android
  #1  
Old 12-13-2010, 10:44 AM
tcx tcx is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 11
Angry slugish Player!

should i send my player to creative for repairs?

the screen response is really laggy and it takes to long to start up .

are these common things with this player or did i get a lemon?

any other users have a similar issue
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 12-13-2010, 01:03 PM
Habhome's Avatar
Habhome Habhome is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,079
Default

Have you updated the firmware yet? The first firmware had a lot of issues, but most have been resolved.
Still, don't expect the smut experience of iTouch, the processor and screen just isn't capable of such things, that's why this doesn't cost as much.
__________________
"If you are good enough at English to apologize, then there is no need to." - A good friend of mine
Discovered something about the X-Fi2 you think others may not know? Post it here so others can learn about it!
Have a question about X-Fi2 apps? Consult the FAQ before creating a thread about it.
Like my work? Tell your friends. Don't like it? Tell me so I can improve. ^.^
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 12-13-2010, 05:02 PM
tcx tcx is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 11
Default

yup formatted new firmware still start up takes alot and the response has a delay even recalibrated the screen. nothing seems to help
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 12-13-2010, 05:04 PM
tcx tcx is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 11
Default

mine was 279 plus shipping i think that is quite some cash for a player
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 12-13-2010, 05:23 PM
Brett_val's Avatar
Brett_val Brett_val is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 636
Default

The touchscreen shouldn't have a mentionable delay, and also, how long does it take for you to startup? There may be something wrong with your unit.
__________________
this is a link to my personal homepage which I haven't
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 12-13-2010, 05:39 PM
tcx tcx is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 11
Default

ok i timed it i takes more then 50secs i timed it twice and its 1:08
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 12-13-2010, 06:18 PM
Brett_val's Avatar
Brett_val Brett_val is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 636
Default

Mine takes about 14 seconds from the push on the button to the home menu. I've got a 16GB model and it's filled for 60%.

Maybe try formatting it again, but I surely think there's something wrong with it.
__________________
this is a link to my personal homepage which I haven't
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 12-14-2010, 12:44 AM
Habhome's Avatar
Habhome Habhome is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,079
Default

We noticed earlier that if you have any single files which are large (aka complete CD in one file, big movie file..) that it affects the startup time drastically. Start with checking for that.
__________________
"If you are good enough at English to apologize, then there is no need to." - A good friend of mine
Discovered something about the X-Fi2 you think others may not know? Post it here so others can learn about it!
Have a question about X-Fi2 apps? Consult the FAQ before creating a thread about it.
Like my work? Tell your friends. Don't like it? Tell me so I can improve. ^.^
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 12-15-2010, 03:13 PM
tcx tcx is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 11
Default

Hey thanks for the tips:
here is more info i got the 64GB

i have around 18 GB of music in it.

created a Back up pf the files and ran the recovery mode and formatted the player.

player seems faster no it takes 25 sec to start up with the same 18 GB of music.

still looking for a way for it to lower that number.
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 12-15-2010, 03:54 PM
Habhome's Avatar
Habhome Habhome is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,079
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tcx View Post
Hey thanks for the tips:
here is more info i got the 64GB

i have around 18 GB of music in it.

created a Back up pf the files and ran the recovery mode and formatted the player.

player seems faster no it takes 25 sec to start up with the same 18 GB of music.

still looking for a way for it to lower that number.
Ok, keep on the lookout for large files as I said, maybe split "multi-tracks" into it's individual tracks, if you have any of those.
__________________
"If you are good enough at English to apologize, then there is no need to." - A good friend of mine
Discovered something about the X-Fi2 you think others may not know? Post it here so others can learn about it!
Have a question about X-Fi2 apps? Consult the FAQ before creating a thread about it.
Like my work? Tell your friends. Don't like it? Tell me so I can improve. ^.^
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 12-15-2010, 04:37 PM
tcx tcx is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 11
Default

ive checked already no big files
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 12-15-2010, 04:56 PM
Habhome's Avatar
Habhome Habhome is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,079
Default

Ok. I just timed my 8GB, 9,5 sec from beginning of button pressed until main menu appeared.
__________________
"If you are good enough at English to apologize, then there is no need to." - A good friend of mine
Discovered something about the X-Fi2 you think others may not know? Post it here so others can learn about it!
Have a question about X-Fi2 apps? Consult the FAQ before creating a thread about it.
Like my work? Tell your friends. Don't like it? Tell me so I can improve. ^.^
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 12-22-2010, 12:11 AM
jammaniaclord jammaniaclord is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 61
Default

For 279 dollars plus shipping, I am guessing you have th 64GB model. If that is the case, then yes, it does boot slower, and have some lag, even with the newer firmware.

I have the 16GB model as well, and it boots super fast, even with movies and tons of whole cd's.

So don't panic, it's normal for the 64GB model.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Tags
creative, zen

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:35 AM.