android
  #1  
Old 08-18-2010, 04:25 AM
Timar Timar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 107
Help Effect of Amp on the CPU noise of the Clip+

I've just made a strage observation concerning the CPU noise of my Clip+...
On startup my RB'ed Clip+ makes some rather annoying, swirling, hf CPU noise as long as the disk icon is constantly active (about a minute). I suppose it is caused by the auto database refresh feature and the busy SD access it generates. It is very noticable even during playback at moderate volume levels. However, when using my FiiO E5 again, I noticed that this noise had completely vanished - at about the same overall volume level of course. Only when I crank the volume on the FiiO up to the maximum it becomes noticeable again but still much less than on the Clip+ at normal level. Isn't that strange? How could the FiiO possibly reduce that kind of noise?
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 08-18-2010, 02:57 PM
AaronDude AaronDude is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 55
Default

I don't know but I notice similar things with other equipment. The extra noise from my portable coby dvd player for example is lessened by a lot the more things I connect to the headphone jack but it's still noisey and crappy. And my creative speakers connected to the headphone jack of my laptop gets rid of any noise, I just plug in headphones to the jack of the speakers and everything sounds better to me.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 08-18-2010, 06:41 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,604
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Timar View Post
How could the FiiO possibly reduce that kind of noise?
Are you running the Clip+ at the same volume in rockbox (e.g. comparing 0dB in RB to 0dB with the Fiio)?
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 08-19-2010, 03:00 AM
Timar Timar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 107
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by saratoga View Post
Are you running the Clip+ at the same volume in rockbox (e.g. comparing 0dB in RB to 0dB with the Fiio)?
I run it at even higher volume (I always set it to 0 when connecting it to the FiiO).
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 08-19-2010, 12:33 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,604
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Timar View Post
I run it at even higher volume (I always set it to 0 when connecting it to the FiiO).
Well that explains it. If you boost the level of the audio above the level of the noise, you'll find that the level of the audio is higher then the noise
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 08-20-2010, 02:49 AM
Timar Timar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 107
Default

Ehm... you're right. I haven't thought of the possibility that the noise isn't amplified. But it isn't indeed. So this is really an advantage of using an amp.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 08-20-2010, 04:11 AM
jjrosaria's Avatar
jjrosaria jjrosaria is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sheepland (NZ)
Posts: 956
Default

I don't know if this is the same case but this happens to my sony walkman as well.. But mine makes a high frequency sound while the screen is still turned on (eg when you switch songs and the screen turns on you could hear the HF sound)
__________________
Portable Rig:
<sony a728 8Gb, Sennheiser Hd555, Ultimate Ears Metro fi 200, Koss KSC75, Sennheiser CX400, CMoy amp
-Awaiting to buy an AKG K701-
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 08-20-2010, 06:12 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,604
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Timar View Post
Ehm... you're right. I haven't thought of the possibility that the noise isn't amplified. But it isn't indeed. So this is really an advantage of using an amp.
Ironically, you're using the amp to reduce the amplification

An inline volume control or an impedance adapter will work too. Basically anything that makes the headphones a bit quieter.
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 08-21-2010, 03:08 AM
rickysio's Avatar
rickysio rickysio is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Singapore
Posts: 1,074
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jjrosaria View Post
I don't know if this is the same case but this happens to my sony walkman as well.. But mine makes a high frequency sound while the screen is still turned on (eg when you switch songs and the screen turns on you could hear the HF sound)
That's a lack of RF shielding, not CPU noise. If you must, place some sheets of aluminium foil between the PCB and the screen (do this only when the warranty is over and you're confident of your tech ability), it should alleviate the sound.
__________________
Current Rig : SanDisk Sansa Clip+ 8GB Black | Sansa Fuze v2 2GB + 8GB | Hippo VB | Panasonic HJE900 | N900 32GB + 16GB
Graveyard :
FutureSonics Atrio | Cowon D2 16GB Black + 16GB SDHC | SoundMAGIC PL30 | Koss PortaPro | iPod Touch 2G 8GB
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 08-21-2010, 08:34 AM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rickysio View Post
That's a lack of RF shielding, not CPU noise. If you must, place some sheets of aluminium foil between the PCB and the screen (do this only when the warranty is over and you're confident of your tech ability), it should alleviate the sound.
I thought this is why SanDisk used a metal plate shielding the circuitry from interference on the original design of the Clip, unless they’ve removed it in the newer “+” version I don’t see any added benefit from adding foil. Rather than your suggestion I would recommend an impedance adapter or a portable amp as saratoga has already suggested, less risk as a recommendation to others.
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc

Last edited by WalkGood; 08-21-2010 at 09:46 PM.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:23 PM.