android
  #1  
Old 04-06-2009, 11:16 PM
jjr jjr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 170
Default FM stopped working on my D2 ( all static)

I know that the FM radio in my D2 was never a strong point of the unit and i do not use it very much but today i decided to listen for awhile and can not get anything but static.......

I'm in Chicago and the radio reception here is great so anyone have any ideays what the problem is? I tried to manually tune a vew large stations and nothing. Then I tried the auto scan, it seemed to save some stations but nothing is coming through execept static.

TIA,
jjr
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 04-08-2009, 08:47 AM
DaremoS DaremoS is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 57
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jjr View Post
I know that the FM radio in my D2 was never a strong point of the unit and i do not use it very much but today i decided to listen for awhile and can not get anything but static.......

I'm in Chicago and the radio reception here is great so anyone have any ideays what the problem is? I tried to manually tune a vew large stations and nothing. Then I tried the auto scan, it seemed to save some stations but nothing is coming through execept static.

TIA,
jjr
Is known that FM reception on a PMP is thanks to the cable connected to earphone plug.
Try using the earphone provided together with the device...
Without the earphone plugged FM won't work.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 04-08-2009, 09:07 AM
jjr jjr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 170
Default

Understood with out any ear bud or headset there would be no way to tell if it was working or not. Yes I tried the OEM earbuds as well as 3 other sets and headphones I have here. nothing works.

Contacted Cownon tech and they had me re-format the HD as well as reinstall the 2.59 firmware. That did not help either so the player on in the way back to Cowon to be repaired, FWIW the player was 8 mo old and not used very much, I hope that the rest of it holds up better.



Quote:
Originally Posted by DaremoS View Post
Is known that FM reception on a PMP is thanks to the cable connected to earphone plug.
Try using the earphone provided together with the device...
Without the earphone plugged FM won't work.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 04-08-2009, 10:31 AM
musichound musichound is offline
Off-Topic Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Staten Island, NYC
Posts: 2,058
Default

JJR, it could be you have little or no FM reception in your area. Did you try listening in a different area of the city you live in? Did you try another D2 in your area to see if the results are the same? Also, did you try elongating your headphones? They are the radio''s antenna so the longer the wire is the better the reception.
__________________
Cowon X7 160GB - iRiver H320 - IPod Classic 160GB - iPod 5.5G 80GB - Sansa Clip Plus 4GB - Original Sansa Clip 2GB
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 04-08-2009, 11:33 AM
jjr jjr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 170
Default

HEHE,
I live in CHICAGO and there are many FM stations here and even a few within a few miles from me. I never have a problem picking up anything untill now so that is not the issue.

I have tried 3 different sets of buds as well as 2 different headsets and yes with the wire extended being held over my head in different areas of my home as well as outside. The FM part of the radio is PUKKA period, I spoke with Cowon tech who said send it back for repair or replacement so away it went yesterday.





Quote:
Originally Posted by musichound View Post
JJR, it could be you have little or no FM reception in your area. Did you try listening in a different area of the city you live in? Did you try another D2 in your area to see if the results are the same? Also, did you try elongating your headphones? They are the radio''s antenna so the longer the wire is the better the reception.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 04-08-2009, 03:18 PM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,054
Default

Face fact, the guy's FM tuner has crapped out on him. I have crappy reception, he has NADA!!! Glad you sent it in for a replacement, smart move!!!
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 04-08-2009, 04:27 PM
jjr jjr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 170
Default

Thanks!
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:31 AM.