android
Go Back   abi>>forums > MP3 Players By Brand > Cowon iAudio > Cowon S9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-12-2010, 05:39 PM
sburck sburck is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1
Default How difficult would it be to upgrade memory capacity on an s9?

I was just wondering how hard it would be to take out the memory chip on an s9 and put in something bigger. I know you can do so with ipod HD's (with a bit of work and formatting), but the cowon is a flash player. Is it possible to open up the device and swap chips for something bigger?
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 01-12-2010, 05:57 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

That's basically impossible with flash memory. Have you seen the dozens of microscopic solder points on a memory chip? Not to mention, you can't buy fitting memory in retail.

With HDDs it's very easy to swap, like the iPod example you mentioned.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:51 PM.