android
  #1  
Old 11-04-2010, 12:01 PM
mdwright1032 mdwright1032 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 39
Default Why does Cowon not add h.264 support?

I love my cowon but hate converting all my files. Why haven't they added this standard yet?
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 11-04-2010, 12:08 PM
hazza_t10 hazza_t10 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 61
Default

h.264 is technically supported (see the sticky thread), but not supported properly. I assume the reason for the support not being 'official' is either to do with licencing/royalties that Cowon may have to pay, or due to the fact that the S9 just cannot fully support h.264, so they can't advertise the feature.
__________________
Cowon S9 16GB | Westone UM1 IEMs
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 11-04-2010, 12:30 PM
deadohiosky's Avatar
deadohiosky deadohiosky is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Berlin, Germany, EU, Earth, Milkyway
Posts: 924
Default

it could also be hardware restrictions, as h.264 is pretty hardware hungry, although it's a very efficient format.
__________________
Think for yourself. Question authority. - Timothy Leary

Black Cowon J3 32 GB (Black Ringke Case) - no lousy Sennheiser CX 300 anymore, Pana HJE 900 took the throne... for keeps
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 11-04-2010, 01:38 PM
medion's Avatar
medion medion is offline
Anythingbutiphone Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Shreveport, La
Posts: 1,929
Default

I'll speculate on two things (already touched upon). While there are currently waived fees for H.264 playback via non-commercial websites, the cost to license H.264 in a commercial product is around $10 mil. If Cowon could pay a per-device royalty, that would be fine, but $10 ml for one product? Not happening given their niche market.

As deadohiosky above noted, the J3 likely doesn't have the horsepower to decode it, since it's generally used in 720p and higher files.
__________________
[SIZE=2][COLOR=DimGray][U][B]Phone:[/B][/U] Samsung Galaxy S II (GT-I9100) 16GB w/32GB MicroSDHC
[U][B]DAP:[/B][/U] Sansa Clip+ 8GB [/COLOR][/SIZE][SIZE=2][COLOR=DimGray]w/32GB MicroSDHC[/COLOR][/SIZE]
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 11-04-2010, 07:53 PM
meetooman's Avatar
meetooman meetooman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 488
Default

For me It is a matter of patent fees.
Doesn't the J3 use the same nVidia Tegra chipset than the Samsung M1 that can decode H.264 video streams?
The M1's manual says it can play: H.264/AVC (Max 1280X720) Baseline Profile @ level 1.3.
Price is the same reason Sony only sells the cheaper E350 series in the US playing WMV videos, but sell the E450 series playing WMV + MPEG4-ASP + H.264/AVC videos everywhere else in the world.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 11-04-2010, 11:27 PM
medion's Avatar
medion medion is offline
Anythingbutiphone Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Shreveport, La
Posts: 1,929
Default

My understanding is that the J3 does NOT use Tegra.
__________________
[SIZE=2][COLOR=DimGray][U][B]Phone:[/B][/U] Samsung Galaxy S II (GT-I9100) 16GB w/32GB MicroSDHC
[U][B]DAP:[/B][/U] Sansa Clip+ 8GB [/COLOR][/SIZE][SIZE=2][COLOR=DimGray]w/32GB MicroSDHC[/COLOR][/SIZE]
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 11-05-2010, 12:12 AM
meetooman's Avatar
meetooman meetooman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 488
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by medion View Post
My understanding is that the J3 does NOT use Tegra.
Cowon never print it is based on it that's true, neither nvidia. But the J3 can't be less powerful than the also WQVGA Samsung P3? The P3 should be able to play 640x480px (VGA) H.264 videos (according to the manual).
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 11-05-2010, 07:11 AM
medion's Avatar
medion medion is offline
Anythingbutiphone Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Shreveport, La
Posts: 1,929
Default

Trust me, Nvidia GLOATS when they get their hardware in devices. It's not a Tegra. It might be the same dual-core 500mhz ARM11 from the S9. If I can find a tear down, I will.
__________________
[SIZE=2][COLOR=DimGray][U][B]Phone:[/B][/U] Samsung Galaxy S II (GT-I9100) 16GB w/32GB MicroSDHC
[U][B]DAP:[/B][/U] Sansa Clip+ 8GB [/COLOR][/SIZE][SIZE=2][COLOR=DimGray]w/32GB MicroSDHC[/COLOR][/SIZE]
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 11-05-2010, 12:56 PM
mdwright1032 mdwright1032 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 39
Default

what about simpl3 mp4 support?
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 11-05-2010, 01:02 PM
medion's Avatar
medion medion is offline
Anythingbutiphone Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Shreveport, La
Posts: 1,929
Default

MPEG-4 Part Ttwo is covert by patent licensing, or royalties, as well.
__________________
[SIZE=2][COLOR=DimGray][U][B]Phone:[/B][/U] Samsung Galaxy S II (GT-I9100) 16GB w/32GB MicroSDHC
[U][B]DAP:[/B][/U] Sansa Clip+ 8GB [/COLOR][/SIZE][SIZE=2][COLOR=DimGray]w/32GB MicroSDHC[/COLOR][/SIZE]
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 11-05-2010, 04:11 PM
mdwright1032 mdwright1032 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 39
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by medion View Post
MPEG-4 Part Ttwo is covert by patent licensing, or royalties, as well.
Good Point, They would have to pay millions.
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 11-05-2010, 05:07 PM
meetooman's Avatar
meetooman meetooman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 488
Default

Because the J3 officially support MPEG-4-SP inside AVI container, we can believe this license is covered. But supporting MPEG-4 Part 10 (H.264/AVC) must demand additional fees. By the way I've read the device can somehow play MP4 files, video and audio (without cover art for AAC music). So MPEG4-SP+AAC=>MP4 could work. If someone here can confirm...
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 11-05-2010, 07:24 PM
mdwright1032 mdwright1032 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 39
Default

normally i download mp4 video files from youtube and then convert them to avi with S.U.P.E.R
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 11-05-2010, 07:54 PM
chri5peed chri5peed is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 45
Default

Well aside from fiddling with the format[to make it work], why curse a non-1080P video on a 3-inch screen.
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 11-05-2010, 09:25 PM
hazza_t10 hazza_t10 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 61
Default

With SUPER, .MP4 files will work when used with with h.264 AVC and AAC LC audio.
__________________
Cowon S9 16GB | Westone UM1 IEMs
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:39 AM.