android
  #41  
Old 11-17-2010, 03:49 PM
Jean-Louis Jean-Louis is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 8
Default

Slade...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jean-Louis View Post
Code:
    Virtual consoles and the console device

Virtual consoles are full-screen terminal displays on the system video
monitor.  Virtual consoles are named /dev/tty#, with numbering
starting at /dev/tty1; /dev/tty0 is the current virtual console.
/dev/tty0 is the device that should be used to access the system video
card on those architectures for which the frame buffer devices
(/dev/fb*) are not applicable.    Do not use /dev/console
for this purpose.
In your filesystem.txt /dev/fb* is present, what about options when you have configured SDL? Take a look here

Quote:
Originally Posted by lebellium View Post
Both (special cable + software) on the R0 (so stupid...)


For other model snooping can be a solution

You are under NDA?
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #42  
Old 11-17-2010, 04:00 PM
slade slade is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 118
Default

i did configure sdl using directfb do you think that might be the issue and instead use fbcon?
I could try to reconfigure it again with fbcon option but I thought direct framebuffer represents /dev/fb but thanks for the info!!!

Jean you are saving me so much time!! Thank you very much for your help its amazing how much knowledge one can gain from someone like you and how much passion you put in the project! Thank you soo much for you help I really appreciate it!

Last edited by slade; 11-17-2010 at 04:08 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #43  
Old 11-17-2010, 04:17 PM
lebellium's Avatar
lebellium lebellium is offline
Samsung Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Paris
Posts: 3,604
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jean-Louis View Post
You are under NDA?
lol
Not officialy (I only signed one NDA with Samsung in September 2009 when I saw the IceTouch and the MyFit in exclusivity) but we can say it's as if I was under NDA... The relation I have with my contacts at Samsung is based on mutual trust

@slade: I'm not at home tomorrow so if you need me to test a firmware, it's either tonight or Friday then

And that's great to see how team work may be efficient! congrats you guys!
__________________
I'm French^^ *GenerationMP3 Samsung Moderator*

Last edited by lebellium; 11-17-2010 at 04:24 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #44  
Old 11-17-2010, 05:40 PM
Jean-Louis Jean-Louis is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by slade View Post
i did configure sdl using directfb do you think that might be the issue and instead use fbcon?
I could try to reconfigure it again with fbcon option but I thought direct framebuffer represents /dev/fb but thanks for the info!!!
You can try both. Compile sdl with directfb and fbcon, without x11

You can set the environment variable "SDL_VIDEODRIVER" to the name of the driver you want to use:

Code:
export SDL_VIDEODRIVER=fbcon
Code:
export SDL_VIDEODRIVER=directfb
directfb have hardware accellerated, but I don't know if it is usable on R0

Quote:
Originally Posted by slade View Post
Jean you are saving me so much time!! Thank you very much for your help its amazing how much knowledge one can gain from someone like you and how much passion you put in the project! Thank you soo much for you help I really appreciate it!


Quote:
Originally Posted by lebellium View Post
lol
Not officialy (I only signed one NDA with Samsung in September 2009 when I saw the IceTouch and the MyFit in exclusivity) but we can say it's as if I was under NDA... The relation I have with my contacts at Samsung is based on mutual trust
I have imagined, but I couldn't not ask
Reply With Quote

  #45  
Old 11-17-2010, 08:38 PM
lestatar's Avatar
lestatar lestatar is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Hong Kong now, but NYC always
Posts: 4,657
Default

I have nothing at all to contribute to this thread other than:

THANK YOU and Godspeed....
__________________
DAPs:2xRBFuze8+16GB|SonyE345|ZenV+,Micro,Xtra40GBx2|RBG igabeatFX|RCAOpal
IEMs:PanaHJE900|Nuforce 700x|HippoVB|iMetal590,i490|SM PL-21|CX300|EP630,Aurvana
Guitars:IbanezS540,JS1200|Ovation
PoolCues: a bunch
A Glossary for Newbies
Reply With Quote

  #46  
Old 11-18-2010, 03:15 AM
Jean-Louis Jean-Louis is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jean-Louis View Post
You can try both. Compile sdl with directfb and fbcon, without x11
I would not have been misunderstood, I think the solution is mknod. Having directfb and fbcon in sdl could help in testing

Quote:
Originally Posted by lestatar View Post
I have nothing at all to contribute to this thread other than:

THANK YOU and Godspeed....
You have a great avatar, that's enough
Reply With Quote

  #47  
Old 11-18-2010, 03:20 AM
slade slade is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 118
Default

Ok I'll recompile with fbcon and directfb, and upload the firmware mainly for lebellium but if you want you could take a look too.
I'll try to get it uploaded in a few hours. still have to go to university!
Talk to you later!
Reply With Quote

  #48  
Old 11-18-2010, 06:59 AM
slade slade is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 118
Default

ok guys new Firmware. I advise to let Lebellium check it first before you guys update!!!
NOT TESTED YET WAIT FOR LEBELLIUM TO APPROVE

http://mib07.kilu.de/R0.ROM_NewSDL.zip
  • New compiled SDL
  • /dev/tty0 to tty 7 should give us enough consoles

ALSO NOT YET TESTED BY ME
I also post rockbox compiled application in a few!
  • Rockbox compiled with Basic features, key might not work if application should start
  • just basic compile so don't expect too much if it works!
http://mib07.kilu.de/rockbox-full.zip
Extract contents to rockbox (in zip file skip usr/local/share and only copy rockbox folder to the player.
put in customscript.sh

Code:
sh /mnt/media0/yourscript.sh &
Content of yourscript.sh

Code:
#!/bin/sh
mount --bind /mnt/media0/rockbox /usr/local/share/rockbox
su
chown -R root /usr/local/share/rockbox
chgrp -R root /usr/local/share/rockbox
#I haven't had time to check: export SDL_VIDEODRIVER=directfb or export SDL_VIDEODRIVER=fbcon
/usr/local/share/rockbox/rockbox > /mnt/media0/error.txt 2>&1 &
ps aux | grep rockbox > /mnt/media0/process.txt &
Jean
Maybe you have an idea, I want to use /etc/profile where r0 application is launched one day and use it as an bootloader between the two applications. I think it would be cool to use that and once the player is turned off you can use it again to switch back and forth between the two applications. Maybe you could think of something. What we would need is a short c programm which displays button rockbox and original and then navigate with the player up and down button and enter button to choose. I am not good at C and I know this programm would have to be very different than a windows c program. also it would only need to call the application r0 or rockbox. Do you think that would be possible?

Thanks for your help.

Update
I tried on the old firmware I have to
use export SDL...fbcon and directfb
both times I get the message: Couldn't initialize SDL: No available video device

maybe we also have to create a new framebuffer but I am not sure if this is even possible.
I did not yet test the new Firmware so please wait for Lebellium to see if it flashes alright.

Last edited by slade; 11-18-2010 at 09:36 AM.
Reply With Quote

  #49  
Old 11-18-2010, 10:21 AM
lebellium's Avatar
lebellium lebellium is offline
Samsung Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Paris
Posts: 3,604
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by slade View Post
I did not yet test the new Firmware so please wait for Lebellium to see if it flashes alright.
Answer tomorrow if I'm not too drunk and able to find the way back to home

If it works, what should happen? Rockbox will directly load when power on the device? A dualboot will be possible?
__________________
I'm French^^ *GenerationMP3 Samsung Moderator*
Reply With Quote

  #50  
Old 11-19-2010, 08:47 AM
lebellium's Avatar
lebellium lebellium is offline
Samsung Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Paris
Posts: 3,604
Default

Firmware upgrade OK

I put the rockbox folder at the root of the R0 and edited the customscript.sh file but I don't know how to load the Rockbox application
__________________
I'm French^^ *GenerationMP3 Samsung Moderator*
Reply With Quote

  #51  
Old 11-21-2010, 09:12 AM
stbi's Avatar
stbi stbi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Munich
Posts: 79
Default

Hi,

I was brave and tried the modified firmware.

Unfortunately, Rockbox didn't start:

Quote:
Originally Posted by error.txt
mount: mounting /mnt/media0/rockbox on /usr/local/share/rockbox failed
su: applet not found
chown: /usr/local/share/rockbox: No such file or directory
chgrp: applet not found
/mnt/media0/start_rockbox.sh: line 6: /usr/local/share/rockbox/rockbox: not found
Stefan

BTW, is it possible via the custom script to create a symbolic link in the root dir of the internal flash to a directory on the memory card in order to integrate the mp3 files on the card into the library?
Reply With Quote

  #52  
Old 11-21-2010, 09:38 AM
slade slade is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 118
Default

please check if you have the rockbox dir in the root of the player so that you downloaded the additional zip file.

and to your other question yes just needs to create a subdir on /mnt/media0/music and then do a
mount --bind /mnt/mmc /mnt/media0/Music/mmcfolder
this would mean though that everytime boot customscript should be called.
I could make a firmware doing this automatically
so basically bind the mmc folder into to a subfolder in your music folder on the root player

Last edited by slade; 11-21-2010 at 09:47 AM.
Reply With Quote

  #53  
Old 11-21-2010, 09:41 AM
lebellium's Avatar
lebellium lebellium is offline
Samsung Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Paris
Posts: 3,604
Default

Personnaly I have the rockbox direct at the root of the R0. So what am I supposed to do now to load Rockbox (I'm not under Linux)?

BTW, the firmware upgrade worked well for stbi and me so I think it's safe for you slade to upgrade
__________________
I'm French^^ *GenerationMP3 Samsung Moderator*
Reply With Quote

  #54  
Old 11-21-2010, 09:53 AM
stbi's Avatar
stbi stbi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Munich
Posts: 79
Default

Hi slade,

the files/dir in the root of my player are as follows:

Code:
H:\>l
 Datenträger in Laufwerk H: ist R0
 Volumeseriennummer: D8DE-D890

 Verzeichnis von H:\

28.01.2010  00:16                10 customscript.sh
01.01.2009  16:06    <DIR>          Datacasts
28.01.2010  00:16               257 error.txt
24.06.2009  23:50    <DIR>          Music
26.10.2009  14:31    <DIR>          Pictures
01.01.2009  16:07    <DIR>          Playlists
20.04.2010  02:06    <DIR>          Podcasts
28.01.2010  00:16                 0 process.txt
21.11.2010  15:09    <DIR>          rockbox
21.11.2010  15:51               383 start_rockbox.sh
17.08.2009  07:39    <DIR>          SYSTEM
26.10.2009  14:31    <DIR>          Texts
26.10.2009  14:31    <DIR>          Video
               4 Datei(en)            650 Bytes
               9 Verzeichnis(se),  1.382.170.624 Bytes frei

H:\>l rockbox
 Datenträger in Laufwerk H: ist R0
 Volumeseriennummer: D8DE-D890

 Verzeichnis von H:\rockbox

21.11.2010  15:09    <DIR>          .
21.11.2010  15:09    <DIR>          ..
21.11.2010  15:09    <DIR>          backdrops
21.11.2010  15:09    <DIR>          codecs
21.11.2010  15:09    <DIR>          codepages
18.11.2010  14:01                 0 database.ignore
21.11.2010  15:09    <DIR>          docs
21.11.2010  15:09    <DIR>          eqs
21.11.2010  15:09    <DIR>          fonts
21.11.2010  15:09    <DIR>          icons
21.11.2010  15:09    <DIR>          langs
18.11.2010  14:01         2.385.791 rockbox
18.11.2010  14:01               558 rockbox-info.txt
21.11.2010  15:09    <DIR>          rocks
18.11.2010  14:01             8.896 tagnavi.config
21.11.2010  15:09    <DIR>          themes
18.11.2010  14:01                 0 viewers.config
21.11.2010  15:09    <DIR>          wps
               5 Datei(en)      2.395.245 Bytes
              13 Verzeichnis(se),  1.382.170.624 Bytes frei
Quote:
Originally Posted by slade View Post
and to your other question yes just needs to create a subdir on /mnt/media0/music and then do a
mount --bind /mnt/mmc /mnt/media0/Music/mmcfolder
this would mean though that everytime boot customscript should be called.
I could make a firmware doing this automatically
And something like this wouldn't work?:
Code:
ln -s /mnt/mmc/Music/Elektronik /mnt/media0/Music/Elektronik
A symbolic link would be permanently.
Reply With Quote

  #55  
Old 11-21-2010, 11:02 AM
stbi's Avatar
stbi stbi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Munich
Posts: 79
Default

Slade, are you sure mounting /mnt/media0/rockbox to /usr/local/share/rockbox is correct? On my player, /usr/local/share doesn't exist:

Code:
/usr/local:
drwxr-xr-x    1 root     root          272 Jan  1  1970 bin
So shouldn't it be /usr/share/rockbox?
Or should /usr/local/share be created first?
Reply With Quote

  #56  
Old 11-21-2010, 11:42 AM
slade slade is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 118
Default

yes When I recompiled libSDL i started from scratch and totally forgot to add the folder again, its present in the firmware before ... so I will have to release another firmware. If you want I can also release a firmware mounting your mmc SD card folder and bind it to a folder in your music folder on the player flash.
I am just not sure what happens if library updates and find duplicate files ?!?!

Dang I am sorry about forgetting the folder on the firmware I released. I'll fix it asap!
Thanks for your info!

I am still having troubles using the framebuffer :
Couldn't initialize SDL: No available video device
export FRAMEBUFFER=/dev/fb0
export SDL_FBDEV=/dev/fb0
export SDL_VIDEODRIVER=fbcon
thought that will do it but no luck so far
Reply With Quote

  #57  
Old 11-21-2010, 12:10 PM
stbi's Avatar
stbi stbi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Munich
Posts: 79
Default

Okay, my attempts to create /usr/local/share first failed:

Code:
mkdir: cannot create directory '/usr/local/share/': Read-only file system
mount: mounting /mnt/media0/rockbox on /usr/local/share/rockbox failed
Starting rockbox directly (/mnt/media0/rockbox/rockbox) worked ...

Code:
  PID  Uid        VSZ Stat Command
    1 root       2076 SW  init                
    2 root            SW< [kthreadd]
    3 root            SW< [ksoftirqd/0]
    4 root            SW< [watchdog/0]
    5 root            SW< [events/0]
    6 root            SW< [khelper]
   53 root            SW< [kblockd/0]
   56 root            SW< [cqueue/0]
   60 root            SW< [mxc_spi.2]
   64 root            SW< [kseriod]
   77 root            SW< [kmmcd]
  107 root            SW  [pdflush]
  108 root            SW  [pdflush]
  109 root            SW< [kswapd0]
  147 root            SW< [aio/0]
  231 root            SW< [kondemand/0]
  257 root            SW< [mmcqd]
  262 root       2076 SW  init                
  263 root       2076 SW  /bin/sh /etc/rc.d/rc.start 
  302 root       1944 SW  sleep 1 
  303 root       2076 SW  sh /mnt/media0/start_rockbox.sh 
  304 root      19668 RW  /mnt/media0/rockbox/rockbox 
  305 root       2252 RW  ps -ef
... but Rockbox didn't show up. So I'll better be waiting for (and looking forward to) the new firmware.

Quote:
Originally Posted by slade View Post
If you want I can also release a firmware mounting your mmc SD card folder and bind it to a folder in your music folder on the player flash.
I am just not sure what happens if library updates and find duplicate files ?!?!
Maybe the same will happen as if the file was duplicate in the internal memory.

BTW, when I tried to mount an SD card folder in my script, it didn't work, the error message was something like "/mnt/mmc/Music/Test not found". Listing the contents of /mnt/mmc showed en empty directory:

Code:
ls -la /mnt/mmc
ls -la /mnt/mmc/Music
ls: /mnt/mmc/Music: No such file or directory
Could it be that the card isn't yet mounted when the script is running?

Setting a symbolic link worked ("Test -> /mnt/mmc/Music/Test" was there), but the Test folder didn't show up in the player.

Quote:
Originally Posted by slade View Post
I am still having troubles using the framebuffer :
Couldn't initialize SDL: No available video device
export FRAMEBUFFER=/dev/fb0
export SDL_FBDEV=/dev/fb0
export SDL_VIDEODRIVER=fbcon
thought that will do it but no luck so far
And what does this mean...?
Reply With Quote

  #58  
Old 11-21-2010, 12:14 PM
slade slade is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 118
Default

yes you would need to run a sleep 5 or maybe even more since we are right in boot script that should fix your problem with no files!

Do you have a ICQ number? We could troubleshot a bit!
Reply With Quote

  #59  
Old 11-21-2010, 12:31 PM
stbi's Avatar
stbi stbi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Munich
Posts: 79
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by slade View Post
yes you would need to run a sleep 5 or maybe even more since we are right in boot script that should fix your problem with no files!

Do you have a ICQ number? We could troubleshot a bit!
No, I don't have ICQ or other cat programs installed.

But I have tried with 20 lines of ...

Code:
sleep 1
ls -la /mnt/mmc >> /mnt/media0/mmc.txt 2>&1
... and as you said, after 6 seconds, the contents of the Card were visible:

Code:
drwxrwxrwx    3 root     root        32768 Jan  1  1970 .
drwxr-xr-x    1 root     root           80 Jan  1  1970 ..
drwxrwxrwx    4 root     root        32768 Apr 19  2010 Music
Next I will trying to mount it ...
Reply With Quote

  #60  
Old 11-21-2010, 12:46 PM
slade slade is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 118
Default

well that sounds promising keep me updated!
I am currently flashing a new firmware, I'll see if it work (fingers crossed!)
I added a few framebuffer devices and start our script now after boot sequence right before r0 Application is started! That should get rid of some problems hopefully.
I also edited the r0 start script if the application crashed or was killed it would usually restart the player so I got rid of that too!
I'll keep you informed!
Reply With Quote

Reply

Tags
r0, rockbox, samsung yp-r0

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:09 AM.