android
  #1  
Old 01-11-2007, 08:07 AM
Slaughter's Avatar
Slaughter Slaughter is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 2,421
Default HOW-TO remove the Hebrew beta firmware

Thanks to Zivan56 in the Rockbox sub-forum!

With the Hebrew beta, Sandisk has changed the name of the firmware and rom files for future use. So you have to rename which ever old firmware you want to load to:
pribootLoader.rom and firmware.mi4 (case sensitive)

Then start your player in recovery mode and drop the 2 renamed files on to the 16MB partition that will come up in Recovery Mode.

Turn off the Hold switch and unplug the cable and you are back at your old firmware.

Now if Sandisk only knew this....
__________________
***Updated 1/22/07***
The ultimate fix for all e2xx v1 problems - Format, enter recovery mode, downgrade firmware Link, reinstall newest firmware via newest Sansa Updater, reload tunes.

How To Remove the Hebrew Beta firmware
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 01-11-2007, 08:09 AM
jeffrok jeffrok is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 341
Default

I can't wait, Slaughter!! I'm at work, and am thinking of playing "sick", just so I can go home and try this.. OK, maybe not that excited, but this is defnitely great news to me!
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 01-11-2007, 10:05 AM
270, e270!'s Avatar
270, e270! 270, e270! is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 37
Arrow

tnx



I M so ha-P 2 !!!!



just... thank you!!!!
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 01-11-2007, 12:21 PM
Guitar1969 Guitar1969 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 55
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaughter View Post
Thanks to Zivan56 in the Rockbox sub-forum!

With the Hebre beta, Sandisk has changed the name of the firmware and rom files for future use. So, you have to rename which ever old firmware you want to load to:
pribootLoader.rom and firmware.mi4 (case sensitive)

Then start your player in recovery mode and drop the 2 renamed files on to the 16MB partition that will come up in Recovery Mode.

Turn off the Hold switch and unplug the cable and you are back at your old firmware.

Now if Sandisk only knew this....
You are officially the man - My e280 has been unbricked -
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 01-11-2007, 12:32 PM
Amblin's Avatar
Amblin Amblin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 291
Default

Kudos to Slaughter and the Rockbox guys!
__________________
Microsoft Zune w/ Victor FX-77s| Previously used:Meizu M6/Sansa e130/e260|JVC FX-55s
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 01-11-2007, 02:33 PM
xan K's Avatar
xan K xan K is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 234
Default

it's great to hear that!!! congrats men!!!
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 01-11-2007, 02:46 PM
zivan56 zivan56 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 461
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaughter View Post
Now if Sandisk only knew this....
If you previously asked them how to do this, just reply to the ticket again and tell them how it is possible.
I bet you they will shit their pants considering we figured it out before them

This definitely tells you that support has no contact with the development team, and that they definitely outsourcing one or the other.
__________________
Sandisk Sansa e200 v1 w/Rockbox
Microsoft Zune 30 GB v2.3 Firmware
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 01-11-2007, 02:56 PM
Tobey's Avatar
Tobey Tobey is offline
Insignia Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,500
Default

Thank you zivan!! Now how the hell did you figure this out?

And I'm sure the support is provided by a 3rd party company. It almost always is... Sandisk probably provides them with a script, some URLs, and a flowchart. And that's it.
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 01-11-2007, 03:09 PM
zivan56 zivan56 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 461
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tobey View Post
Thank you zivan!! Now how the hell did you figure this out?
I used mi4code to extract the key from the new bootloader. Then, I decrypted the new mi4 firmware and used a hex editor to look at various things inside of the firmware. This in turn lead me to two strings which where pribootLoader.rom and firmware.mi4 (near the end of the firmware file)
__________________
Sandisk Sansa e200 v1 w/Rockbox
Microsoft Zune 30 GB v2.3 Firmware
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 01-11-2007, 03:14 PM
la-v22 la-v22 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4
Default

can someone help me figure why i dont succeed to enter recovery mode??
i've turned my sanas off then switched the hold button on, pressed the rec button and while im pressing i've plugged the the player to the computer but the player connected to my pc as usual, no recovery mode and no 16mb partition( where i should see that partition anyway??)
what did i did worng??
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 01-11-2007, 04:15 PM
DooKie DooKie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 177
Default

umm i never use bootloaders do i really need to get one and change the name to go back to the old firmware or4 can i just do like i used to and just drop the mi4 but instead of calling it pp5022 just call it firmware like you said??? ...btw i dont even have the beta on my player but i wanted to try it so now i can
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 01-11-2007, 04:16 PM
zivan56 zivan56 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 461
Default

You can try it out. You should still have recovery mode either way...
__________________
Sandisk Sansa e200 v1 w/Rockbox
Microsoft Zune 30 GB v2.3 Firmware
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 01-11-2007, 04:53 PM
la-v22 la-v22 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4
Default

anyway i did the process without getting into recovery mode
ive just putted the two renamed files directly into the player and it works!
thanks everyone for the help! you dont know how happy i am to get rid of that beta firmware...
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 01-11-2007, 05:04 PM
Tobey's Avatar
Tobey Tobey is offline
Insignia Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,500
Default

Wow. Great work zivan.
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 01-11-2007, 05:59 PM
LooSE LooSE is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 6
Default

Where can I get my hands on some of the old firmware?

EDIT: I tried the firmware in Slaughter's Sig, however the version on my player cannot be read so it fails to install. BTW: It's an e280 (Non R)
Reply With Quote

  #16  
Old 01-11-2007, 07:10 PM
jeffrok jeffrok is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 341
Default

LooSE, did you make sure you were in recovery mode when you copied in the files? e240, e250, e260, e270 or e280, it really should not matter what type of e200 you have..

I just did it on my e260 and it worked great!
Reply With Quote

  #17  
Old 01-11-2007, 07:12 PM
jeffrok jeffrok is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 341
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by la-v22 View Post
can someone help me figure why i dont succeed to enter recovery mode??
i've turned my sanas off then switched the hold button on, pressed the rec button and while im pressing i've plugged the the player to the computer but the player connected to my pc as usual, no recovery mode and no 16mb partition( where i should see that partition anyway??)
what did i did worng??

If the new Hebrew firmware is in sleep mode before any of this, you have to hold the power button down for 15+ seconds so that it REALLY shuts down. After that:

Put player in Hold mode...
Hold record button down...
While holding down record button, plug in USB cord.
After plugging in USB cord, you may have to hit Power button.

You know you're in recovery mode when your player shows up in Windows as a 16mb device..
Reply With Quote

  #18  
Old 01-11-2007, 07:36 PM
Lifter59's Avatar
Lifter59 Lifter59 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Southern CA
Posts: 173
Default

Well I cannot get into recovery mode for anything in the world. The player has the new firmware and is completely functional - so maybe you can't recover unless it is not working? I have followed the steps several times over - even changed USB ports but to no avail....

Any ideas?
__________________
Lifter59
Ultimate Ears - UE11's /Westone UM2
Creative Zen 32GB
Reply With Quote

  #19  
Old 01-11-2007, 07:49 PM
jeffrok jeffrok is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 341
Default

Yeah Lifter.. When you press the power button, does it come back on right away? If so, you need to do the "hard power off"..

Without the player being in HOLD mode, press power and hold it for 15 seconds (at least!)..

Now your player is off. Try recovery mode again.
Reply With Quote

  #20  
Old 01-11-2007, 07:51 PM
DooKie DooKie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 177
Default

we've never had to go into recovery mode to change firmware, ppl are going into recovery because the new firmware fucked up their player but if you have a working player just plug it in msc mode and drag and drop, it should work ... have anyone found out if we need to use a boot loader for this or can we just use the mi4?
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:53 PM.