android
  #1  
Old 07-29-2010, 12:00 AM
raybies raybies is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 15
Default Actual J3 hardware

Hi.

Does anyone know the actual hardware used by the J3?
Does it use the Wolfson code WM8750?http://www.wolfsonmicro.com/products/codecs/WM8750/

What about the DAC?
What about the battery?
Any disassembly images?

If the hardware is the same as the S9, except for the screen multitouch vs no multi... why does the MP3 playback time differ 64 vs 55mins when they measure it with screen off.


Thanks.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 07-29-2010, 01:11 AM
NeedBalanceCtrl's Avatar
NeedBalanceCtrl NeedBalanceCtrl is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Earth
Posts: 237
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by raybies View Post
Hi.

Does anyone know the actual hardware used by the J3?
Does it use the Wolfson code WM8750?http://www.wolfsonmicro.com/products/codecs/WM8750/

What about the DAC?
What about the battery?
Any disassembly images?

If the hardware is the same as the S9, except for the screen multitouch vs no multi... why does the MP3 playback time differ 64 vs 55mins when they measure it with screen off.

Thanks.
You mean hours, not minutes. But that's an interesting observation. Do we know the battery is the same between the S9 and J3?
__________________
Black Cowon J3 16GB (Firmware 2.21) + 16GB SanDisk microSDHC
Panasonic RP-HJE900

F/K/A Need Balance Control
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 07-29-2010, 04:41 AM
rickysio's Avatar
rickysio rickysio is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Singapore
Posts: 1,074
Default

Could be attributed to

-Optimizations in playback
-Larger battery used
-More efficient hardware used
-Marketing BS
-Etc
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 07-29-2010, 05:15 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by raybies View Post
Does anyone know the actual hardware used by the J3?
Does it use the Wolfson code WM8750?http://www.wolfsonmicro.com/products/codecs/WM8750/

What about the DAC?
What about the battery?
Any disassembly images?
DAC here means the same as CODEC, and it's most likely the WM8960, since it has an internal speaker, same as the i9. Not sure if Cowon ever used the WM8750 in a player design.

As for the SoC, it's a Telechips TCC7901, same as the S9, i9, and most other new Cowons (since it works the same with the TCCtool recovery tool).
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 07-29-2010, 07:41 PM
raybies raybies is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 15
Default

@dfkt Thanks... knew there'd have to be some ARM processor in there too.
So there's no HW difference? Shouldn't people be able to load the J3 fw on the S9?
2 integrated DACs, I see that now... should have looked at the Wolfson page!


@rickysio BTW: With a J3 32GB I get 7.5 - 8.5hrs from full charge playing FLAC ~950kps powering some Shure SE530's with vol set at 34 and screen off.

Not exactly sure what time, cos I left it on my desk at work but didn't catch the exact time it stopped playing... it was off @ the 8.5hr mark and still playing @ the 7.5hr mark. I could turn it on after but the battery indicator was all grey.

So maybe it is Marketing BS.


Also the Shure's are a PoS for the money after ~60hrs burn in. And Denon AH-D5000 are TOTALLY awesome... to my ears.

I also get no hiss with the Shure's + J3... I get a faint ssshhhhh with an HTC Blackstone.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 07-29-2010, 10:42 PM
happyguy happyguy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 16
Default disassembly images

Quote:
Originally Posted by raybies View Post
Hi.

Any disassembly images?
There are some good shots here:

http://iaudiophile.net/forums/showth...105#post294105
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 07-30-2010, 01:12 AM
raybies raybies is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 15
Default

happyguy: woo hoo, thanks.
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 07-30-2010, 04:16 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by raybies View Post
So there's no HW difference? Shouldn't people be able to load the J3 fw on the S9?
There sure are some tiny differences, here and there - and firmwares aren't exchangeable between the two players. However, some fine people already ripped the J3 UI out of the firmware, and made it available for the S9: http://iaudiophile.net/forums/showthread.php?t=36156
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:07 AM.