android
  #1  
Old 03-19-2011, 03:11 PM
Jacob13 Jacob13 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1
Default I need phones for composing music: $150

Hey all,
I'm a newb when it comes to headphones. I use a program called Fruity Loops to compose music regularly. When I get so many instruments going at once, my laptop speakers crackle. I've used external speakers and they crackle as well. I've determinded that my sound card can't handle the amount of processing I'm asking it to do. I plan to upgrade my sound card to the Asus Xonar Essence STX card. It's high end and I'll need some equal quality headphones to go with it.


I don't want to spend more than $150 on the phones. I have my eye on the Sennheiser HD595 but like I said, I'm a newb and could use advice. Although I do most of my work at home, I don't want to have to use an amp to get the full quality out of my phones. I believe that the higher the impedence, the better it is to have an amp, correct? These phones have an impedence of only 50 ohms. From the research I've done I don't think these would need an amp. Am I right?


Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I don't need noise canceling and I don't want a mic. Just some good quality headphones that will allow me to listen to trance, piano, rock, metal, electropop... everything, without hindrance.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 03-19-2011, 03:41 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

The sound card doesn't do any processing with apps like Fruityloops. If it crackles, you're either gotten too loud and clipping the signal (over 0dBFS), or your CPU can't hold up. Try not to get in the red with your output, or try the same track on a beefier computer with better CPU and more RAM - I bet one of those is the real issue for your crackling.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 03-19-2011, 03:43 PM
steinburger1109's Avatar
steinburger1109 steinburger1109 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Naperville, Illinois
Posts: 2,456
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dfkt View Post
The sound card doesn't do any processing with apps like Fruityloops. If it crackles, you're either gotten too loud and clipping the signal (over 0dBFS), or your CPU can't hold up. Try not to get in the red with your output, or try the same track on a beefier computer with better CPU and more RAM - I bet one of those is the real issue for your crackling.
Probably the CPU, right? Because wouldn't his trying the external speakers mitigate issues with loudness?
__________________
- Justin
Glossary for Newbies Everybody
Babble. On.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 03-19-2011, 03:49 PM
Satellite_6's Avatar
Satellite_6 Satellite_6 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: VA, USA
Posts: 871
Default

My crappy laptop sound makes pops and clicks but I'm not sure that's the same thing, and my laptop is fairly new/powerful.

If you buy the HD 555's and remove the foam they are the same thing as the HD 595's and they are cheaper. There are also the new HD 558's. Funny that's the second time I've posted that today.
__________________
satelliteaudioblog.blogspot.com
Reply With Quote

Reply

Tags
amp, compose, headphones, music, sennheiser

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:33 PM.