android
  #1  
Old 06-10-2009, 01:02 AM
mattbatt's Avatar
mattbatt mattbatt is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Orlando FL
Posts: 55
Default Dissable the record button

How can I dissable the record button in Rockbox while I'm playing back or re-map it to another function? or make it so that you have to hold down the record button for 5 seconds before it will go into record mode?
Thanks
I would also like to access my podcasts folder from the top menu but that is a different issue for a different post.
__________________
Sandisk Sansa Clip+ 4GB
Sandisk Sansa e260 4GB
iRiver T30 1gB MSD
Zune 30GB (white-unfortunately)
Sennheiser CX300 and CXL400 lanyard headphones
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 06-20-2009, 11:37 PM
mattbatt's Avatar
mattbatt mattbatt is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Orlando FL
Posts: 55
Default

anyone have any ideas?
__________________
Sandisk Sansa Clip+ 4GB
Sandisk Sansa e260 4GB
iRiver T30 1gB MSD
Zune 30GB (white-unfortunately)
Sennheiser CX300 and CXL400 lanyard headphones
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 06-21-2009, 05:56 AM
Llorean Llorean is offline
Rockbox Developer
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 397
Default

Edit the source code, compile a personally modified build.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 06-21-2009, 07:51 AM
BarryG BarryG is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 29
Default

I was just going to post the exact same question. The single big pita I have is accidentally setting off recordings and no GUI support to quickly stop/delete the garbage.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 06-22-2009, 01:53 AM
epithetless's Avatar
epithetless epithetless is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, Mass
Posts: 1,617
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryG View Post
I was just going to post the exact same question. The single big pita I have is accidentally setting off recordings and no GUI support to quickly stop/delete the garbage.
Well, your single solution is in the post above yours.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 07-12-2009, 01:20 AM
ecarlson ecarlson is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sterling, VA
Posts: 44
Default

I too wish there was a menu option to disable the record button or to change its function to something less intrusive. It seems like an obvious and very useful feature. Now we just have to find a Rockbox developer who also thinks it is a good idea and is willing to add it, or become Rockbox developers ourselves.

I'm actually surprised that Rockbox doesn't store button functions in an editable config file that gets read at startup. Maybe there's some technical reason that that hasn't been done.
__________________
- Eric, http://www.invisiblerobot.com/
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 07-17-2009, 07:49 PM
lakemurray lakemurray is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Llorean View Post
Edit the source code, compile a personally modified build.
Whenever you do post it for the rest of us. That was my favorite patch on the other builds. Record is much less usefull than one button insert.
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 07-17-2009, 08:03 PM
epithetless's Avatar
epithetless epithetless is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, Mass
Posts: 1,617
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lakemurray View Post
Whenever you do post it for the rest of us. That was my favorite patch on the other builds. Record is much less usefull than one button insert.
Uh, you do realize Llorean was giving instructions, not volunteering to do the work himself...right?
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 07-21-2009, 09:49 PM
lakemurray lakemurray is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by epithetless View Post
Uh, you do realize Llorean was giving instructions, not volunteering to do the work himself...right?
Yeah I know. I know he does not really like the patch.
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 07-21-2009, 10:07 PM
epithetless's Avatar
epithetless epithetless is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, Mass
Posts: 1,617
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lakemurray View Post
Yeah I know. I know he does not really like the patch.
Okay, gotcha. I missed the tone of your last post.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:33 AM.