android
  #1  
Old 04-10-2009, 10:12 AM
rofi rofi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 12
Default Modifying Tags

I'm using the "Mp3tag" application to modify tags in my Insignia Pilot. I notice that when I make these changes on my hard drive and then cut and paste them in using Windows Explorer, they generally come out fine, although for some reason a few (not all) OGG albums don't show up under that heading.

But my real question is about modifying tags with Mp3tag in the player itself. Almost none of the modifications got picked up by the player, irrespective of file types.

Is this normal? Is there a workaround?
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 04-10-2009, 09:06 PM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

I don't own the Insignia Pilot, but if your tag modifications are correct and none are getting picked up by your player, you need to force a db refresh if that makes sense. An example would be a format and reload tunes, but there should be another way without having to reload all your tunes.
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 04-10-2009, 10:24 PM
rofi rofi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 12
Default

Thanks for the response. I'm a little new at this, but I think I see now how the game is played. Make your modifications/additions/deletions on your hard drive and sync it over.

It seems like you should still be able to retag inside the player itself using a tag program, but apparently that doesn't fly, at least for the Pilot, according to one other comment I read off of a search.

BTW, as others have said, this is, or I guess was, a very nicely thought out and full-featured device, especially given the source. It's too bad they didn't improve the sound a bit, which ought to have been the easiest part of the deal.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 04-10-2009, 10:33 PM
rofi rofi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 12
Default

Forgot to mention that if there is still a problem after modifying the existing files by synching, then I'll do a reformat and reload as you suggested.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 04-11-2009, 03:36 AM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rofi View Post
Forgot to mention that if there is still a problem after modifying the existing files by synching, then I'll do a reformat and reload as you suggested.
I only suggested it because it will refresh the db this way, I don't know the pilot and there may be an easier way.
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 04-11-2009, 09:23 AM
epithetless's Avatar
epithetless epithetless is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, Mass
Posts: 1,615
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WalkGood View Post
I only suggested it because it will refresh the db this way, I don't know the pilot and there may be an easier way.
IIRC, the Insignia Video just needed a file added or deleted to force a database refresh upon disconnection. You could try adding an empty folder or a text file or something to see if that does it for the Pilot.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 04-11-2009, 05:56 PM
rofi rofi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 12
Default

Yes, that's what's been happening here.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:47 PM.