android
  #1  
Old 11-09-2010, 02:32 PM
newsansabuyer newsansabuyer is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 4
Default HELP-- e200v2 vs Fuzev2

Hey guys, been reading on this forum for a while before making my purchase on a new sansa e250v2, but now im doubting myself! im buying it on *amazon* and i still have time to cancel payment on it and select a different one..

after doing more reading, im now unclear as to the difference in SQ on the e200v2 vs the fuzev2, on amazon the fuze is only 8$ more... I really like the size of the e200 but concerened with its batterly life using rockbox. from what i can tell the fuzev2 has more than double the battery life... but then again the replacable battery on the e200 will help in the long run... the bigger and vertical screen on the fuze is nice too, but ive read that the fuze's have a bunch of problems.. from what i can tell the e200 is more reliable.

As you can see im quite lost lol... I used to think i was indicisive... but now im not so sure...

I'd love some input from you guys here. I will be using rockbox on either one.. I'd like to know the differences in SQ between the e200v2 and fuzev2 and durability and anything else you guys can think of thx!
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 11-09-2010, 02:48 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,601
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by newsansabuyer View Post
I'd like to know the differences in SQ between the e200v2 and fuzev2
There isn't one.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 11-09-2010, 03:18 PM
newsansabuyer newsansabuyer is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 4
Default

thx, i read the fuzev2 and clip+ uses a different chip than the v1.. which is the same chip used in the e200v2 which is why they have different battery life in rockbox n whatnot so i wasn't sure. im getting it mainly for music but could want to use it to watch a show or somethin later... i want the screensize of the fuze but do not want the form size of it lol... hows the video playback on the fuzev2 vs e200v2? with rockbox can't you flip the image sideways on the e200 so its not all scrunched?
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 11-09-2010, 03:57 PM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

Keep in mind that the e200 series was terminated when the fuze came out and now the fuze v1, v2 is as well to make room for the fuze +, so aside from rockbox there is no more support for it. I've flipped the screen on mine but didn't know there's a sideways. Video on the e200 series is meh, I did it a few times but the screen isn't that great and too small for me to do any extended watching. Aside from that, rockbox runs great on it, I still have my e260 running rockbox for a few years now.
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 11-09-2010, 06:37 PM
skip252 skip252 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5,196
Default

On my Fuze videos display in portrait mode. On my e250 (Rockboxed) they display in landscape. The viewing angles are a bit better on the Fuze than the e250 but neither one of them is a great video player. For a music video or a short clip I'll use it. Anything longer than that I need a bigger screen.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 11-09-2010, 10:49 PM
newsansabuyer newsansabuyer is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 4
Default

I guess my real concern is SQ and Battery life, and from what i can tell from the rockbox website is this.. (from http://www.rockbox.org/wiki/SansaAMS)

"ARM922T datasheet as used in Fuze v1, e200 v2, Clip v1, C200 v2, M200 v4.
ARM926EJS datasheet as used in Fuze v2, Clip v2 and Clip +. "

So if i buy a new sansa it will be a v2, whether i buy a e200 or a fuze, so if i get the e200v2 it will use a ARM922T chip, and if i get a fuze v2 it will use a ARM926EJS chip.. MY question is, is the ARM926EJS any better in SQ over the ARM922T?? i know that somethins optimized on ARM926EJS for the codec's to play more efficiently or somethin so thats why the battery life is longer on them compared to those which have LESS battery life using RB.

"Clipv1/c200v2/m200v4/e200v2/Fuzev1: Battery life is quite shorter than when using the OF." --- which just so happens to be the same models that use ARM922T

And i wonder if theres any chance of them fixing the battery issues in RB sooner or later for the ARM922T models or if thats just a hadycap of the chip itself.

If its not any diff in SQ then i guess i can live with the gimped Battery life, because eventually both batteries will fail, and only the e200 series has cost effective battery replacments for it.


Also, are there any applications or features in RB that are gimped on the e200 due to the screen size, or is it just the games?
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 11-16-2010, 10:38 AM
idivorceyou idivorceyou is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 51
Default

I have both players. Actually 2 sansas (4gb, 6gb) and a Fuze V2. all are rockboxed.
the sound quality on all three is excellent. no difference to my ears.
There is an issue on the Fuze V2 with Rockbox - after you load music, there is a "refreshing your media" screen and process that can take from 3 - 15 minutes. I find it totally annoying and intolerable! I like to load some tunes, unplug the USB, get in the car and listen. now I have to wait 14 minutes for the refresh to complete. I am at my destination already! Not a problem with the sansas.

As to form, love the Fuze for the big screen, how thin it is.
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 11-16-2010, 11:00 AM
lestatar's Avatar
lestatar lestatar is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Hong Kong now, but NYC always
Posts: 4,657
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by idivorceyou View Post
I have both players. Actually 2 sansas (4gb, 6gb) and a Fuze V2. all are rockboxed.
the sound quality on all three is excellent. no difference to my ears.
There is an issue on the Fuze V2 with Rockbox - after you load music, there is a "refreshing your media" screen and process that can take from 3 - 15 minutes. I find it totally annoying and intolerable! I like to load some tunes, unplug the USB, get in the car and listen. now I have to wait 14 minutes for the refresh to complete. I am at my destination already! Not a problem with the sansas.

As to form, love the Fuze for the big screen, how thin it is.
Just to be clear here: The issue in bold IS NOT due to Rockbox - the long refresh times are due to Sandisk's own firmware and their distaste for certain types of ID3 tags.
__________________
DAPs:2xRBFuze8+16GB|SonyE345|ZenV+,Micro,Xtra40GBx2|RBG igabeatFX|RCAOpal
IEMs:PanaHJE900|Nuforce 700x|HippoVB|iMetal590,i490|SM PL-21|CX300|EP630,Aurvana
Guitars:IbanezS540,JS1200|Ovation
PoolCues: a bunch
A Glossary for Newbies

Last edited by lestatar; 11-16-2010 at 11:11 AM.
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 11-16-2010, 11:08 AM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lestatar View Post
Just to be clear here: The issue in bold IS NOT due to Rockbox - the long refresh times are due to Sandisk's own firmware.
Correct! (love my 3 minute refresh)
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 11-16-2010, 11:41 AM
idivorceyou idivorceyou is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 51
Default

3 minute refresh showoff! my "3 minute refresh" comes from a piece of gum.
It just took 14 minutes to refresh my Fuze. 8gb main memory, 16 gb sd card.
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 11-16-2010, 12:31 PM
lestatar's Avatar
lestatar lestatar is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Hong Kong now, but NYC always
Posts: 4,657
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by idivorceyou View Post
3 minute refresh showoff! my "3 minute refresh" comes from a piece of gum.
It just took 14 minutes to refresh my Fuze. 8gb main memory, 16 gb sd card.
perhaps true... But as we saw in that other thread, you are better off than I am by 100%.

We are partially to blame for the long refresh times..it sucks, but I never complain about it as I am not about to change how I do things.

...still...it is crappy
__________________
DAPs:2xRBFuze8+16GB|SonyE345|ZenV+,Micro,Xtra40GBx2|RBG igabeatFX|RCAOpal
IEMs:PanaHJE900|Nuforce 700x|HippoVB|iMetal590,i490|SM PL-21|CX300|EP630,Aurvana
Guitars:IbanezS540,JS1200|Ovation
PoolCues: a bunch
A Glossary for Newbies
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 11-16-2010, 12:32 PM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by idivorceyou View Post
3 minute refresh showoff! my "3 minute refresh" comes from a piece of gum.
It just took 14 minutes to refresh my Fuze. 8gb main memory, 16 gb sd card.
Same set-up I have....but look on the bright side, your refresh is faster than lestatar's is.
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 11-17-2010, 10:15 AM
idivorceyou idivorceyou is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 51
Default

Ok, back to the big question - Fuze vs e200. I had been running with my new Fuze, cause its new! and my E240 is hooked into some cheapo speakers in a bathroom to use as a radio/mp3 player. But my E280 V1 with Rockbox, in its snappy case, has gone relatively unused. I just brought it back and for the life of me, given my refresh issues with the Fuze V2, can't justify continuing to use the Fuze until Rockbox fixes the USB and refresh issue.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:58 AM.