android
  #1  
Old 03-22-2009, 06:33 AM
TanKeRa_bg's Avatar
TanKeRa_bg TanKeRa_bg is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 53
Default converter for the P3

Hi , I'm new but I have been reading this forum for months now . I'm from Bulgaria and I intend buying a P3 even though I'm not quite sure if it si going to get ot our market . But that's why there are online stores . But enough about that . I suppose there is a similar thread in the P2 forum but I thnik it should be one here . I want to ask what converter do you use to convert your files for your P3
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 03-22-2009, 06:55 AM
Dreamnine Dreamnine is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Scotland, EU
Posts: 3,225
Default

Hi. The P3 doesn't need a converter with the latest firmware. It plays files natively with drag and drop. There may be a few formats it won't play, but I haven't found any.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 03-22-2009, 12:35 PM
TanKeRa_bg's Avatar
TanKeRa_bg TanKeRa_bg is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 53
Cool

Yeah , I know that , but I read somewhere that unconverted videos consume more batery . In addition I think that the converted vidoes are a lot smaller that the unconverted ones . I don't know if there is a difference in the quality between converted and unconverted ,but maybe someone who knows can tell me . And even if I use unconverted videos I still don't know which video type is best looking on the P3 so that's a question as well . Thanks in advance
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 03-22-2009, 03:09 PM
Detroit's Avatar
Detroit Detroit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: IN
Posts: 184
Default

I have been using MediaCoder's "P2 Extension/Plug-In" to easily convert videos for my P2.
http://mediacoder.sourceforge.net/download.htm
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 03-23-2009, 03:07 AM
TanKeRa_bg's Avatar
TanKeRa_bg TanKeRa_bg is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 53
Cool

thank you ! I guess I'll use MediaCoder
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 03-23-2009, 11:37 AM
mattconnect mattconnect is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 34
Default

Yes, the files converted are smaller by about 50% in some cases.. it becomes SVI which probably wont play on your PC (without emodio.. ?) but quality is pretty good. Im happy.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 04-28-2009, 02:33 AM
alexnikle's Avatar
alexnikle alexnikle is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3
Default

i am using ***** free mp4 converter, it is good i think. but which do you think is better, mp4 or avi?
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 06-14-2009, 01:56 AM
taweko taweko is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexnikle View Post
i am using ***** free mp4 converter, it is good i think. but which do you think is better, mp4 or avi?
I use mp4 mostly because i'm used to it but they both seem the same to me on the p3, but i'm not very observant.

The best converter for all around anything is format factory, it's the greatest all in one converter i've ever used and it's all i need (with no money spent =P) http://www.formatoz.com


edit: aw crap just noticed how old this thread is xD sorry for bumping!
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 06-14-2009, 11:53 AM
TomCat39's Avatar
TomCat39 TomCat39 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 406
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by taweko View Post
I use mp4 mostly because i'm used to it but they both seem the same to me on the p3, but i'm not very observant.

The best converter for all around anything is format factory, it's the greatest all in one converter i've ever used and it's all i need (with no money spent =P) http://www.formatoz.com


edit: aw crap just noticed how old this thread is xD sorry for bumping!
Have you ever tried "Super"? It's what I have used for all formats including 3gp and 3g2 cell phone formats.

It's touted as the video converter that does what the pay for converters can't.
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 06-14-2009, 12:00 PM
enigmasam enigmasam is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 7
Default

I use mediacoder for my P2 too. My newly bought P3 needs no conversion. But just to save space, I use the same codecs. TO SVI. It plays just as well on both players. I play it on my PC using VLC player. Pic quality falls on the PC though because of the resolution conversion.
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 06-19-2009, 07:30 AM
zipper85 zipper85 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 16
Default

I think that I'm doing something wrong, when I convert a movie into AVI or MPEG4, the P3 tells me that this format is not supported...

I can't copy the files into the video file. Only WMV is working... I thought that it also supports AVI and MPEG4.
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 06-19-2009, 07:57 AM
Dreamnine Dreamnine is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Scotland, EU
Posts: 3,225
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zipper85 View Post
I think that I'm doing something wrong, when I convert a movie into AVI or MPEG4, the P3 tells me that this format is not supported...

I can't copy the files into the video file. Only WMV is working... I thought that it also supports AVI and MPEG4.
You may get that message- but the files still play- h264 has worked since 2.07 firmware update.
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 06-19-2009, 11:20 AM
zipper85 zipper85 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 16
Default

No, it doesn't because I can't even drag and drop them into my player, it refuses all the time because the format seems not to be supportet... I tried Mediacoder and Format Factory, I got the same problem with both converters.
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 06-21-2009, 12:03 AM
TomCat39's Avatar
TomCat39 TomCat39 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 406
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zipper85 View Post
No, it doesn't because I can't even drag and drop them into my player, it refuses all the time because the format seems not to be supportet... I tried Mediacoder and Format Factory, I got the same problem with both converters.
You need to change your setting from MTP to UMS.

Then you won't get any "format error" messages when dragging and dropping the files.

I don't know if this will help the file play, but maybe.... *shrug*
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 06-21-2009, 01:18 PM
zipper85 zipper85 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 16
Default

Yep, that solved the problem. Thank you
Reply With Quote

Reply

Tags
codec, converter, p3, samusng, video

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:02 AM.