android
  #1  
Old 01-07-2011, 05:03 PM
9000blackbird 9000blackbird is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 24
Default R1 crash with shuffle modus (FLAC)

Hello,

I want to ask you if you have the same problem like I have.
If I choose "title" to show all my FLAC files and want to play it (in shuffle modus) the R1 will crash.
It can play 3-4 songs then I just hear a looping "clack" sound on the right side while on the left side the music still continuing.
After a few moment the player needs to "reload".


R1 is a really good player for that prize (the best one) but I really dislike the "bugs" with FLAC.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 01-07-2011, 05:10 PM
lebellium's Avatar
lebellium lebellium is offline
Samsung Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Paris
Posts: 3,597
Default

Are you sure it is not linked to the "mediamonkey album art trick"?
Does it also occur if you transfered the flac files in MSC mode, drag & drop?

Anyway if there is really a bug it will probably remain. I won't get a reply from Samsung Korea before end of January concerning an hypothetical new firmware and I stopped to report bugs for R0/R1.
__________________
I'm French^^ *GenerationMP3 Samsung Moderator*
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 01-08-2011, 08:02 AM
9000blackbird 9000blackbird is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 24
Default

I deleted my whole library which I sny with MM.
Then I changed to MSC and put per drag&drop the audio files on my R1.
Can you test it on your player?
I hope its not a personal problem.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 01-08-2011, 03:34 PM
lebellium's Avatar
lebellium lebellium is offline
Samsung Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Paris
Posts: 3,597
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 9000blackbird View Post
I deleted my whole library which I sny with MM.
Then I changed to MSC and put per drag&drop the audio files on my R1.
Okay but what's the result? The same?

Quote:
Can you test it on your player?
I hope its not a personal problem.
I mostly have mp3 files on my R1, I only have one Flac album so I would need to delete all mp3 files before. I don't have time enough right now but maybe latter.
__________________
I'm French^^ *GenerationMP3 Samsung Moderator*
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 01-08-2011, 03:39 PM
9000blackbird 9000blackbird is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 24
Default

Yes that was the result.
Mp3 doesnt make any problems.
Only FLAC files.
It would be great if you can check it for me.
Samsung has repaired my R1 few days before so I dont think that my player has any individual problems.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 01-10-2011, 05:10 PM
lebellium's Avatar
lebellium lebellium is offline
Samsung Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Paris
Posts: 3,597
Default

I can't reproduce this bug sorry.

It must depends on your settings (display etc...) and/or your flac files.
__________________
I'm French^^ *GenerationMP3 Samsung Moderator*
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 01-10-2011, 06:20 PM
9000blackbird 9000blackbird is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 24
Default

can you test it with that file?
http://www.mediafire.com/?i6qakz5rl3mb043

Thanks for your help.
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 01-11-2011, 03:36 PM
lebellium's Avatar
lebellium lebellium is offline
Samsung Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Paris
Posts: 3,597
Default

The shuffle playback of FLAC files was working fine until it played this file. It crashed indeed.
It works well on my Q3 but also crashs on the R0 so I confirm it is a bug on the R1 and R0
If you had reported it some months ago it would have been fixed but I fear it is too late now, I can't report it, I'm still waiting for a reply to my last 3 emails sent to Samsung Korea so I can't send a 4th consecutive email.

What I advise you is to convert it to WAV and convert it to FLAC again or to convert it to MP3 VBR V0 or CBR 320kbps directly.

BTW, great song, thx^^
__________________
I'm French^^ *GenerationMP3 Samsung Moderator*

Last edited by lebellium; 01-11-2011 at 05:37 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 01-12-2011, 10:28 PM
9000blackbird 9000blackbird is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 24
Default

First of all thank you very very much for your support
I think the R1 has really really big problems with FLAc.It doesnt matter for to report Samsung because I will change my PMP to a cowon j3.
It has cost my hundreds of hours with that FLAC problem.
You have also a j3 right? How is your impression?


Mp3 is too lossy for me
I use UE 700 in-ear and I also a musician,that means quality is very important


You like this song?I tagged it completely so you should know the album name
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 01-13-2011, 06:52 PM
lebellium's Avatar
lebellium lebellium is offline
Samsung Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Paris
Posts: 3,597
Default

Yes the R0 and R1 are born with serious FLAC playback issues. Most sources of this issue have been fixed via firmwares updates, actually I thought all of them, but I was wrong as your file doesn't work...

I have UE Super.fi 5PRO and Triple.fi 10 which are supposed to be as good or better than the UE 700 and I can tell you it's almost impossible to hear a difference between high bitrate mp3 and flac with these IEM and the R1. Placebo effect is often important, try an ABX test

The J3 is a very good DAP, better than the R1 for sure but I hate Cowon's build quality and user interface. In my opinion Samsung is still much better in these fields.

Yes I like the song, I'll download the full album
And the file plays well on the J3^^
__________________
I'm French^^ *GenerationMP3 Samsung Moderator*
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 01-13-2011, 10:51 PM
9000blackbird 9000blackbird is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 24
Default

The Triple.fi 10 is very good.In your opinion is it so much better then the super.fi5?
I think 320kbs can reach a very high quality level and I also think that good in ears in combination with a good player it will be very hard to hear a different.I didnt compare a AB test with 320kbs but with lower mp3.And there is a different.
In theory the compression to mp3 will cut "huge" frequenz area.Maybe I will test in on my PC.

Interface:Profire610
HP:Beyerdynamic dt 770

YOu are right,Samsungs build quality is high enough.The User Interface is in my opinion a little bit too slow.


BTW you also know about Cowon D3?Should you wait for D3 or just buy J3?
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:28 AM.