android
  #1  
Old 03-15-2011, 04:17 AM
eddie.exe's Avatar
eddie.exe eddie.exe is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 91
Default IE9 mobile

lolno
u guys think we get?

WP7 get it

Current ZuneHD Browser is....

Can't even browse anywhere. A Notable number of sites give me this "Upgrade to a modern browser" etc etc. Some don't even let me access them at all. Even IF they're mobile versions.

Also this: http://www.theie6countdown.com/

Why not help the cause Zune Team?
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 03-15-2011, 09:56 AM
Uberman5000 Uberman5000 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 69
Default

China seems a bit slow on the uptake.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 03-16-2011, 09:52 AM
medion's Avatar
medion medion is offline
Anythingbutiphone Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Shreveport, La
Posts: 1,929
Default

The Zune HD will not be getting it. We didn't even gt mobile IE7, which is the current browser on WP7.
__________________
[SIZE=2][COLOR=DimGray][U][B]Phone:[/B][/U] Samsung Galaxy S II (GT-I9100) 16GB w/32GB MicroSDHC
[U][B]DAP:[/B][/U] Sansa Clip+ 8GB [/COLOR][/SIZE][SIZE=2][COLOR=DimGray]w/32GB MicroSDHC[/COLOR][/SIZE]
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 03-16-2011, 11:40 AM
shadow03 shadow03 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 42
Default

Microsoft has waited to give us the best!!!
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 03-16-2011, 11:51 AM
medion's Avatar
medion medion is offline
Anythingbutiphone Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Shreveport, La
Posts: 1,929
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shadow03 View Post
Microsoft has waited to give us the best!!!
It's not technically possible to port IE9 mobile to the Zune HD due to hardware requirements. Enjoy what you have, because it's all you're getting as far as a browser goes.
__________________
[SIZE=2][COLOR=DimGray][U][B]Phone:[/B][/U] Samsung Galaxy S II (GT-I9100) 16GB w/32GB MicroSDHC
[U][B]DAP:[/B][/U] Sansa Clip+ 8GB [/COLOR][/SIZE][SIZE=2][COLOR=DimGray]w/32GB MicroSDHC[/COLOR][/SIZE]
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 03-16-2011, 12:09 PM
shadow03 shadow03 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 42
Default

I am suprised... Which hardware requirements do we need?
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 03-16-2011, 02:30 PM
medion's Avatar
medion medion is offline
Anythingbutiphone Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Shreveport, La
Posts: 1,929
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shadow03 View Post
I am suprised... Which hardware requirements do we need?
IE 9 mobile is being adapted to the ARMv7 instruction set. You'd need a CPU that can run that. The Zune doesn't have it.

Also, every device set to run IE9 mobile has 512MB of RAM or more. I'm sure it could run on a device with 256MB, given how WP7 and the Zune HD don't run much in the background. However, the Zune HD has only 128MB of RAM. It's already RAM starved. That's why it's running a stripped down version of IE6 Mobile (yup, it's not even as capable as what's on WP6.5).

It cannot be technically done. It won't be done.
__________________
[SIZE=2][COLOR=DimGray][U][B]Phone:[/B][/U] Samsung Galaxy S II (GT-I9100) 16GB w/32GB MicroSDHC
[U][B]DAP:[/B][/U] Sansa Clip+ 8GB [/COLOR][/SIZE][SIZE=2][COLOR=DimGray]w/32GB MicroSDHC[/COLOR][/SIZE]
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 03-16-2011, 03:47 PM
shadow03 shadow03 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 42
Default

Dislike... That makes me sad
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 03-17-2011, 06:32 PM
Deathscythe's Avatar
Deathscythe Deathscythe is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 60
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by medion View Post
IE 9 mobile is being adapted to the ARMv7 instruction set. You'd need a CPU that can run that. The Zune doesn't have it.

Also, every device set to run IE9 mobile has 512MB of RAM or more. I'm sure it could run on a device with 256MB, given how WP7 and the Zune HD don't run much in the background. However, the Zune HD has only 128MB of RAM. It's already RAM starved. That's why it's running a stripped down version of IE6 Mobile (yup, it's not even as capable as what's on WP6.5).

It cannot be technically done. It won't be done.
Medion!? Jeez one of the only guys with some sense is back kinda.
__________________
Zune HD 64gb- (Main music device),Zune 120gb-(RIP),Zune 4g(Backup),Sansa Fuze+(younger sister gift)
Creative Zen V(First Pmp),iphone 3gs(household smartphone)
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 03-17-2011, 06:59 PM
wthsound1 wthsound1 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Hollywood, FL
Posts: 76
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by medion View Post
IE 9 mobile is being adapted to the ARMv7 instruction set. You'd need a CPU that can run that. The Zune doesn't have it.

Also, every device set to run IE9 mobile has 512MB of RAM or more. I'm sure it could run on a device with 256MB, given how WP7 and the Zune HD don't run much in the background. However, the Zune HD has only 128MB of RAM. It's already RAM starved. That's why it's running a stripped down version of IE6 Mobile (yup, it's not even as capable as what's on WP6.5).

It cannot be technically done. It won't be done.
256 MB is the minimum requirement for WP7. This is the time I wish the Zune had more RAM. Also not all WP7 devices has 512 MB. Some have 256, others 448(like some HTC phones) others have 512(Focus and others) and I believe a coupe has 576.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:46 PM.