android
  #1  
Old 07-16-2007, 05:22 PM
AFX's Avatar
AFX AFX is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 9
Question Creative Zen Sleek Photo Hung!

I own a 20 GB Creative Zen Sleek Photo that I recently purchased at Wal-Mart about a year and half ago. I had some troubles with it in the past, with the hard drive locking up. It worked itself out. Well, this morning when I was at work, I was listening to my music, and when I got off from work, I turned it back on to listen to in my car and next thing I know the screen doesn't show. I said "OK, I will go home and reset it." I go home, and use a toothpick to reset it, and it resets. All of a sudden I didn't see the "Creative" splash screens or anything. The tactile button lights were on, the power light was on, but the screen wasn't. Also, when I scrolled, I could hear the clicker. So, I kept resetting it, and I would sometimes see the "Creative" splash screens, but then nothing more. If there is anything I could do, please help. (By the way, I held the Zen to my ear, and could hear the hard drive spinning.) Thanks!

P.S.: I looked on eBay for a Microsoft Zune, and purchased one, so if no one can fix this, it's not a big issue.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 07-16-2007, 11:03 PM
ZenChick's Avatar
ZenChick ZenChick is offline
ABI Invaluable
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Right... Behind... You...
Posts: 7,427
Default

Does the Sleek have a "Hold" switch on it? If so, check that it's not engaged. Try cycling it a couple of times.
__________________
ZenChick - The one them iPod-owners warned you about!
Creative Zen Vision:M 30GB * Creative MuVo N200 1GB * Philips GoGear Vibe 4GB
Resident Linux Geekette ** Got IRC? Look me up on irc.freenode.net #AnythingButiPod
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 07-17-2007, 12:52 AM
AFX's Avatar
AFX AFX is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 9
Arrow

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZenChick View Post
Does the Sleek have a "Hold" switch on it? If so, check that it's not engaged. Try cycling it a couple of times.


Here's some more information:

1.) Yes, the MP3 player has a "Hold" switch like you said, and yes it is DISENGAGED.
2.) I have tried cycling (If you mean resetting it alot of times, then yes)
3.) I have had 1 breakthrough where it went to the "Zen Sleek Photo" splash screen, and then shown a "Low Battery" screen. I placed it on charged, and to no avail, it is still a $250 paperweight.
4.) I wouldn't mind having a 2nd backup MP3 player if this is possible...

Thanks!
__________________
- Brandon A.K.A AFX
- Current MP3 Players: Creative Zen Sleek Photo 20 GB (Non-functional) | iPod Shuffle 512 MB | Microsoft Zune 30 GB
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 07-17-2007, 12:54 AM
ZenChick's Avatar
ZenChick ZenChick is offline
ABI Invaluable
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Right... Behind... You...
Posts: 7,427
Default

How long did you try to charge it? And have you checked to make sure the charger is properly outputting power?
__________________
ZenChick - The one them iPod-owners warned you about!
Creative Zen Vision:M 30GB * Creative MuVo N200 1GB * Philips GoGear Vibe 4GB
Resident Linux Geekette ** Got IRC? Look me up on irc.freenode.net #AnythingButiPod
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 07-17-2007, 12:56 AM
AFX's Avatar
AFX AFX is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 9
Arrow

Well, I left it on charge for about 2 hours straight, while I was playing World of Warcraft. I came back to it, and it's dead as a rock.
__________________
- Brandon A.K.A AFX
- Current MP3 Players: Creative Zen Sleek Photo 20 GB (Non-functional) | iPod Shuffle 512 MB | Microsoft Zune 30 GB
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 07-17-2007, 01:06 AM
ZenChick's Avatar
ZenChick ZenChick is offline
ABI Invaluable
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Right... Behind... You...
Posts: 7,427
Default

Ugh. Sounds like your battery is no longer taking a charge.

You could try to salvage your player by replacing the battery. See this thread for detailed disassembly instructions. I don't know what sort of battery it takes, but you might be able to find that information printed on the battery pack.

I know you're looking for an excuse to get a new player, but it might be worth getting this one fixed as well.
__________________
ZenChick - The one them iPod-owners warned you about!
Creative Zen Vision:M 30GB * Creative MuVo N200 1GB * Philips GoGear Vibe 4GB
Resident Linux Geekette ** Got IRC? Look me up on irc.freenode.net #AnythingButiPod
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 07-17-2007, 01:12 AM
AFX's Avatar
AFX AFX is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 9
Arrow

Well, the thing that boggles me, is that when I hold the Zen to my ear, I can hear the hard drive spinning and everything. I would think the battery is still juicing, since the hard drive is spinning.
__________________
- Brandon A.K.A AFX
- Current MP3 Players: Creative Zen Sleek Photo 20 GB (Non-functional) | iPod Shuffle 512 MB | Microsoft Zune 30 GB
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 07-17-2007, 01:14 AM
ZenChick's Avatar
ZenChick ZenChick is offline
ABI Invaluable
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Right... Behind... You...
Posts: 7,427
Default

Hmmmm. Yeah, you'd be right.

I'm running out of ideas. Have you tried reloading the firmware? That's assuming, of course, that your computer still recognizes and can access the player...
__________________
ZenChick - The one them iPod-owners warned you about!
Creative Zen Vision:M 30GB * Creative MuVo N200 1GB * Philips GoGear Vibe 4GB
Resident Linux Geekette ** Got IRC? Look me up on irc.freenode.net #AnythingButiPod
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 07-17-2007, 12:39 PM
AFX's Avatar
AFX AFX is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 9
Arrow

OK, I will definately try that, in fact I'm on the Creative website as we speak. Just wondering, how do you reload the firmware?

Edit #1: Nevermind, I think I got it.
Edit #2: When trying to upgrade the firmware, it finished but it failed. What I did was download the firmware .EXE and then ran it. Clicked on upgrade and clicked Yes to continue since it was the same firmware. Then it failed.
__________________
- Brandon A.K.A AFX
- Current MP3 Players: Creative Zen Sleek Photo 20 GB (Non-functional) | iPod Shuffle 512 MB | Microsoft Zune 30 GB
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 07-17-2007, 05:18 PM
ZenChick's Avatar
ZenChick ZenChick is offline
ABI Invaluable
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Right... Behind... You...
Posts: 7,427
Default

Can you access the player's Recovery Mode? If so, reformat your drive and then reload the firmware via Recovery Mode. If this doesn't work, then I'm afraid you've got a brick.
__________________
ZenChick - The one them iPod-owners warned you about!
Creative Zen Vision:M 30GB * Creative MuVo N200 1GB * Philips GoGear Vibe 4GB
Resident Linux Geekette ** Got IRC? Look me up on irc.freenode.net #AnythingButiPod
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 07-17-2007, 09:35 PM
AFX's Avatar
AFX AFX is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 9
Arrow

I don't believe I can access the Recovery Mode, unless I can access it through the PC.
__________________
- Brandon A.K.A AFX
- Current MP3 Players: Creative Zen Sleek Photo 20 GB (Non-functional) | iPod Shuffle 512 MB | Microsoft Zune 30 GB
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 07-18-2007, 12:16 AM
ZenChick's Avatar
ZenChick ZenChick is offline
ABI Invaluable
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Right... Behind... You...
Posts: 7,427
Default

To access Recovery Mode, try this:

Press and hold the Play/Pause ►║button while pushing the end of a thin object (for example, a straightened paperclip) into the Reset hole.
The Recovery Mode screen appears when Zen Sleek Photo turns on.
__________________
ZenChick - The one them iPod-owners warned you about!
Creative Zen Vision:M 30GB * Creative MuVo N200 1GB * Philips GoGear Vibe 4GB
Resident Linux Geekette ** Got IRC? Look me up on irc.freenode.net #AnythingButiPod
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 09-10-2007, 12:11 PM
SaCo's Avatar
SaCo SaCo is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Ocampo Gto/Dallas Tx
Posts: 67
Default

  1. Detach the Zen player from your PC , and ensure that the Zen Sleek is turned off.
2. Connect the power supply to the player.
3. Hold down the Play/Pause button while inserting a paper clip into the Reset hole
underneath your player, beside the data/power connector. Keep on holding the
Play/Pause button while you release the Reset button. The Rescue Mode screen will
then appear.
4. After the recovery mode has started, release the Play/Pause button

It will display the following options.
<table border="1" cellpadding="2" cellspacing="2" width="460"><tbody><tr> <td valign="top">Clean Up</td> <td width="350"> Scans the player and removes invalid links from its music library.
Does not affect music files themselves.
</td></tr> <tr> <td valign="top">Format (All)</td> <td> Caution! Erases all content!
Save a copy of your player's content before formatting.
</td></tr> <tr> <td valign="top">Reload OS/ Firmware</td> <td> Caution! Erases your player's firmware.
DO NOT select the Reload Firmware option unless you have access to a PC and you have downloaded the necessary firmware to install.
</td></tr> <tr> <td valign="top">Reboot </td> <td>Reboots the device.</td></tr></tbody></table>
__________________
hey nowĄ|!żĄ ba ba Booey to you all
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 02-12-2011, 05:13 PM
Melissa's Avatar
Melissa Melissa is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 7
Exclamation

i also am having this same problem and idk how to fix it. I dont know how to reload the firmware. help! help!!
__________________
Meliboo <3
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 02-12-2011, 08:28 PM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,061
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Melissa View Post
i also am having this same problem and idk how to fix it. I dont know how to reload the firmware. help! help!!
Go to this page, read, download the files you need and run the Firmware update.
http://support.creative.com/Products...CategoryID:948
Reply With Quote

  #16  
Old 02-13-2011, 03:03 AM
coachop94's Avatar
coachop94 coachop94 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: california
Posts: 1,079
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The DarkSide View Post
Go to this page, read, download the files you need and run the Firmware update.
http://support.creative.com/Products...CategoryID:948
If your player is the ZenSleek Photo then this is the firmware file you need here on this page http://support.creative.com/Products...CategoryID:948
__________________
Sit Down, Shut Up, Don't *!@#*^#!! With Me. I'm Drivin'
Reply With Quote

  #17  
Old 02-13-2011, 03:33 PM
Melissa's Avatar
Melissa Melissa is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 7
Default

thanks I'll try those
__________________
Meliboo <3
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:36 PM.