android
Go Back   abi>>forums > MP3 Players By Brand > Cowon iAudio > Cowon J3

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 01-11-2011, 07:56 AM
selectortone's Avatar
selectortone selectortone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: South Coast, UK
Posts: 136
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by keiiferrer View Post
yeah most likely that's it, i mailed exportprive and explained the whole problem, the behavior of the unit, and they said they have a way to fix it and will send me the steps later... so unless they know something new about unbricking j3s (apparently nobody has fixed one with the stuck loading bar, even with tcctool), mine is going back
If you're able to post those steps from exportprive I'd be very interested to see what they have to say.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #22  
Old 01-11-2011, 09:04 AM
GML's Avatar
GML GML is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 5
Default

I have filled about 28 GB on my J3. (Without a SD card in it)
I remember that it was bricked but I fixed that by myself (I don't know
if the problem was because of the Macbook i plugged my J3 in or if i
have reached the border of 22 GB or anything else). If you want to know,
I have my own little workaround if my J3 bricks (On your own Risk):
1. Try to make a reset
2. If you ever plugged your J3 into a mac: Search all Folders (and maybe files, but i'm not sure with that) that start with a "." and delete it (out of you made them by yourself)
3. Check the Device for Errors (Win7: Computer, right click on J3-> Properties, Tools, Error-checking -> Check now, select both options, Start) that takes about 15-30 Minutes, my J3 was fine after that, but if that doesn't help:
4. Delete the "PARAM.CFG" file in the system folder (then reboot the J3)
5. Format the the Device (I've never done that, I think it's secure that you backup your files on the J3, maybe someone of you have more experience with that)

I hope one of these steps will help =)
(Sorry for my bad English ;-) )
Reply With Quote

  #23  
Old 01-11-2011, 06:56 PM
ThingMan's Avatar
ThingMan ThingMan is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Future Tomorrow View Post
Have you used more than 16GB's of *internal* space on your 32GB COWON J3?
I tried on 4 different devices and each device worked fine under 16GB's of music files. As soon as I put more than 16GB's of music on the player it bricked or became inoperable with a loading bar that refuses to resolve.
Yes, I've just tried to do exactly the above with no problematic results. I got my J3/32GB just yesterday and filled it up to 47% of its capacity with FLAC-files.
After reading this message I added 4GB of wave-files to see if the problem occurs but this J3 seems to work fine. Starts up from sleeping mode as well as from power-off mode.

Hope this helps to clarify you either did something wrong without realising what it was or have a monday-morning item...
Reply With Quote

  #24  
Old 01-12-2011, 07:10 PM
keiiferrer keiiferrer is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 35
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by selectortone View Post
If you're able to post those steps from exportprive I'd be very interested to see what they have to say.
I was looking forward to it as well, but they just misunderstood my explanation of the problem with my j3 and gave me instructions to format the unit (which are not good if you can't mount the device on your pc). Sent back my unit today so maybe in two months i'll have a J3 again, lol xD
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:35 PM.