android
  #1  
Old 10-06-2010, 10:44 AM
TyRanT-22's Avatar
TyRanT-22 TyRanT-22 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 30
Cool S9 + ath-m50

Will i need to purchase an amp or does the S9 have enough juice for the Audio-Technica ATH-M50?
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 10-06-2010, 06:00 PM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,564
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TyRanT-22 View Post
Will i need to purchase an amp or does the S9 have enough juice for the Audio-Technica ATH-M50?
It should work fine.
__________________
Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB<-All RB'd Clip Sport 8GB, Cowon D2+20GB
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB,Touch 2G 8GB,2012 Nexus 7 32GB(4.4.2),Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB(4.2.2)
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 10-10-2010, 05:27 AM
ntsnear ntsnear is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 3
Default

I'm running my S9 with Ultimate Ears Super fi. 5 Pro and that's just a joy to listen to the music with that combi. The S9 is good enough for your ATH-M50. I personally never use sound presets, always "normal".
So don't worry: You don't need anything else
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 10-10-2010, 05:30 AM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 15,985
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TyRanT-22 View Post
Will i need to purchase an amp or does the S9 have enough juice for the Audio-Technica ATH-M50?
I had both, and the ATH-M50's run perfectly fine w/the S9. You're really gonna love it when you finally get to sit down and listen to the setup.

PS: If you do get the X Series Walkman the ATH-M50 sounds excellent w/it as well, so no need to worry.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 10-10-2010, 05:30 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ntsnear View Post
I'm running my S9 with Ultimate Ears Super fi. 5 Pro and that's just a joy to listen to the music with that combi. The S9 is good enough for your ATH-M50. I personally never use sound presets, always "normal".
So don't worry: You don't need anything else
You can't compare your ultra-efficient IEMs to a full sized phone like the M50. They have totally different specs regarding impedance and sensitivity. The OP was asking if he needs an amp to drive his phones, not how the S9 subjectively sounds with your phones.

Anyways, the S9 should have no issues driving the M50.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:44 PM.