android
  #1  
Old 02-26-2010, 02:16 PM
McDougal's Avatar
McDougal McDougal is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,375
Default Marketplace option in main menu will not go away

Hi all,

One time I put my ZHD in recovery mode and restored the firmware. However, everything seemes to be properly restored to firmware 4.3 but the Marketplace option in the main menu will not go away. I've tried reinstalling 4.3 many times but the Marketplace option is still there. I've tried everything I can think of to get rid of it but it just won't disappear. Has anybody else had the same problem? Do you know how to get rid of it? I've tried "Forgetting" the player and "Erasing all content" but still no luck.

Thanks for the help,

-McDougal
__________________
iPod Touch 4G 32GB; Google Nexus 7 32GB
JVC HAS600B;Pioneer SE-M390;Audio-Technica ATH-P5

Retired Devices:
Sansa Fuze 8+16GB Rockboxed
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 02-26-2010, 03:49 PM
grommet grommet is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 87
Default

I don't get it... Isn't the Marketplace option always there for U.S. owners, by design?
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 02-26-2010, 04:00 PM
McDougal's Avatar
McDougal McDougal is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,375
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by grommet View Post
I don't get it... Isn't the Marketplace option always there for U.S. owners, by design?
I don't think so because the first time I installed 4.3 when it came out 4.3 removed the Marketplace option, and I live in the U.S.
__________________
iPod Touch 4G 32GB; Google Nexus 7 32GB
JVC HAS600B;Pioneer SE-M390;Audio-Technica ATH-P5

Retired Devices:
Sansa Fuze 8+16GB Rockboxed
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 02-26-2010, 04:18 PM
roguemat roguemat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 263
Default

I live outside the U.S. and its on mine... Isnt it a feature? Like being able to preview songs over WiFi?
__________________
Follow me on twitter and check out my blog
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 02-26-2010, 04:46 PM
Joshnor713 Joshnor713 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 172
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by McDougal View Post
Hi all,

One time I put my ZHD in recovery mode and restored the firmware. However, everything seemes to be properly restored to firmware 4.3 but the Marketplace option in the main menu will not go away. I've tried reinstalling 4.3 many times but the Marketplace option is still there. I've tried everything I can think of to get rid of it but it just won't disappear. Has anybody else had the same problem? Do you know how to get rid of it? I've tried "Forgetting" the player and "Erasing all content" but still no luck.

Thanks for the help,

-McDougal
Who cares if it's there, does it really bug you that much?
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 02-26-2010, 05:30 PM
McDougal's Avatar
McDougal McDougal is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,375
Default

roguemat, that's not exactly what I'm talking about. What I'm talking about is in the main menu there is: Music, Videos, Photos, Radio, Marketplace, Social, Apps, Settings on firmware 4.3. When I first installed firmware 4.3 (updated from 4.1), it was: Music, Videos, Photos, Radio, Social, Apps, Settings on the main menu. The marketplace feature was still there (and I want it there) but the option in the main menu was taken away with the 4.3 update when the marketplace option in the main menu was there on the 4.1 firmware. And Joshnor713, I don't really care if the option is there or not, I just would prefer it gone. If there isn't a way to get rid of it, then I will wait for the next firmware update and see if that gets rid of it.
__________________
iPod Touch 4G 32GB; Google Nexus 7 32GB
JVC HAS600B;Pioneer SE-M390;Audio-Technica ATH-P5

Retired Devices:
Sansa Fuze 8+16GB Rockboxed
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 02-26-2010, 07:44 PM
Machiventa's Avatar
Machiventa Machiventa is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 886
Default

I'm pretty sure when installing/reinstalling the firmware there isn't a Marketplace option until you link your Zune Tag. So to remove it you can either reinstall the FW and not link your Zune Tag or the easiest way is to go to Settings (in the software) then Device, then click "Forget this device" and again don't link your Zune Tag after you reconnect your Zune.

Last edited by Machiventa; 02-26-2010 at 09:59 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 02-26-2010, 10:11 PM
McDougal's Avatar
McDougal McDougal is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,375
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Machiventa View Post
I'm pretty sure when installing/reinstalling the firmware there isn't a Marketplace option until you link your Zune Tag. So to remove it you can either reinstall the FW and not link your Zune Tag or the easiest way is to go to Settings (in the software) then Device, then click "Forget this device" and again don't link your Zune Tag after you reconnect your Zune.
Thanks Machiventa for the reply. I will try this tomorrow morning and report back the results.
__________________
iPod Touch 4G 32GB; Google Nexus 7 32GB
JVC HAS600B;Pioneer SE-M390;Audio-Technica ATH-P5

Retired Devices:
Sansa Fuze 8+16GB Rockboxed
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 02-26-2010, 10:21 PM
lip lip is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 476
Default

Why don't you want it...kind of a big feature for it? Being outside of the US it's a pain in the a** what we have to go through to actually get it!!!!
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 02-26-2010, 11:14 PM
gamersat678 gamersat678 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 157
Default

Well I live in the US and I don't use it either. I don't mind having it on the screen but wish I could make more use out of it (more apps maybe...).
__________________
Have: Zune HD 16gb
Broken: Sansa e130, Creative Zen Plus, 2x Centon Muvox, Zune, Iriver e150
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 02-27-2010, 12:00 AM
lip lip is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 476
Default

gamersat678:
You can use it you know...you just have to jump through hoops...I guess if you are not interested in the zune pass or apps it is useless...
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 02-27-2010, 12:06 AM
Machiventa's Avatar
Machiventa Machiventa is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 886
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by McDougal View Post
Thanks Machiventa for the reply. I will try this tomorrow morning and report back the results.
You're welcome. I just retried it and can confirm it works.
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 02-27-2010, 10:44 AM
McDougal's Avatar
McDougal McDougal is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,375
Default

Hi Machiventa, unfortunately it did not work. I tried everything I could but the marketplace option did not go away even with my zune account not linked. Thanks a lot for all the help though, and it's okay if you don't know why it didn't work because I can live with it there.

Thanks,

-McDougal
__________________
iPod Touch 4G 32GB; Google Nexus 7 32GB
JVC HAS600B;Pioneer SE-M390;Audio-Technica ATH-P5

Retired Devices:
Sansa Fuze 8+16GB Rockboxed
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 02-27-2010, 06:07 PM
Machiventa's Avatar
Machiventa Machiventa is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 886
Default

Weird, I just retried it and still got the result. Sorry, not sure what's wrong on your side
.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:18 AM.