android
  #381  
Old 10-11-2009, 10:50 AM
Spy king Spy king is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 28
Default

Hey,

I have been using Rb on my 8gig fuze for couple of months now.. I have recently started noticing sudden LCD glitches ( the entire screen gets all dizzy for a flash )..

just wanted to ask if this was a known issue?? tried looking over at the RB forums, but could not get to much information..
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #382  
Old 10-11-2009, 10:51 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Did you check if that happens with the stock firmware too?
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #383  
Old 10-11-2009, 11:55 AM
Spy king Spy king is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 28
Default

yep.. It does not happen with stock firmware(.26) Only with RB...

Could it be the theme? (using Xl-fuze) Shall check tomorrow with a diff theme and see if it still occurs..
Reply With Quote

  #384  
Old 10-11-2009, 01:36 PM
epithetless's Avatar
epithetless epithetless is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, Mass
Posts: 1,615
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spy king View Post
Hey,

I have been using Rb on my 8gig fuze for couple of months now.. I have recently started noticing sudden LCD glitches ( the entire screen gets all dizzy for a flash )..

just wanted to ask if this was a known issue?? tried looking over at the RB forums, but could not get to much information..
This is a known bug related to the fact that the button-reading and display-writing functions are being shared by the same set of data pins. I asked about it on the Rockbox forums the other week, and this was the response:

Quote:
Originally Posted by kugel.
Quote:
Originally Posted by epithetless
Quote:
Originally Posted by saratoga
Its really easy to see in mpegplayer on my Fuze.
Okay, so it sounds like some kinks in the display still need to be worked out. Glad it's not just my unit!
http://www.rockbox.org/tracker/task/10603 fixes that. The problem is that the hold button can't be read for some reason.
It seems the above patch (FS#10603) has gone through various changes since that post, but it still has problems that prevent it from being committed.
__________________
Rockbox Themes:
Sansa Fuze: XL Fuzed // Sansa Clip/Clip+: Cliplined
Reply With Quote

  #385  
Old 10-11-2009, 04:16 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,627
Default

That fix will probably go in shortly.
Reply With Quote

  #386  
Old 10-12-2009, 08:47 AM
Spy king Spy king is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 28
Default

I just read that after posting here.. I shall wait for the patch to get committed..
Thanks for the heads up!
Reply With Quote

  #387  
Old 10-13-2009, 04:19 PM
WesFX WesFX is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 40
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dfkt View Post
Not that it's recommended for most applications, but Rockbox can overdrive the Fuze's amp to ca. twice the perceived volume level. For Rockbox, volume level 0(dB) is the amp's headroom (should be the same as the stock firmware's maximum), and +6(dB)... goes to 11. Of course you'll get increased distortion that way.
Ah. Thanks for the info.
Reply With Quote

  #388  
Old 10-13-2009, 08:38 PM
Goggles's Avatar
Goggles Goggles is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Mississauga, ON
Posts: 142
Default

I actually think the lcd glitch is pretty cool...
Reply With Quote

  #389  
Old 10-18-2009, 02:15 PM
Charger Charger is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 103
Default

Is there some kind of an alarm? I heard there was, but I can't find it.
Reply With Quote

  #390  
Old 10-18-2009, 03:33 PM
skip252 skip252 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5,356
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Charger View Post
Is there some kind of an alarm? I heard there was, but I can't find it.
There's a Sleep Timer: Menu> System> Time and Date> Sleep Timer. No alarm AFAIK.
Reply With Quote

  #391  
Old 11-01-2009, 01:16 PM
funman funman is offline
Rockbox Developer
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 161
Default

Just to not let the thread die and let you know that recording now works (there are still some problems so it's still a patch not in SVN on FS#10371

Today I could record my voice and the FM, big thanks to Fred Bauer who came to help on this.

rockbox on Fuze is not dead !
Reply With Quote

  #392  
Old 11-01-2009, 01:18 PM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by funman View Post
Just to not let the thread die and let you know that recording now works (there are still some problems so it's still a patch not in SVN on FS#10371

Today I could record my voice and the FM, big thanks to Fred Bauer who came to help on this.

rockbox on Fuze is not dead !
Thanks for the update and continued support funman
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #393  
Old 11-04-2009, 08:04 AM
oobergeek's Avatar
oobergeek oobergeek is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Canada eh.
Posts: 169
Default

I'd like to make an updated Rockbox bootloader for the new Fuze firmware 1.02.28. Having absolutely NO knowledge on how to do this, I was wondering if anyone who's in the know could point me to some info on how to do this?. Thanks.
Reply With Quote

  #394  
Old 11-04-2009, 08:08 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oobergeek View Post
I'd like to make an updated Rockbox bootloader for the new Fuze firmware 1.02.28. Having absolutely NO knowledge on how to do this, I was wondering if anyone who's in the know could point me to some info on how to do this?. Thanks.
Rockbox Utility supports the Fuze already, that's the easy way to get a fresh bootloader:
http://www.rockbox.org/wiki/SansaAMS...nstable_e200v2

If you really want to do it manually:
http://www.rockbox.org/wiki/SimpleGuideToCompiling
http://www.rockbox.org/wiki/HowToCompile
http://www.rockbox.org/wiki/VMwareDevelopmentPlatform
etc.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #395  
Old 11-04-2009, 10:52 AM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,627
Default

http://svn.rockbox.org/viewvc.cgi?vi...revision=23067

That revision adds support for patching 1.02.28, so you'll need something at least as new as Oct 10, which rules out the current release of rbutil (Sept. 20).

So you'll either need to compile rbutil or compile mkamsboot from r23067 or later. I recommend mkamsboot, its easier and doesn't require the actual rockbox build tools to be setup, just a POSIX environment (linux, macos, windows+cygwin).
Reply With Quote

  #396  
Old 11-04-2009, 08:02 PM
oobergeek's Avatar
oobergeek oobergeek is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Canada eh.
Posts: 169
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dfkt View Post
Rockbox Utility supports the Fuze already, that's the easy way to get a fresh bootloader:
http://www.rockbox.org/wiki/SansaAMS...nstable_e200v2

If you really want to do it manually:
http://www.rockbox.org/wiki/SimpleGuideToCompiling
http://www.rockbox.org/wiki/HowToCompile
http://www.rockbox.org/wiki/VMwareDevelopmentPlatform
etc.
I tried using Rockbox Utility but got an error when trying to load (make) the new bootloader..."Official firmware unknown. Please try another version". Since I'm not a linux user Saratoga's advice is not really doable. I guess I'll either wait for an updated bootloader or downgrade the firmware back to .26 and reinstall Rockbox again. Thanks for the info dfkt!

Last edited by oobergeek; 11-04-2009 at 08:13 PM. Reason: spelling
Reply With Quote

  #397  
Old 11-05-2009, 09:19 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Well, there's a fully set up VMWare Debian install provided on the Rockbox site. You could simply use that on Windows to compile your stuff. I do the same, with Xubuntu in VMWare.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #398  
Old 11-05-2009, 02:59 PM
boechat's Avatar
boechat boechat is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Brazil
Posts: 61
Default

i bought a fuze with version V01.01.11a
it'sRockboxeable?
__________________
Samsung Galaxy SIII + 64Gb MicroSDHC
Sandisk Sansa Clip Plus 4Gb + 16Gb MicroSDHC
Apple iPod Nano 2nd Gen 8Gb Red Edition
Koss Porta Pro 25th Anniversary Edition
Sennheiser MX471
Reply With Quote

  #399  
Old 11-05-2009, 03:18 PM
oobergeek's Avatar
oobergeek oobergeek is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Canada eh.
Posts: 169
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by boechat View Post
i bought a fuze with version V01.01.11a
it'sRockboxeable?
yes
Reply With Quote

  #400  
Old 11-05-2009, 03:31 PM
boechat's Avatar
boechat boechat is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Brazil
Posts: 61
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oobergeek View Post
yes
thanks.
phew
__________________
Samsung Galaxy SIII + 64Gb MicroSDHC
Sandisk Sansa Clip Plus 4Gb + 16Gb MicroSDHC
Apple iPod Nano 2nd Gen 8Gb Red Edition
Koss Porta Pro 25th Anniversary Edition
Sennheiser MX471
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:51 AM.