android
  #1  
Old 03-30-2011, 02:34 PM
Laudanum Laudanum is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 41
Default A/V out

Hi all.
I know the Cowon J3 can be used with an optional AV out cable (Proprietary USB to RCA) to output video and audio to a TV.
Does anyone know if this can only be used in video out mode of the player? In other words, can it be used basically as a line out to pass audio only?
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 03-30-2011, 03:17 PM
DSperber DSperber is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Marina Del Rey, CA
Posts: 696
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Laudanum View Post
Hi all.
I know the Cowon J3 can be used with an optional AV out cable (Proprietary USB to RCA) to output video and audio to a TV.
Does anyone know if this can only be used in video out mode of the player? In other words, can it be used basically as a line out to pass audio only?
Only video and audio, when the J3 is in video playback mode.

You cannot use it for just audio.

Also, when you want to do this you have to tap around a bit, to indicate that you want video to go out to the TV. This makes the J3's screen go dark.

So you'll no longer have onscreen touch controls for playback. And the TV is not a replacement for the J3's screen as far as onscreen menus, etc. It's strictly just for the video playback itself.

However the tactile buttons on the side still do work in the mode (if you want to pause, skip forward or backward, etc.).
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 03-30-2011, 03:44 PM
Laudanum Laudanum is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 41
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DSperber View Post
Only video and audio, when the J3 is in video playback mode.

You cannot use it for just audio.

Also, when you want to do this you have to tap around a bit, to indicate that you want video to go out to the TV. This makes the J3's screen go dark.

So you'll no longer have onscreen touch controls for playback. And the TV is not a replacement for the J3's screen as far as onscreen menus, etc. It's strictly just for the video playback itself.

However the tactile buttons on the side still do work in the mode (if you want to pause, skip forward or backward, etc.).
Thank you for the reply. Probably wont be using it for video playback on the TV. Just was curious if it could be used as an audio only line out.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:50 PM.