android
  #1  
Old 02-12-2010, 08:07 PM
FeelinLucky7 FeelinLucky7 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 98
Default SONY X Series on Windows OS MSC?

How does the MSC mode on the X series work with a windows os!

Has anyone been able to successfully use the X in MSC mode with a windows OS is i guess what i want to know?
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 02-13-2010, 05:47 AM
Szadzik Szadzik is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 75
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FeelinLucky7 View Post
How does the MSC mode on the X series work with a windows os!

Has anyone been able to successfully use the X in MSC mode with a windows OS is i guess what i want to know?
The answer is yes, you can use MSC mode.

How? Search the forum, it was mentioned before.
__________________
Present Rig:
HP IQ830UK, SE X1, Nikon D90; HTX-22HD + SKS-11, Sony X1060, AKG K450, Sennheiser HD555, ATH-ESW9

Used in the past: Rio Carbon, Creative Zen Vision M, Sony NWZ-A818
Just-a-Photograppher's Website
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 02-16-2010, 01:32 PM
FeelinLucky7 FeelinLucky7 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 98
Default As a matter of fact?

I have searched the forum and not gotten the answer i wanted or needed in anywhere close the detail I am looking for!

The threads that were started on this forum for MSC mode questions in fact are not even questions that apply to the transfer protocol mode or the OS being used with them! But instead lead to questions about the metatag data on mp3 files and how the X catalogs them (which i do not care about because i tag all my files correctly)?

I want to know if there is a option in the X sereis menus that allows you to switch to MSC mode even if you are using it with a Windows OS?

When you connect the player to a Windows OS does the player revert back to MTP or can you keep it in MSC?

Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 02-16-2010, 01:42 PM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

All the Sony players are MTP by default. The trick mentioned elsewhere in the forum involves trying to convince Windows that the Sony is an MSC device instead of an MTP device.

Some people say it works for them, but when I tried it on my Sony it was dead for a day and a half....so once I got it to come back to life, I left it as MTP like Sony intended, and it's been fine ever since.
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 02-16-2010, 03:30 PM
Ascariss's Avatar
Ascariss Ascariss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Poland
Posts: 434
Default

ive used MSC mode on my 818, but went back to MTP
__________________
-Ascariss - Sony Crew
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 02-16-2010, 04:14 PM
Szadzik Szadzik is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 75
Default

Here's the link:

http://www.anythingbutipod.com/forum...63&postcount=3
__________________
Present Rig:
HP IQ830UK, SE X1, Nikon D90; HTX-22HD + SKS-11, Sony X1060, AKG K450, Sennheiser HD555, ATH-ESW9

Used in the past: Rio Carbon, Creative Zen Vision M, Sony NWZ-A818
Just-a-Photograppher's Website
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 02-16-2010, 05:06 PM
FeelinLucky7 FeelinLucky7 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 98
Default

Thanks!
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:10 AM.