android
  #1  
Old 11-28-2009, 11:34 AM
Springpojken Springpojken is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 9
Default M3U file necessary to keep ?

Hello. When I was transferring media in MSC-mode on to my clip i noticed that in my PC-folders there were together with my tracks an M3U file.
Now my question is:
Is this file of any importance what so ever ? What should i do with it ?

Thank you //
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 11-28-2009, 11:37 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

M3U files are just playlists. You can ignore/delete them.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 11-28-2009, 11:42 AM
Springpojken Springpojken is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 9
Default

Thank you for sucha quick reply. Shows the high quality of the abi forum

Edit:
When I'm at it I might as well ask about the firmware update. I dl'd from abi's forum and got a ziped vlc media. I placed in the internal memory folder but there was no update what so ever.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 11-28-2009, 11:54 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

You have to unzip the archive, and put the "m300a.bin" file for a v1 Clip or the "m30pa.bin" file for a v2 Clip in the root of your player - not the zip archive.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 11-28-2009, 11:58 AM
Springpojken Springpojken is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dfkt View Post
You have to unzip the archive, and put the "m300a.bin" file for a v1 Clip or the "m30pa.bin" file for a v2 Clip in the root of your player - not the zip archive.
I unpacked the file. And put it in. The root directory by definition is the highest folder in an hierarchy so i take it it is the internal memory folder. And that's where i put the m300a.bin (which shows itself as an mediafile by having the vlc cone as filepicture btw"
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 11-28-2009, 12:06 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

VLC sure registered itself with the wrong file suffix there, but that doesn't matter (VLC thinks it's a subtitle file, I assume).

Only thing I could think of is that you have a v2 Clip instead of a v1. Check your installed firmware in the Clip's system info settings. If the firmware version starts with 1.xx.xx it's a v1, if it starts with 2.xx.xx it's a v2.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 11-28-2009, 01:06 PM
Springpojken Springpojken is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 9
Default

I thought so to but i checked the Syst Settings ----> Info and it's currently at V 01.01.05F so that would be a V1 clip right ?
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 11-28-2009, 01:07 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

ROFL! It's a Clip+, not a Clip - those are quite different things. There is no updated firmware for the Clip+ available yet.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 11-28-2009, 01:09 PM
Springpojken Springpojken is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 9
Default

Guess that explains it then
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:09 AM.