android
  #1  
Old 08-11-2009, 02:09 PM
daa26 daa26 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 3
Default Samsung P3 volume level

I want all my songs to be at a certain volume level but I'm not sure what is the ideal target volume level.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 08-11-2009, 02:27 PM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

Try MP3Gain.
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 08-11-2009, 02:34 PM
Crimson Raven's Avatar
Crimson Raven Crimson Raven is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 191
Default

There's a "Wise Volume" option.
It makes all the songs have the same level of loudness....somehow :P
__________________
It doesn't matter who is wrong and who is right.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 08-11-2009, 02:46 PM
james09's Avatar
james09 james09 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: GA
Posts: 206
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crimson Raven View Post
There's a "Wise Volume" option.
It makes all the songs have the same level of loudness....somehow :P
Is that what it does? Cool. I have it on but all i noticed about it was that it made the little volume thing green. i'll listen for the difference though now that i know.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 08-11-2009, 03:00 PM
Crimson Raven's Avatar
Crimson Raven Crimson Raven is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 191
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by james09 View Post
Is that what it does? Cool. I have it on but all i noticed about it was that it made the little volume thing green. i'll listen for the difference though now that i know.

Yeah, if you have it on, say you're listening to a normally loud song (one that you have to keep the volume down with). With the Wise-Volume, the "loud" song, will become like any other song; true to what the volume indicator tells you.
__________________
It doesn't matter who is wrong and who is right.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 08-11-2009, 03:02 PM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crimson Raven View Post
There's a "Wise Volume" option.
It makes all the songs have the same level of loudness....somehow :P
Sweet! I don't think my Q2 has that.....there's another reason to aspire to the P3.

Edit: well, that ^^ was debunked, but I can still aspire to the P3's volume rocker.
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520

Last edited by Marvin the Martian; 08-11-2009 at 04:07 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 08-11-2009, 03:57 PM
garyk's Avatar
garyk garyk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Northern Ireland, UK
Posts: 126
Default

Wise volume doesnt set all the tracks to the same volume. If you have your volume set at a high level say when using the speaker and you insert your headphones it will automatically drop your volume to half level to protect your ears. Its in the manual.
__________________
Without music life would be a mistake.
~Friedrich Wilhelm Nietzsche~
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 08-11-2009, 04:03 PM
Crimson Raven's Avatar
Crimson Raven Crimson Raven is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 191
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by garyk View Post
Wise volume doesnt set all the tracks to the same volume. If you have your volume set at a high level say when using the speaker and you insert your headphones it will automatically drop your volume to half level to protect your ears. Its in the manual.
Hm? I guess I have been cheated and lied to! (Faux anger)
But seriously, I heard somewhere 'round here that it makes all the songs have the same volume, whether they be loud or quiet normally. Guess that was wrong
__________________
It doesn't matter who is wrong and who is right.
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 08-11-2009, 04:11 PM
Dreamnine Dreamnine is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Scotland, EU
Posts: 3,225
Default

That's what I thought originally, but it's as garyk says.
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 08-11-2009, 05:15 PM
triarii117's Avatar
triarii117 triarii117 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 554
Default

I never use any of those "volume limiter" things. Chew up battery life...
__________________
PMPs: Cowon J3, Samsung P3(touchscreen problems), Creative Zen (4GB, black)
Headphones: Panasonic RP-HTX7, Philips, JVC Marshmallow IEMS (why not)
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 08-11-2009, 05:34 PM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by triarii117 View Post
I never use any of those "volume limiter" things. Chew up battery life...
Doesn't seem to on my Zen Mozaic, fwiw. But that's nowhere near the player a Samsung is.
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 08-11-2009, 06:57 PM
james09's Avatar
james09 james09 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: GA
Posts: 206
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by garyk View Post
Wise volume doesnt set all the tracks to the same volume. If you have your volume set at a high level say when using the speaker and you insert your headphones it will automatically drop your volume to half level to protect your ears. Its in the manual.
I think he meant the volume of the actual song. Some songs are louder than others at the same volume level. But yea the volume always resets back to half, if it was higher, whenever you change the output.
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 08-11-2009, 07:11 PM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

This is why I recommended mp3Gain in my first post, it does a statistical analysis to determine how loud the file actually sounds to the human ear. Also, the changes MP3Gain makes are completely lossless, there is no quality lost in the change because the program adjusts the mp3 file directly, without decoding and re-encoding, thus you can undo it if you wish. You can change the volume as many times as you want and the mp3 will sound just as good (or just as bad) as it did before you started.
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 08-11-2009, 07:26 PM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WalkGood View Post
This is why I recommended mp3Gain in my first post, it does a statistical analysis to determine how loud the file actually sounds to the human ear. Also, the changes MP3Gain makes are completely lossless, there is no quality lost in the change because the program adjusts the mp3 file directly, without decoding and re-encoding, thus you can undo it if you wish. You can change the volume as many times as you want and the mp3 will sound just as good (or just as bad) as it did before you started.
Some of us are too lazy for that
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

Reply

Tags
sound, sound quality

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:43 AM.