android
  #1  
Old 02-24-2009, 05:55 AM
D2_KC D2_KC is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 11
Default D2 is going to get it!.....

This player kills me!

I love everything about it except the playlist support!

I have looked over the threads many many times on getting playlists to work and I just feel like I'm going round in circles.

If anyone could obligie I would just like to know exactly what I need to do to get playlists working.

I am currently running FW 2.57 and Media Monkey. I am using MSC mode as as far as I know when in MTP the D2 makes a right mess and creates loads of folders for each song in the music library? (possibly something Im doing wrong?)

I can create m3u playlists no problem but I'm guessing the D2 will not play these and needs .pla files?

Really need some help!
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 02-24-2009, 10:06 AM
D2_KC D2_KC is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 11
Default

anyone!
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 02-24-2009, 10:24 AM
samueljesusfreak's Avatar
samueljesusfreak samueljesusfreak is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Ellendale, North Dakota
Posts: 758
Default

MTP is the only one that works with playlists, if I remember correctly. I can't say I know what you might be doing wrong, but someone here might. I never tried a playlist on my D2... but someone else has been having problems here.
__________________
Player: Generic Philips GoGear 4GB(Sounds decent though)
Headphones: Koss KSC-75 and JVC Marshmallow
Wow I'm poor..
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 02-24-2009, 09:36 PM
Miyazaki's Avatar
Miyazaki Miyazaki is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: AU
Posts: 58
Default

You'll have to use MTP mode. Playlists just don't work for me otherwise. I've got one going by just transferring one I created in JRiver Media Jukebox when it is put in MTP.
__________________
Players:Sansa Clip 1gb (Black), Toshiba Gigabeat T400 (White)
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 02-24-2009, 11:55 PM
AGW AGW is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 38
Default

I know it's ridiculous to do with scores of gigs of music, but adding songs to the Dynamic Playlist in the music menu works great for me.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 03-02-2009, 07:32 AM
EddieE's Avatar
EddieE EddieE is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 507
Default

I won't use MTP, MSC is one of the key pros of the D2 and I'm not going to sacrifice it.

I use the DPL and some creative use of tag parameters (Genre and Year) to make "playlists".

That allows for a single track to be in as many as three "playlists".

I use folder browsing to find albums anyway so have no other need for ID3.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 03-02-2009, 08:25 AM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is online now
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,061
Default

I use MTP for my playlists, but it only works for me off of the main memory, NOT the sd card. I use J.River Media Center or Media Monkey for creation and transfer to my D2. I'm not a fan of drag & drop, so to each their own.
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 03-02-2009, 10:29 AM
dbpaddler dbpaddler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 216
Default

now if you could just save or rename the dpl, then we'd be talking. I don't know why OTF playlists are so hard or non-existent. Makes me miss my Rio Karma. I'd like to locate my DPL when it's plugged into the PC, rename it as the playlist I want, and then create a new dpl.
Quote:
Originally Posted by AGW View Post
I know it's ridiculous to do with scores of gigs of music, but adding songs to the Dynamic Playlist in the music menu works great for me.
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 03-02-2009, 08:11 PM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is online now
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,061
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dbpaddler View Post
now if you could just save or rename the dpl, then we'd be talking. I don't know why OTF playlists are so hard or non-existent. Makes me miss my Rio Karma. I'd like to locate my DPL when it's plugged into the PC, rename it as the playlist I want, and then create a new dpl.
I agree, as this is 1 feature I would surely love to see on my D2.
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 03-02-2009, 10:13 PM
dbpaddler dbpaddler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 216
Default

yeppers. It's funny. All this new tech, color screens, touch screens, video, wifi, bluetooth and what not; there's certain capabilities that have seemed to have gone backwards instead of forward. Playlists being one of them. Create a standard. Just one (say m3u) and make it compatible with every player and all media software. I'm at the point where I think my D2 is going back, and I'll just keep my Fuze.
Quote:
Originally Posted by The DarkSide View Post
I agree, as this is 1 feature I would surely love to see on my D2.
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 03-03-2009, 04:55 AM
D2_KC D2_KC is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The DarkSide View Post
I use MTP for my playlists, but it only works for me off of the main memory, NOT the sd card. I use J.River Media Center or Media Monkey for creation and transfer to my D2. I'm not a fan of drag & drop, so to each their own.
With the D2 in MTP does the SD card still integrate? I'm still filling up the internal memory and not yet inserted an SD card
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 03-03-2009, 04:57 AM
D2_KC D2_KC is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EddieE View Post
I won't use MTP, MSC is one of the key pros of the D2 and I'm not going to sacrifice it.

I use the DPL and some creative use of tag parameters (Genre and Year) to make "playlists".

That allows for a single track to be in as many as three "playlists".

I use folder browsing to find albums anyway so have no other need for ID3.
Hi EddieE, i am intrigued, what is the major advantage of MSC over MTP?

It just seems like a lot of hassle to be editing tags to create playlists?
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 03-03-2009, 11:31 AM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is online now
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,061
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by D2_KC View Post
With the D2 in MTP does the SD card still integrate? I'm still filling up the internal memory and not yet inserted an SD card
The sd card integration will be the same. Just no playlists off of the sd card, as usual.
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 03-07-2009, 07:40 AM
k3k1985 k3k1985 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 24
Default

Can you explain me the difference of MTP or MSC? I have mine set to MSC, but i would like to have playlist. y Computer worlks on Windows
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 03-07-2009, 10:43 AM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is online now
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,061
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by k3k1985 View Post
Can you explain me the difference of MTP or MSC? I have mine set to MSC, but i would like to have playlist. y Computer worlks on Windows
Read this thread, it'll explain the differences: http://anythingbutipod.com/forum/showthread.php?t=24468
Reply With Quote

  #16  
Old 03-24-2009, 04:33 AM
Richian's Avatar
Richian Richian is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 8
Default

I don't 'get' the need for playlists. what is wrong with arranging folders to your heart's content?
__________________
Richian

Owner: Cowon D2
Reply With Quote

  #17  
Old 03-24-2009, 08:28 AM
D2_KC D2_KC is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Richian View Post
I don't 'get' the need for playlists. what is wrong with arranging folders to your heart's content?
I have 5 different songs from 5 different albums that I want to play in a row. How do I do that without a playlist?

To be honest I really dont get why people are so against playlists on this site. There quick and easy.
Reply With Quote

  #18  
Old 05-03-2009, 11:05 AM
dj_si's Avatar
dj_si dj_si is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: London, UK
Posts: 37
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by D2_KC View Post
I have 5 different songs from 5 different albums that I want to play in a row. How do I do that without a playlist?

To be honest I really dont get why people are so against playlists on this site. There quick and easy.
I'm with you on this, D2_KC. If I regularly want to play just certain tracks from an album, or indeed any selection of particular tracks, then I don't want to mess around having to reorganise files in folders!

...and at last I've found a way to do it, for any tracks, even ones on the SD/SDHC card - see my post (#7) on this thread:

http://www.anythingbutipod.com/forum...ad.php?t=42290
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:39 PM.