android
  #21  
Old 06-11-2011, 12:34 PM
EddieE's Avatar
EddieE EddieE is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 507
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Popo View Post
well the thing with that is their computer was also running an OS, which will suck some of the processing power, it wont make a huge difference, but still...
They accounted for it:

" the Wii 2/Project Café's total RAM is likely to be 1GB, but we added an extra GB to offset the Windows 7 OS, which is pretty taxing otherwise. "

Here's the article and video:

http://uk.gear.ign.com/articles/116/1168222p1.html
__________________
In regular use...
Sansa Clip +|Foobar2k|FiiO E7, E9, A1|Stax SRM-XH|beyerdynamic N1000
Stax SR303|YamaLux HP-1|beyerdynamic ET1000|Ultrasone HFI-780|Phonak Audeo PFE112
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #22  
Old 06-14-2011, 09:57 AM
Jack4L's Avatar
Jack4L Jack4L is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,520
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Curiouss View Post
the things that really turning me off is the possibility of the controller cost D:. just a ps3 controller now is already $55, and look at this new controller with all its features...
Aparantly you can only have 1 "u" controller per system so it would already be calculated into the cost. Also considering its Nintendo, are we sure its not going to just be some wireless monitor for the device? In which case it'd just be a 6inch resistive single touch screen with some buttons, a battery and some wireless transmitter.

Quote:
Originally Posted by EddieE View Post
They accounted for it:

" the Wii 2/Project Café's total RAM is likely to be 1GB, but we added an extra GB to offset the Windows 7 OS, which is pretty taxing otherwise. "

Here's the article and video:

http://uk.gear.ign.com/articles/116/1168222p1.html
1gb of RAM, given to windows to compensate for itself? Not likely Dedicated hardware will always be more capable then a PC running an OS, running a Game.

Last edited by Jack4L; 06-14-2011 at 10:02 AM.
Reply With Quote

  #23  
Old 06-14-2011, 05:14 PM
EddieE's Avatar
EddieE EddieE is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 507
Default

Windows 7 uses 650-700mb in idle. I think 1gb was enough.

Re the screen, yeah its going to be low tech, basically a big DS screen, and the pad is just a receiver (besides all the accellerometer and camera bits and pieces.

It's about how developers use it to make gaming experiences better, that's what Nintendos always been about in philosophy whether they succeed or fail in practice.
__________________
In regular use...
Sansa Clip +|Foobar2k|FiiO E7, E9, A1|Stax SRM-XH|beyerdynamic N1000
Stax SR303|YamaLux HP-1|beyerdynamic ET1000|Ultrasone HFI-780|Phonak Audeo PFE112
Reply With Quote

  #24  
Old 06-14-2011, 07:49 PM
Mr. Popo's Avatar
Mr. Popo Mr. Popo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 473
Default

no, when i have only the basic process running im using around 1.2-1.5 gigs used on x64 win7
__________________
Cowon J3 + AKG K518 LE
Herp Derp
http://tinyurl.com/4n73b6a
Reply With Quote

  #25  
Old 06-14-2011, 08:18 PM
Mr. Popo's Avatar
Mr. Popo Mr. Popo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 473
Default

http://www.industrygamers.com/news/w...-ps3---report/
__________________
Cowon J3 + AKG K518 LE
Herp Derp
http://tinyurl.com/4n73b6a
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:06 PM.