android
  #1  
Old 04-20-2010, 07:59 PM
timmahcheese timmahcheese is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 261
Help How high is the risk of bricking permanently?

I was going to wait to hack the device to let the devs work out the kinks in the os, but the new release of doom makes it rediculously hard to wait. My biggest concern is bricking the $290 device. So my question is... Is it worth it to hack it this early and/or what is the likeliness of bricking the Zune HD? And if it does brick, can I just reset the firmware and return it back to normal? Thanks in advance!
__________________
Add me as a friend on zune social! my username is "Timmay Cheese"
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 04-20-2010, 08:07 PM
Sasori065 Sasori065 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 10
Default

It cant brick your device...
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 04-20-2010, 08:11 PM
nate8nate's Avatar
nate8nate nate8nate is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 73
Default

From what I know, the hacked apps can't brick your system. They only have a secret handshake that allows them to use more of the Zune OS.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 04-20-2010, 08:24 PM
timmahcheese timmahcheese is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 261
Default

alright... that makes me feel much better... any real bad glitches or major nuisances with the os?
__________________
Add me as a friend on zune social! my username is "Timmay Cheese"
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 04-20-2010, 08:42 PM
nate8nate's Avatar
nate8nate nate8nate is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 73
Default

If you run one of these hacked apps you will have to restart the Zune in order to access the internet or an official Microsoft app, other than that everything works pretty much like any other app.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 04-20-2010, 09:22 PM
turdbogls turdbogls is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 119
Default

just make sure you read the entire post...dont use the home button to exit Doom as it will run in the background and make everything very SLUGGISH...just 4 finger tap or exit in the menu....i just DL'd it and it is just like the original...pretty sweet that we got such a quality game so quickly...i thought for sure it would take about 6 months to start seeing quality stuff. love this hack
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 04-20-2010, 09:34 PM
ItsLasher's Avatar
ItsLasher ItsLasher is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: The Net
Posts: 204
Default

I have Doom installed right now and also have had the 3D demo installed without issue.
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 04-20-2010, 09:36 PM
timmahcheese timmahcheese is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 261
Default

alright... youve talked me into it... ill see if i can hack it tonight... thanks a lot to everyone that posted!
__________________
Add me as a friend on zune social! my username is "Timmay Cheese"
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 04-20-2010, 10:03 PM
p0ke37's Avatar
p0ke37 p0ke37 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 224
Default

Good luck!
__________________
</p0ke37>
Befriend Wh1t3B0yz005 on the Zune social!
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 04-20-2010, 10:06 PM
ItsLasher's Avatar
ItsLasher ItsLasher is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: The Net
Posts: 204
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by timmahcheese View Post
alright... youve talked me into it... ill see if i can hack it tonight... thanks a lot to everyone that posted!
There is nothing to hack. You just need to download the standard XNA deployment stuff and then download the apps you want and double click the apps and select deploy.

There is no change on our end. All the changes are on the DEV's end.
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 04-20-2010, 10:25 PM
timmahcheese timmahcheese is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 261
Default

wait... really? i thought it was a firmware hack...
__________________
Add me as a friend on zune social! my username is "Timmay Cheese"
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 04-20-2010, 10:48 PM
ItsLasher's Avatar
ItsLasher ItsLasher is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: The Net
Posts: 204
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by timmahcheese View Post
wait... really? i thought it was a firmware hack...
They are exploiting a hole in the firmware. On our end nothing has changed.
C#, XNA3.1 and the HD extensions is all thats needed to deploy.
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 04-20-2010, 10:52 PM
timmahcheese timmahcheese is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 261
Default

huh... thats cool... but a little hole in the firmware can allow apps to run in the background without any changed code on the zune side?
__________________
Add me as a friend on zune social! my username is "Timmay Cheese"
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 04-21-2010, 12:22 AM
timmahcheese timmahcheese is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 261
Default

lol i guess so.... i did it and doom is pretty awesome. I love having an accelerometer lol
__________________
Add me as a friend on zune social! my username is "Timmay Cheese"
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:35 PM.