android
  #1  
Old 01-30-2010, 08:47 AM
Andyt95 Andyt95 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 34
Help Lost installation Disc

I would like to install my device onto my windows laptop but I have lost my installation disc. Is there anywhere I could download the files?
Thanks.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 01-30-2010, 09:01 AM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
ABI Invaluable
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,577
Default

There is no installation disk, the included disk has the manual and JetAudio, certainly not worth paying for. You can either connect it via mtp and chose the media player you wish to sync it with or do like most others and select msc and drag & drop ftw.

Edit: BTW, here is the manual http://www.cowonamerica.com/download...s9_manual.html
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 01-30-2010, 09:41 AM
Andyt95 Andyt95 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 34
Default

I have connected the device but it shows the message "found new hardware" and asks me to input a disc or search for files. It does not appear as a removable storage device.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 01-30-2010, 09:58 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Then you have to switch the player from MTP to MSC mode in its system settings.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 01-30-2010, 10:12 AM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
ABI Invaluable
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,577
Default

That's because your pc doesn't have all the drivers to run crappy mtp, do like dfkt said. The disk doesn't bring any drivers, those you get from the web ...
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 01-30-2010, 10:36 AM
Andyt95 Andyt95 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 34
Default

how do I get those drivers? because the device is frozen again and I can not switch it on. reset does not work.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 01-30-2010, 10:39 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

MTP drivers won't help you then. Sounds like you bricked the player. Send it back under warranty.

You get MTP support by installing WMP11 or newer on your computer.
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 01-30-2010, 10:42 AM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
ABI Invaluable
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,577
Default

Even with the right drivers installed it's not going to connect if it's frozen. Also it must be in msc mode to reinstall the firmware, run CHKDSK or format. I'm not sure what you can do at this point if it's fronzen other than turn it off for a little bit and try to start it again, if it doesn't boot, try reset again ... hopefully that'll work, if not I'm not sure.

Edit: Or follow what dfkt said after you try again ...
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 01-30-2010, 10:52 AM
Andyt95 Andyt95 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 34
Default

I have just tried wmp11 and it does not recognize it.
The things is, that I just got my player back in the mail from Scotland (AMP3) but as soon as I plugged it in, it broke again.
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 01-30-2010, 11:22 AM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
ABI Invaluable
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,577
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andyt95 View Post
I have just tried wmp11 and it does not recognize it. …
I fail to see what you didn’t understand about the 2 previous posts:
Quote:
Originally Posted by dfkt View Post
MTP drivers won't help you then. … …
Quote:
Originally Posted by WalkGood View Post
Even with the right drivers installed it's not going to connect … …
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andyt95 View Post
… The things is, that I just got my player back in the mail from Scotland (AMP3) but as soon as I plugged it in, it broke again.
Either they didn’t fix it correctly or something you did bricked it, probably they didn’t fix it correctly.
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:06 AM.