android
  #1  
Old 05-23-2010, 11:00 AM
ahmetcan44 ahmetcan44 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 6
Help Cowon D2+ doesn't play any FLAC files! [SOLVED]

Hello everyone,

I've recently bought a D2 and put the latest D2+ FW (3.13) on it. Everything works OK but FLAC files don't. I tried to clean ID3V2 tags with MP3Tag program. But no way... Also FLACs are ripped with libflac 1.2.1 they have 44100 KHz value.

I looked for every solution on iAudiophile and abi forums but still couldn't reach a a solution. What the hell is this machine's problem? It doesn't play a simple FLAC file!

I noticed a few posts related with MTP mode or something like that but I don't what it is and how to deal with it. I drag and drop the files with Windows Explorer. Do I need to use a specific program to drag and drop the files into the player?

I'm using Windows 7 Ultimate x86.

SOLUTION: I CHANGED THE SUFFIX OF FLAC FILES FROM ".flac" TO ".fla" AND THEY ARE WORKING NOW!

Last edited by ahmetcan44; 04-30-2011 at 04:37 PM. Reason: Solved.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 05-23-2010, 11:25 AM
ultrauber's Avatar
ultrauber ultrauber is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 516
Default

Yes, it could be that your player is in mtp mode rather than msc. I don't own the d2, so I don't know how this setting is changed, but look around in your settings to find usb mode or similar and change that to msc. (you'll want to empty the player before doing this, and then after the change refill)

Good luck!
__________________
Cowon S9 32GB > HiFiMan RE0 (RIP) | Sansa Clip+ 16GB (Rockbox) > Soundmagic PL20
If you have problems, try MSC mode, then google.com
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 05-23-2010, 08:16 PM
Xinz Xinz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Singapore
Posts: 336
Default

Try use cowon media center and convert, I am guessing the D2+ doesn't read the libflac tag well. I've come across a few flacs that doesn't play and I just reconvert them to flac using cowon media center
__________________
I have my C2!!!
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 05-25-2010, 07:38 AM
ahmetcan44 ahmetcan44 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 6
Default

I don't have any hope but I'm gonna look for MTP-MSC mode in player when I get back to home.

Gonna inform you about the results.

Thank you.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 05-29-2010, 01:46 PM
ahmetcan44 ahmetcan44 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 6
Default

Guys, hello again with bad news.

It still doesn't play FLAC files. There is no option related with MTP-MSC modes. Please, any solution? I've sent an e-mail to COWON. Waitin' for a reply...
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 05-30-2010, 03:45 AM
Xinz Xinz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Singapore
Posts: 336
Default

u tried my method?
You can send me one of your flac file to test
I think I'll drop u a PM
__________________
I have my C2!!!
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 06-06-2010, 06:54 PM
ahmetcan44 ahmetcan44 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 6
Default

I got the Rockbox FW 3.13 and everthing works OK.

By the way, I should say that the Rockbox is the best solution for this device! It has everything that a user may need
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 06-06-2010, 07:27 PM
Xinz Xinz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Singapore
Posts: 336
Default

Good to hear that, I didn't use rockbox so couldn't advise on that
__________________
I have my C2!!!
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 09-15-2010, 02:05 AM
dotchoo dotchoo is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Romania
Posts: 1
Thumb Up Thanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xinz View Post
Try use cowon media center and convert, I am guessing the D2+ doesn't read the libflac tag well. I've come across a few flacs that doesn't play and I just reconvert them to flac using cowon media center
wow Xinz, thanks so much for this solution, i thought my E2 was broken, whenever it tried to play a flac it would go into "total shutdown" (it would turn off and never turn back on or be recognized by the computer unless i pressed the reset button for 5 secs). fixed it with conversion from flac to ...flac in cowon media center.
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 09-15-2010, 03:19 AM
Xinz Xinz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Singapore
Posts: 336
Default

Woah, I've never encountered shutdown. Normally those with problems will not play and stop there.
__________________
I have my C2!!!
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 11-15-2010, 06:18 PM
JTSDesigns JTSDesigns is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1
Default

I had a problem with my D2+ locking up on random flac files. When I looked into it further, I discovered that ANY information in the tag that was not the bare basic was causing the player to reject the file and lockup. It took me days to cleanse my collection-but once cleansed, everything worked ok. My other player (an upgraded D2) seems to have no problems.

Good luck.
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 04-11-2011, 05:17 PM
ahmetcan44 ahmetcan44 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 6
Default

Hello everyone,

I removed Rockbox after a while because it is an unfinished work. So buggy.

My player doesn't play FLAC files. Any ideas? FW is 2.59 and I tried MTP-MSC modes. No way. I cleaned all the tags on FLAC files but no, no and no; it doesn't play FLAC files. I drag and drop files to the player but nothing is shown up.
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 04-17-2011, 01:53 PM
michael2508 michael2508 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 4
Default

Try to play the file FLAC CD quality test from http://www.linnrecords.com/linn-down...testfiles.aspx.
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 04-30-2011, 04:39 PM
ahmetcan44 ahmetcan44 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 6
Default

I solved the problem with the help of a friend from iAudiophile and added the solution to first post
Reply With Quote

Reply

Tags
d2, d2+, flac, problem, tag

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:28 AM.