android
  #1  
Old 01-31-2010, 07:53 PM
McDougal's Avatar
McDougal McDougal is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,375
Default Strange WiFi encounter....

Hi all,

A couple of places this has happened. What's happened is I go to a place, take out my ZHD and search for WiFi hotspots. While it's searching, it finds a hotspot named "Zune Hotspot". And it says it's a "Known Network". This has happened in three places so far:
1) Ronald McDonald House (of all places)
2) McDonalds
3) another McDonalds

I have no idea why it's there and am happy and confused about why it's there.

Any ideas?

-McDougal
__________________
iPod Touch 4G 32GB; Google Nexus 7 32GB
JVC HAS600B;Pioneer SE-M390;Audio-Technica ATH-P5

Retired Devices:
Sansa Fuze 8+16GB Rockboxed
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 01-31-2010, 08:01 PM
Briankealing's Avatar
Briankealing Briankealing is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 173
Default

There's a chance Microsoft got a hold of some hotspots across the country.
These would be pre-embedded into the known network list.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 01-31-2010, 08:08 PM
Re-Vision Re-Vision is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 214
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by McDougal View Post
Hi all,

A couple of places this has happened. What's happened is I go to a place, take out my ZHD and search for WiFi hotspots. While it's searching, it finds a hotspot named "Zune Hotspot". And it says it's a "Known Network". This has happened in three places so far:
1) Ronald McDonald House (of all places)
2) McDonalds
3) another McDonalds

I have no idea why it's there and am happy and confused about why it's there.

Any ideas?

-McDougal
Just this morning i was at McDonalds, sitting in the car actually, and something hit me, that i should try the Wifi HotSpot, low and behold, in the Networks screen it said Zune Mcdonald or Mcdonald Zune, can't remember correctly though but it said Zune specifically.

So i tried to connect my Zune HD, but it didn't connect don't remember the message that came up on the screen.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 01-31-2010, 08:45 PM
p0ke37's Avatar
p0ke37 p0ke37 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 224
Default

Dude, McDonalds has a deal with Microsoft to provide wifi for zunes.
__________________
</p0ke37>
Befriend Wh1t3B0yz005 on the Zune social!
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 02-01-2010, 12:04 AM
Master Chief Master Chief is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 12
Default

^^ What he said.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 02-01-2010, 02:15 AM
DaveMac-MS DaveMac-MS is offline
Buddy
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Kirkland, WA
Posts: 1,482
Default

That's right - all Zunes have free wifi access in McDonald's US-wide.

Cheers, Dave.
__________________
Please don't PM me - instead send an email!
Follow me on Twitter (@DaveMacMS)!
If you're a member of the Zune Social - friend me (AussieDaveMS)!
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 02-01-2010, 12:08 PM
Olley Olley is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,894
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveMac-MS View Post
That's right - all Zunes have free wifi access in McDonald's US-wide. Cheers, Dave.
That's great! Now could you swing the same deal for Arby's, Burger King, Wendy's, KFC, Taco Bell/Tico/etc., and all the buffet diners too?
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 02-02-2010, 08:54 AM
hamm3r hamm3r is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 111
Default

That's great! Any other deals like this? What other places provide Zune hot spots?
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 02-02-2010, 09:50 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Eww... striking deals with the crappiest junk food purveyors out there... doesn't really mix with the perceived "quality" of a high priced portable player.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 02-02-2010, 10:00 AM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dfkt View Post
Eww... striking deals with the crappiest junk food purveyors out there... doesn't really mix with the perceived "quality" of a high priced portable player.
Agreed, did anyone ever read http://aniyah4him.amplify.com/2010/0...ef-red-sludge/
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 02-02-2010, 04:08 PM
Xiamhighx Xiamhighx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 157
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dfkt View Post
Eww... striking deals with the crappiest junk food purveyors out there... doesn't really mix with the perceived "quality" of a high priced portable player.
Yeah. I mean, instead of setting up a deal with a popular fast food place that many people go to, they should have set up WiFi networks in five star restaurants across the country, just to keep the perceived quality.
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 02-02-2010, 04:29 PM
McDougal's Avatar
McDougal McDougal is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,375
Default

Thank you everybody. I now understand the reason why that hotspot was there. I do agree with dfkt though, it's a great idea, but why only provide it with junky fast-food places? I think it would be more used at someplace like an airport (yes most airports have wifi but sometimes their hotspots don't work).
__________________
iPod Touch 4G 32GB; Google Nexus 7 32GB
JVC HAS600B;Pioneer SE-M390;Audio-Technica ATH-P5

Retired Devices:
Sansa Fuze 8+16GB Rockboxed
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 02-02-2010, 04:32 PM
lip lip is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 476
Default

Coffee shops
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 02-02-2010, 06:03 PM
p0ke37's Avatar
p0ke37 p0ke37 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 224
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WalkGood View Post

heard of that from a friend. disgusting
__________________
</p0ke37>
Befriend Wh1t3B0yz005 on the Zune social!
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 02-03-2010, 06:48 PM
DaveMac-MS DaveMac-MS is offline
Buddy
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Kirkland, WA
Posts: 1,482
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by McDougal View Post
Thank you everybody. I now understand the reason why that hotspot was there. I do agree with dfkt though, it's a great idea, but why only provide it with junky fast-food places? I think it would be more used at someplace like an airport (yes most airports have wifi but sometimes their hotspots don't work).
Because we can't just walk in and demand venues do deals to support our hardware. In the case of McDonald's we were able to do a deal - and we're always looking at other opportunities.

Cheers, Dave.
__________________
Please don't PM me - instead send an email!
Follow me on Twitter (@DaveMacMS)!
If you're a member of the Zune Social - friend me (AussieDaveMS)!
Reply With Quote

  #16  
Old 02-03-2010, 08:22 PM
Re-Vision Re-Vision is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 214
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveMac-MS View Post
Because we can't just walk in and demand venues do deals to support our hardware. In the case of McDonald's we were able to do a deal - and we're always looking at other opportunities.

Cheers, Dave.
Dave, actually I'm already so grateful to Microsoft for having such a partnership, i like the fact how the Network specifically says Zune.A while back i used the wifi once on my Zune 30, to show my friend how cool Zune was over the I-Poop Classic.

But I have question does Zune HD also work with the McDonalds wifi, because i was at the Mcdonalds the other day, and i stayed in the car while my Grandpa placed an order.

It wouldn't let me connect with my Zune HD, was it because i was out of range or something, i can't remember the message it said on the screen, but i think i gonna go down there, over the weekend just to try again.

I hope MS also has some kinda Partnership to display Zune ADs on Yahoo, its where i found Netflix like 3 years ago.

And about ads, actually i think i saw some Zune HD ads on CNBC like a couple months back. Just a disclaimer i hate Pete Najarian(Apple Fanboy) from CNBC.
Reply With Quote

  #17  
Old 02-10-2010, 02:17 AM
DaveMac-MS DaveMac-MS is offline
Buddy
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Kirkland, WA
Posts: 1,482
Default

Yes, our deal with the wifi at McDonald's covers all Zune models.

Cheers, Dave.
__________________
Please don't PM me - instead send an email!
Follow me on Twitter (@DaveMacMS)!
If you're a member of the Zune Social - friend me (AussieDaveMS)!
Reply With Quote

  #18  
Old 02-10-2010, 09:01 AM
DeadmanIncWorldWide DeadmanIncWorldWide is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 36
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Olley View Post
That's great! Now could you swing the same deal for Arby's, Burger King, Wendy's, KFC, Taco Bell/Tico/etc., and all the buffet diners too?
Being able to connect to the internet at Taco Bell would be awesome! lol Lord knows I love me some Taco Bell!
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:20 PM.