android
  #1  
Old 03-15-2010, 05:43 PM
Vertal Vertal is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4
Default Constantly Disconnecting Sony Walkman

I have a Sony nwz-e436f, and for the past 3-4 months its been constantly disconnecting from my computer, but it originally did work. As soon as I plug it in the computer recognizes it, and then it disconnects continually. It charges, but I can't transfer any files because the device isn't even recognized in My Computer. I've looked around, and tried different things like uninstalling the device, updating drivers to set it to a USB storage device, and reformatting it, but it's done nothing.

It works fine on some computers, but has the same problem on others. I hope someone can tell me what I can do to fix this defective thing.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 03-15-2010, 06:28 PM
lestatar's Avatar
lestatar lestatar is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Hong Kong now, but NYC always
Posts: 4,657
Default

Hi...what OS/computer do you have?
__________________
DAPs:2xRBFuze8+16GB|SonyE345|ZenV+,Micro,Xtra40GBx2|RBG igabeatFX|RCAOpal
IEMs:PanaHJE900|Nuforce 700x|HippoVB|iMetal590,i490|SM PL-21|CX300|EP630,Aurvana
Guitars:IbanezS540,JS1200|Ovation
PoolCues: a bunch
A Glossary for Newbies
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 03-15-2010, 08:04 PM
Vertal Vertal is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4
Default

Win XP
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 03-15-2010, 08:45 PM
lestatar's Avatar
lestatar lestatar is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Hong Kong now, but NYC always
Posts: 4,657
Default

Hey Vertal, I don't have an E436, but an E345 on XP as well. I am no uber geek but will try and help...am sure other folks will chime in as well.

AFAIK, you should NOT NEED any drivers on your PC for the player. Unless the E436 specifically tells you, I think the thing should be recognized as an MTP device under WinXP without installing anything...

- Is your WinXP current with service packs, patches?

- It is possible that your USB connector on the PC is going bad and/or even the cable. Have you tried switching 1 or both?

- is your PC going to sleep/hibernation/some kind of power save mode? I have heard of this causing USB devices some issues...

As for transferring files...assuming you can get the device to stay connected on your PC with the device and fix the current issue, suggest you look into, download and try either/both:

Winamp
http://www.winamp.com/

MediaMonkey
http://www.mediamonkey.com/

Both can help you manage your device....Winamp works perfectly for all my devices. Both come in free version [all you need].

Please post back any progress you make...lots of helpful, knowledgable folks here....

good luck,
-lestatar
__________________
DAPs:2xRBFuze8+16GB|SonyE345|ZenV+,Micro,Xtra40GBx2|RBG igabeatFX|RCAOpal
IEMs:PanaHJE900|Nuforce 700x|HippoVB|iMetal590,i490|SM PL-21|CX300|EP630,Aurvana
Guitars:IbanezS540,JS1200|Ovation
PoolCues: a bunch
A Glossary for Newbies
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 03-15-2010, 08:52 PM
Vertal Vertal is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4
Default

Windows XP is as up to date as it can be.
I don't think it can be the cable or USB because the cable works fine connecting to most other computers, and I have my mouse connected to a USB slot and the walkman won't connect there either.
My computer never goes into standby/hibernate.
Winamp and Windows Media Player don't recognize the device as connected.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 03-15-2010, 08:56 PM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

I think there was something called an MTP Porting Kit, a collection of drivers to download....but if WMP11 is present, then theoretically this shouldn't be necessary.
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 03-15-2010, 09:51 PM
lestatar's Avatar
lestatar lestatar is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Hong Kong now, but NYC always
Posts: 4,657
Default

@Marvin: Thanks as always!

@Vertal: Look/check this out:
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...displaylang=en

I believe Marvin is correct...IIRC if one does have WMP 11 installed on XP, then this should not be necessary.

Suggest you download and install this package. From MS, is safe and SHOULD NOT cause further probs for you and might actually fix your connection issue.

HOWEVER!!!!

Be sure to CREATE A SYSTEM RESTORE POINT FIRST before you install this or anything else. It is a good habit to get into and can get you out of trouble.

Your decision, but let us know how things work out if you proceed.

Cheers and good luck,
-lestatar
__________________
DAPs:2xRBFuze8+16GB|SonyE345|ZenV+,Micro,Xtra40GBx2|RBG igabeatFX|RCAOpal
IEMs:PanaHJE900|Nuforce 700x|HippoVB|iMetal590,i490|SM PL-21|CX300|EP630,Aurvana
Guitars:IbanezS540,JS1200|Ovation
PoolCues: a bunch
A Glossary for Newbies
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 03-16-2010, 06:27 AM
Vertal Vertal is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4
Default

Still isn't working
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 03-16-2010, 11:21 AM
lestatar's Avatar
lestatar lestatar is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Hong Kong now, but NYC always
Posts: 4,657
Default

Hmmm, Vertal...seems like a little tougher than normal

Couple more suggestions:
- Have you tried resetting the device?
- Have you tried formatting the device? [Usually, this will wipe everything from the device but restore all the default folder/configurations on the device - basically as if you just bought the device home]


Also, it seems that there is a FW [firmware update] for your device according to Sony...look here:
http://esupport.sony.com/US/perl/swu...d=4015&os_id=7

Not sure if you did this yet or even if it will help - from the info on the Sony site, this FW update seems to be more feature related instead of resolving connection issues, but you never know.

Finally, before really doing any of the above, I would give Sony support a call or chat online with them...
http://esupport.sony.com/US/perl/sup...?mdltype_id=69

I think text chat might be free...

Sorry, but I am out of ideas for you and since I don't have your model I don't want to give you bad advice...

Please let us know how you make out and good luck!
-lestatar
__________________
DAPs:2xRBFuze8+16GB|SonyE345|ZenV+,Micro,Xtra40GBx2|RBG igabeatFX|RCAOpal
IEMs:PanaHJE900|Nuforce 700x|HippoVB|iMetal590,i490|SM PL-21|CX300|EP630,Aurvana
Guitars:IbanezS540,JS1200|Ovation
PoolCues: a bunch
A Glossary for Newbies
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:37 PM.