android
  #241  
Old 07-21-2009, 08:27 PM
DPyro DPyro is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 29
Default

I just compiled a fresh copy of RB and it won't load...don't think it's anything I've done wrong as I've compiled RB before including installing the bootloader from scratch. Just seems weird that it doesn't load...Old version works OK.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #242  
Old 07-24-2009, 04:36 PM
funman funman is offline
Rockbox Developer
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 161
Default

rockbox has still problems with internal storage / µSD filesystem corruption so i would suggest checking your fuze filesystem
Reply With Quote

  #243  
Old 07-25-2009, 09:40 PM
DPyro DPyro is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 29
Default

Ok, I tried formatting and re-syncing my music but it still freezes at the Rockbox logo.

Boot Ver. unknown-090418

If I hold power down I get the following:
Loading firmware
Length: 7CFF0
Checksum: 321D574
Model name: fuze
Loading rockbox.sansa
Sum: 321D574
Executing

Of course if I replace the new rockbox.sansa with the old it boots up fine.
Reply With Quote

  #244  
Old 07-27-2009, 06:13 AM
g3fuzer g3fuzer is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Moscow
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DPyro View Post
Ok, I tried formatting and re-syncing my music but it still freezes at the Rockbox logo.

Boot Ver. unknown-090418

Of course if I replace the new rockbox.sansa with the old it boots up fine.
It seems that you haven't installed the latest bootloader for Fuze. You need to get it from rockbox from there http://forums.rockbox.org/index.php?topic=22137.105
Reply With Quote

  #245  
Old 07-28-2009, 01:29 PM
Deezlink Deezlink is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 25
Default

I hate to ask this,

but what can the current rockbox do for this? can it listen to music and scrobble last.fm plays because thats all I really want.
Reply With Quote

  #246  
Old 07-28-2009, 01:57 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deezlink View Post
I hate to ask this,

but what can the current rockbox do for this? can it listen to music and scrobble last.fm plays because thats all I really want.
http://www.rockbox.org/twiki/bin/view/Main/WhyRockbox
http://www.rockbox.org/twiki/bin/view/Main/LastFMLog
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #247  
Old 07-30-2009, 04:15 AM
Kenaneu Kenaneu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 124
Default

Just a big thanks to everyone contributing their experiences to this thread! I have been a long time e200 rockboxer, but after discovering the sound quality of the Clip, I sought out a v1 Fuze for some rockbox goodness. Boy am I glad I did!

I seriously have not heard a better sounding player - especially for the $60 price point of the 8gb refurb v1! The Fuze sounded good with the old firmware, but hot damn - with a few minutes of rockbox EQ, proper precut, etc., I am totally blown away.

Now I can't wait for full USB support, etc.!

Cheers to the devs and all of us willing guinea pigs!
Reply With Quote

  #248  
Old 08-01-2009, 01:42 AM
DPyro DPyro is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 29
Default

Ok, think making the new bootloader fixed it. Too tired right now to compile the latest daily build so I'll post back later tomorrow.
Reply With Quote

  #249  
Old 08-02-2009, 09:04 PM
samueljesusfreak's Avatar
samueljesusfreak samueljesusfreak is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Ellendale, North Dakota
Posts: 758
Default

THANK YOU to all the developers and very early testers of this port.. I just recieved my v1 Fuze, played with the OF for 5 minutes, and Rockbox called my name.. Installed without a single problem, and I have to say I am more than impressed! Been playing with it for a few hours, and all the features I planned on using are suiting me very well. After messing with the EQ on rockbox, I can't even call the custom EQ in the OF an eq at all... It's more like... an unequalizer. Thank you, developers. THANK YOU!
__________________
Player: Generic Philips GoGear 4GB(Sounds decent though)
Headphones: Koss KSC-75 and JVC Marshmallow
Wow I'm poor..
Reply With Quote

  #250  
Old 08-02-2009, 09:59 PM
sansaguy's Avatar
sansaguy sansaguy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 675
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by samueljesusfreak View Post
THANK YOU to all the developers and very early testers of this port.. I just recieved my v1 Fuze, played with the OF for 5 minutes, and Rockbox called my name.. Installed without a single problem, and I have to say I am more than impressed! Been playing with it for a few hours, and all the features I planned on using are suiting me very well. After messing with the EQ on rockbox, I can't even call the custom EQ in the OF an eq at all... It's more like... an unequalizer. Thank you, developers. THANK YOU!
ok...THAT'S IT!..."LUCILLE" is getting Rockboxed!
__________________
How I Roll:
Sansa e250v1 Rockboxed refurb
16GB microSDHC
Sansa e260v1 Rockboxed 8GB microsdhc
Sansa Fuze 8GB 16GB microSDHC
Reply With Quote

  #251  
Old 08-02-2009, 10:15 PM
Kenaneu Kenaneu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 124
Default

Do it!
Reply With Quote

  #252  
Old 08-02-2009, 10:17 PM
epithetless's Avatar
epithetless epithetless is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, Mass
Posts: 1,609
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sansaguy View Post
ok...THAT'S IT!..."LUCILLE" is getting Rockboxed!
She will love you for it!





(Unless it kills her. )
Reply With Quote

  #253  
Old 08-04-2009, 05:37 AM
spartacus5380 spartacus5380 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sansaguy View Post
ok...THAT'S IT!..."LUCILLE" is getting Rockboxed!
Haven't named mine yet, but I had a similar push to RB it.

I followed this guide and it got it working just fine once I formatted my Fuze through the OF settings.

Most features seem to work, but I'd like to start tweaking with some themes and games. I'm having no luck there because when I plug in to my PC, the device only shows the default folders (not the .rockbox folder). Any suggestions for gaining access to my .rockbox folder?

Also, I have a nice set of Sennheiser HD595's and reasonably good ears, but I'm very inexperienced in setting EQs. Any suggestions for good settings?

I'm looking forward to the full release when RB will be even easier to install...
Reply With Quote

  #254  
Old 08-04-2009, 07:11 AM
Nikolaus Nikolaus is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Cologne, Germany
Posts: 77
Default

Try to enable the option to see hidden folders in your file browser.
Reply With Quote

  #255  
Old 08-04-2009, 10:43 AM
sovesky's Avatar
sovesky sovesky is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Posts: 132
Default

"ctrl + H" if you're on linux
__________________
Players: Rockboxed Sansa Fuze 8GB+8GB, Sony D-NE520
Monitors: Brainwavz M2 Head Direct RE0, JVC RX-700, Denon AH-C551, Sennheiser HD 477
Reply With Quote

  #256  
Old 08-04-2009, 12:46 PM
spartacus5380 spartacus5380 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sovesky View Post
"ctrl + H" if you're on linux
I wish I was working in linux Sadly USB isn't working on my VirtualBox Ubuntu...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nikolaus View Post
Try to enable the option to see hidden folders in your file browser.
Thanks for the suggestion, but after reading some threads I had tried this already. Both hidden folders and hidden files are enabled (and showing up in other areas), but still no luck on my Fuze. Could it be a MTP/MSC issue as one user mentions in this thread? I'm working in 64bit Vista Home *hangs head in shame* btw.
Reply With Quote

  #257  
Old 08-04-2009, 12:55 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,582
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spartacus5380 View Post
Both hidden folders and hidden files are enabled (and showing up in other areas), but still no luck on my Fuze. Could it be a MTP/MSC issue as one user mentions in this thread? I'm working in 64bit Vista Home *hangs head in shame* btw.
MSC is needed to install rockbox, so if you got it installed you're running MSC. If hidden files don't show up, I'd assume its because you haven't really enabled showing them. Nothing else should be required.
Reply With Quote

  #258  
Old 08-04-2009, 01:40 PM
spartacus5380 spartacus5380 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by saratoga View Post
MSC is needed to install rockbox, so if you got it installed you're running MSC. If hidden files don't show up, I'd assume its because you haven't really enabled showing them. Nothing else should be required.
I'll try mounting on a Linux box later today and see if anything shows. In Windows Vista however, I don't know anything to change besides Folder Options -> View -> "Show hidden files and folders" and disable "Hide protected operating system files". Is there another option somewhere to show hidden folders/files on an external device?

Thanks for your help - I really appreciate it!

EDIT: Problem solved. Apparently formatting my Fuze also changed the file mode to Auto instead of MSC. Once I changed it back to MSC in the original firmware, all the regular Rockbox folders showed up and theme/game addons are working nicely.

Whoohoo for a working RB Fuze! I'm using that nice XL Fuzed theme posted earlier and loving it

Last edited by spartacus5380; 08-04-2009 at 05:52 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #259  
Old 08-09-2009, 03:15 PM
Charger Charger is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 103
Default

So Rockboxed for Fuze isn't a beta now?

You should update the first post with download links and any info that would be helpful to those who would like to install Rockboxed.
Reply With Quote

  #260  
Old 08-09-2009, 03:53 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Charger View Post
So Rockboxed for Fuze isn't a beta now?
It still isn't a supported target. Status info here: http://www.rockbox.org/twiki/bin/view/Main/SansaAMS
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:07 AM.