Go Back   abi>>forums > MP3 Players By Brand > Samsung > Samsung P3 > Samsung P3 Firmware

Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-24-2009, 06:40 AM
belas2 belas2 is offline
Junior Member
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 33
Unhappy Can't seem to get my firmware to update what am I doing wrong?

I know this question is posed, and answered all the time but for some reason its not working for me!
I have the 2.16 US firmware and I downloaded the new 2.20 firmware, extracted the BIN file and just put it in the main folder where you can see all the sub folders ect. Ive done it several times and the BIN file is no longer there but it still says its 2.16
Do I need to install 2.18 first to get 2.20?
Also i heard 2.20 fixes sketch pad!?
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

Old 09-24-2009, 10:14 AM
ashiiya ashiiya is offline
Junior Member
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: right across the street
Posts: 58

I tried updating to 2.20 and no, it doesn't fix sketch.....I wish it did T^T

I don't know if you have to put 2.18 in first, but you can try that. You said that you put it in the main folder, right? Then it shouldn't be a problem o.o try putting in 2.18 first (although I think 2.18 is better than 2.20).
Everything has its pros and cons and therefore nothing is perfect.
Hate the world, love the Earth.
"Normal" is simply an absurd word created by societies to constitute what they think is acceptable or not.
Reply With Quote

Old 09-27-2009, 02:19 AM
belas2 belas2 is offline
Junior Member
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 33
Default LOL

god i love it when more recent firmware comes out for something and its somehow worse than and older one, like they somehow detracted from an older piece of firmware lol, just makes so much sense.
thanks thou ill do 2.18
Reply With Quote

Old 09-27-2009, 02:39 AM
Crimson Raven's Avatar
Crimson Raven Crimson Raven is offline
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 191

I can't tell a difference between the two version, honestly. But that's just me...

(If you want it to be 2.20, like I have, just try DLing 2.18, then 2.20, and if that doesn't work...well, I don't know)
It doesn't matter who is wrong and who is right.
Reply With Quote

Old 09-28-2009, 04:42 AM
garyk's Avatar
garyk garyk is offline
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Northern Ireland, UK
Posts: 126

you dont have to use 2.18 first. What is the file name of the .bin file after extraction? It should be YPP3.BIN i believe. if anything else it wont work. Ive used one before which had a different name for some reason and simply needed renamed.
Without music life would be a mistake.
~Friedrich Wilhelm Nietzsche~
Reply With Quote

Old 10-05-2009, 09:10 PM
electron's Avatar
electron electron is offline
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: I would like to know too.
Posts: 828

well, some people (such as myself) got a major speed boast in the latest firmware.
and yes, the file name should be YPP3.bin...
The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits. - Albert Einstein
check out my P3 group here!
Thanks for making my P3 group the largest non-contest group on ABi!
Reply With Quote

Old 10-17-2009, 04:00 PM
itsmusic itsmusic is offline
Junior Member
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: My computer.
Posts: 3

I still have 2.14 and it doesn't say I have another firmware update. What am I doing wrong??
Reply With Quote


2.20, firmware, upgrade

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:28 PM.