android
  #1  
Old 04-03-2011, 02:30 PM
keyb_gr keyb_gr is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 54
Default New 8G Clip+ has less capacity than old 8G ClipV2?!

Here's an interesting one:

For my b'day I got a new 8 gig Clip+ to replace my aging Clip of nominally same capacity. I didn't even bother to format the internal memory, which had been necessary on the old one after a firmware upgrade. Only after I had loaded it with music did I notice that the new device has about 0.3 GiB less space than the old one, 7.35 GiB vs. 7.62 GiB. Manufacturing dates for SD08G according to Rockbox are 12/2010 and 11/2008, respectively, with #blocks = 0x00EBF00 vs. 0x00F0C00.

So what's up? Did they increase the level of redundancy in general (which would be OK by me, given that I had some issues with bit rot on the old one), or does that particular chip just have more bad blocks which had to be excluded?

How big is your 8G Clip(+)?
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 04-03-2011, 02:40 PM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

IIRC the firmware file is larger than the old one......presumably to handle the microsdhc handling, and slightly improved equalizer in the OF, etc. Given the card slot, it's no big deal, IMO.
My two Clip+ both show up as 7.36GB capacity.
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 04-04-2011, 10:56 AM
keyb_gr keyb_gr is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 54
Default

Sure the firmware may be a little larger, but we're talking hundreds of megs of difference here. Fortunately it wasn't an issue for me.

Anyway, seems like my Clip+'s capacity is normal then - that's reassuring to know.

My guess is that they became aware of the bit rot issues and decided to give the flash memory some more spare blocks to work with.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 04-04-2011, 11:01 AM
skip252 skip252 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5,352
Default

Bit rot issues? Have a link to that?
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 04-04-2011, 02:25 PM
FreeZ5's Avatar
FreeZ5 FreeZ5 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Niagara Region, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,508
Default

keyb_gr:

I speculate that some of the "memory" loss is to allow a larger database, ie more files on the player.

Also, folder browsing would require some extra code.

Steve
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 04-06-2011, 07:06 AM
jimnms's Avatar
jimnms jimnms is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 19
Default

I noticed that my 8GB Clip+ has slightly less capacity than my 8GB Fuze v2.

The Fuze shows 7,994,944 KB total disk space, and the Clip+ shows 7,714,816 KB total disk space. That's about 274MB less for the Clip+.
__________________
Sandisk Clip+ 8GB
Sandisk Sansa Fuze 8GB Black
Reply With Quote

Reply

Tags
capacity, clip+, internal memory

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:06 PM.