android
  #81  
Old 05-30-2009, 04:32 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,588
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DPyro View Post
Would be nice if the controls for rockdoom where updated too. There's no way of quitting so you have to hard reset the player.
Use the home button. If that doesn't work, you're using an old build and shouldn't be reporting problems until you've updated.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #82  
Old 05-31-2009, 09:15 AM
martyg martyg is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dfkt View Post
You can always get the newest official Rockbox builds from here: http://build.rockbox.org/dist/build-fuze/rockbox.zip
Is the bootloader binary released as part of the nightly builds?
The above URL is missing the patcher (see previous post) and bootloader to be a usable package.
Reply With Quote

  #83  
Old 05-31-2009, 10:16 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

There are no auto-builds for the bootloader, but you can use the one I compile from time to time: http://anythingbutipod.com/images/fo..._fuze/rockbox/

This comes with absolutely no warranty.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #84  
Old 05-31-2009, 01:39 PM
martyg martyg is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks!

Building a Linux cross-compiler environment is nobody's idea of fun.
(Especially just for one small part) Been there, done that.

The RB developers made this part as foolproof as possible, though.
Less than an hours work, and I have my own environment set up and a load built.

I'll check it out when my $20 2G Clip refurb comes in from NewEgg.

Last edited by martyg; 05-31-2009 at 06:55 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #85  
Old 06-02-2009, 07:26 AM
Magist3r3 Magist3r3 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4
Default

I have installed Rockbox on my Fuze and it works! Awesome!!!
I am now waiting for some updates
Reply With Quote

  #86  
Old 06-02-2009, 07:56 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,588
Default

http://www.duke.edu/~mgg6/rockbox/rockbox-fuze.zip

Heres an MMU enabled build from tonight. Should give significantly improved performance over SVN, and maybe even be stable. As always, use at your own risk.
Reply With Quote

  #87  
Old 06-03-2009, 09:22 AM
epithetless's Avatar
epithetless epithetless is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, Mass
Posts: 1,609
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dfkt View Post
There are no auto-builds for the bootloader, but you can use the one I compile from time to time: http://anythingbutipod.com/images/fo..._fuze/rockbox/

This comes with absolutely no warranty.
Thanks again, dfkt!

Quote:
Originally Posted by saratoga View Post
http://www.duke.edu/~mgg6/rockbox/rockbox-fuze.zip

Heres an MMU enabled build from tonight. Should give significantly improved performance over SVN, and maybe even be stable. As always, use at your own risk.
...and thank you, saratoga!

Can't wait to get home tonight and install these at my own risk!
Reply With Quote

  #88  
Old 06-03-2009, 10:05 AM
itzdajb270 itzdajb270 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1
Default

can you send me the instructions
Reply With Quote

  #89  
Old 06-03-2009, 02:02 PM
epithetless's Avatar
epithetless epithetless is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, Mass
Posts: 1,609
Default

itzdajb270, everything you need is in the post above yours. Plug your Fuze into the computer in MSC mode, add dfkt's unzipped file to the root of the player, and disconnect. Let the firmware upgrade. Re-plug your Fuze into the computer (in MSC mode) and unzip saratoga's file to the root of the player. Disconnect, and voila! Rockboxed Fuze.

No warranty, guarantees, liability, etc....
Reply With Quote

  #90  
Old 06-03-2009, 02:34 PM
boechat's Avatar
boechat boechat is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Brazil
Posts: 61
Default

do the rockbox on fuze make you battery duration go lower?
Reply With Quote

  #91  
Old 06-03-2009, 02:44 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,588
Default

Since the current builds are barely stable enough to play music, I don't think battery life is a real concern just yet! But its probably somewhat lower then the retail firmware.
Reply With Quote

  #92  
Old 06-03-2009, 06:47 PM
MIX_MASTER_ICE MIX_MASTER_ICE is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 68
Default

This seems to work pretty well. One thing I noticed is the wheel light still comes on and flickers even though I have it set to off. I'll run this tonight while I'm at work and see how the battery responds, but kudos for the hard work on this so far.
Reply With Quote

  #93  
Old 06-03-2009, 09:39 PM
boechat's Avatar
boechat boechat is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Brazil
Posts: 61
Default

what are kudos?
Reply With Quote

  #94  
Old 06-03-2009, 09:42 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,588
Default

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kudos
Reply With Quote

  #95  
Old 06-05-2009, 07:23 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,588
Default

Updated to the latest MMU patch and SVN revision:

http://www.duke.edu/~mgg6/rockbox/rockbox-fuze.zip

This version should hopefully run at full speed and be more (completely?) stable during playback. I'd be interested in knowing if/how it crashes.
Reply With Quote

  #96  
Old 06-06-2009, 01:13 AM
Spy king Spy king is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 28
Default

Hey,
Newbie here, so bear with me!
Small doubt..
The link above, it's not the boot loader right, so even if i use dfkt's compiled bootloader ( that was before the 8gig bug was fixed), and then use Saratoga's file, I will have a completely updated version of rockbox on my 8gig fuze?

Keen to try this out

Tks!
Reply With Quote

  #97  
Old 06-06-2009, 02:39 AM
agalloch agalloch is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 29
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by saratoga View Post
Updated to the latest MMU patch and SVN revision:

http://www.duke.edu/~mgg6/rockbox/rockbox-fuze.zip

This version should hopefully run at full speed and be more (completely?) stable during playback. I'd be interested in knowing if/how it crashes.
I compiled a build thursday night with mmu and everything runs much smoother. Audio (128 WMA CBR & WMA VBR 98(~350kbps)) doesnt have spordic cpu usage & it now stays at 62mhz during playback. Video stays consistent at ~27fps using the sample. It seems like the battery lasts much longer too.

EDIT: It has not crashed on me yet and the runtime with the build is 29hrs 50m.
Reply With Quote

  #98  
Old 06-06-2009, 06:51 AM
Shur Shur is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 5
Default

Am I able to scrobble songs to last.fm from my fuze with rockbox?
And what are the other functions of rockbox?
Thanks.
Reply With Quote

  #99  
Old 06-06-2009, 06:59 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shur View Post
Am I able to scrobble songs to last.fm from my fuze with rockbox?
And what are the other functions of rockbox?
Thanks.
http://www.rockbox.org/twiki/bin/view/Main/WhyRockbox

http://www.rockbox.org/twiki/bin/view/Main/LastFMLog
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #100  
Old 06-06-2009, 09:12 AM
epithetless's Avatar
epithetless epithetless is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, Mass
Posts: 1,609
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spy king View Post
Hey,
Newbie here, so bear with me!
Small doubt..
The link above, it's not the boot loader right, so even if i use dfkt's compiled bootloader ( that was before the 8gig bug was fixed), and then use Saratoga's file, I will have a completely updated version of rockbox on my 8gig fuze?
Actually, dfkt's bootloader was compiled after the 8GB Fuze fix was committed to SVN, so even though it isn't to-the-minute up to date, it will be safe to use. BTW, Rockbox SVN updates happen all the time (usually several in a day), so keeping "completely updated" can be something of a task; saratoga's build should be close enough for now.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:59 AM.