glossary for Newbies Everybody
Babble. On.
Reply With Quote

  #33  
Old 08-31-2011, 08:22 PM
Mikerman Mikerman is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,368
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by djfonplaz View Post
In which terms these cards are faster/rated/slower? When I open the player? When I move the files from pc to the device? On playing?
In loading files onto the card (and I forget--this may be only when the card is in a card reader and not the Clip). Not in the general operation within the Clips.
Reply With Quote

  #34  
Old 09-01-2011, 01:40 AM
JK98 JK98 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,980
Default

Filling a 32GB card at 2MB/s would take over 4 hours! I guess most people don't completely fill a 32GB card all at once, but still having it filled 2-4x as fast would be quite beneficial.
Reply With Quote

  #35  
Old 09-01-2011, 02:10 AM
djfonplaz djfonplaz is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 97
Default

Well, I think that time copying files from computer to device (on microsd) doesnt matter so much (ok, it will be 4 hours, but you will copy 32gb not so many time in your life). If I need faster transfers, I'll copy on device memory (which should be more faster, right?).

What will be a problem is if the player take 4 hours when I open it (reading files on microSD), but I hope the time is less, am I right?

What can you say about this reading on opening device?
Reply With Quote

  #36  
Old 09-01-2011, 02:42 AM
Mikerman Mikerman is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,368
Default

No, the Clip's reading of the microSD card doesn't take 4 hours. However, a Clip+ database refresh with my Class 4 Patriot microSD card can take 20 minutes, the last time I timed it.
Reply With Quote

  #37  
Old 09-01-2011, 03:11 AM
djfonplaz djfonplaz is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 97
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikerman View Post
No, the Clip's reading of the microSD card doesn't take 4 hours. However, a Clip+ database refresh with my Class 4 Patriot microSD card can take 20 minutes, the last time I timed it.
Do you mean every time you turn on the device it takes 20 minuts to open?
Reply With Quote

  #38  
Old 09-01-2011, 05:53 AM
Enigmatic Enigmatic is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 620
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by djfonplaz View Post
Do you mean every time you turn on the device it takes 20 minuts to open?
The database needs time to refresh whenever one changes content on the Fuze. Please take a look at the following thread for the solution to that problem.

http://www.anythingbutipod.com/forum...ad.php?t=57248.
Reply With Quote

  #39  
Old 09-01-2011, 06:02 AM
djfonplaz djfonplaz is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 97
Default

Oh...so this long time is only when I connect on PC. That's normal I think, I don't mind about it. I thought it takes time when I run it. Thanks man!!!

Found it from UK less € on ebay, but I don't understand if it's V1 or V2... how can I learn this?

(hope this is not considered as spam...)

Last edited by djfonplaz; 09-01-2011 at 06:08 AM.
Reply With Quote

  #40  
Old 09-01-2011, 06:27 AM
razorblader's Avatar
razorblader razorblader is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 138
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by djfonplaz View Post
Oh...so this long time is only when I connect on PC. That's normal I think, I don't mind about it. I thought it takes time when I run it. Thanks man!!!

Found it from UK less € on ebay, but I don't understand if it's V1 or V2... how can I learn this?

(hope this is not considered as spam...)
You can always ask the seller but I guess it's a relatively safe bet that it'll be a v2 as v1 has been out of production for quite a while.

The FW version (OF) of the player will tell which version it is.
__________________
DAP:Cowon X5 64GB, D2+ 16+32GB, S9 32GB, Sansa Fuze, Clip+ 8GB+32GB
IEM: Audéo PFE, UE 10, Panasonic HJE-900, Hifiman RE-0, Brainwavz M3
GUITAR: EBMM Petrucci, Schecter C-1 Hellraiser, Ibanez SZ 320, Ibanez S 420, Dean Cadillac, Peavey HP Special
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:03 AM.