android
  #1  
Old 01-14-2009, 12:30 AM
pcdrivers pcdrivers is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 6
Default Firmware Hacks And Mods For S30

Hey

Just been reading around about the lack of hacks etc for the S Series and how Microsoft have ended support for Windows Media Center For Portable Media Players. A quick search on Toshibas Site gives me this for the F Series

http://www.isd.toshiba.com.au/71/liv...xe&oid=1097916

Firmware Version 3!

I was just wondering whether anybody had tried flashing v3.0 f Series firmware to an S Series and if it worked or not?

Anyone got a spare S Series to try it on?

Kind Regards

Al
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 01-14-2009, 10:01 AM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,584
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pcdrivers View Post
Just been reading around about the lack of hacks etc for the S Series
What lack of hacks?

Quote:
Originally Posted by pcdrivers View Post
I was just wondering whether anybody had tried flashing v3.0 f Series firmware to an S Series and if it worked or not?
The hardware is completely different so you can't do this.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 01-14-2009, 04:59 PM
pcdrivers pcdrivers is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 6
Default

As in theres no more support etc and there are no firmware upgrades to add more functionality

Thanks for answering my question though

Looking at Rockbox now , although il probably wait until the support has finished properly for the S Series
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 01-14-2009, 05:53 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,584
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pcdrivers View Post
As in theres no more support etc and there are no firmware upgrades to add more functionality
A firmware update from Toshiba (which there actually is FYI) is not a hack. Its a firmware update.

Quote:
Originally Posted by pcdrivers View Post
Looking at Rockbox now , although il probably wait until the support has finished properly for the S Series
The only thing missing now is the manual and GUI install tools. If you're looking for hacks, hopefully these aren't a real problem for you . . .
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 01-14-2009, 11:32 PM
pcdrivers pcdrivers is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 6
Default

So , everythin else works in rockbox then?

i was reading that you cant charge a gigabeat S on Rockbox firmware and that you have to use original firmware for i t to charge?
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 01-14-2009, 11:52 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,584
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pcdrivers View Post
So , everythin else works in rockbox then?
Check the status link on the rockbox page.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 01-18-2009, 01:26 PM
roebeet's Avatar
roebeet roebeet is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 266
Default

The Rockbox S series firmware replacement is very usable, right now. The issues are that there's no easy GUI install (yet), and that the FM radio is not working, yet. If you have a bit of patience and technical savy, it's well worth it imo.
__________________
Active DAP's: Cowon D3, Sansa Clip 2GB Rockboxed, modded Gigabeat F series
Non-working / Sold DAP's: Cowon S9, Zune 30, iPod Video 30/80GB, iPod 4G, Sansa E280, Gigabeat S60, iPod Shuffle 1G
Cans: Sennheiser HD 600, Yuin PK1, Sony MDR-V6
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 03-25-2009, 11:16 AM
gitcheye gitcheye is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1
Default Rockbox directions confusing.

Quote:
Originally Posted by roebeet View Post
The Rockbox S series firmware replacement is very usable, right now. The issues are that there's no easy GUI install (yet), and that the FM radio is not working, yet. If you have a bit of patience and technical savy, it's well worth it imo.
I thought I was tech savvy but I couldn't get it figured out from the Rockbox site. Do you have any tips?
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 06-15-2009, 09:59 PM
roebeet's Avatar
roebeet roebeet is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 266
Default

Not much has changed since January, unfortunately. The Wiki page is there (http://www.rockbox.org/twiki/bin/vie...tSInstallation) but there is still work to be done before it's considered stable.

I eventually went back to my Gigabeat F, as the sound quality is superior as compared to the S series imo.
__________________
Active DAP's: Cowon D3, Sansa Clip 2GB Rockboxed, modded Gigabeat F series
Non-working / Sold DAP's: Cowon S9, Zune 30, iPod Video 30/80GB, iPod 4G, Sansa E280, Gigabeat S60, iPod Shuffle 1G
Cans: Sennheiser HD 600, Yuin PK1, Sony MDR-V6
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:55 PM.