android
  #1  
Old 03-28-2009, 01:00 AM
daniel1703 daniel1703 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Singapore/Malaysia
Posts: 175
Default Problem with D2 screen



I just got my D2. The upper left part of the screen has a darker patch. =\

First cowon player and this. Duh.

Sorry for not macro-ing. I don't have a camera, only a handphone

-edit-

The patch is getting bigger and bigger

Last edited by daniel1703; 03-28-2009 at 03:33 AM.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 03-28-2009, 07:44 AM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,061
Default

Send it back for a replacement, asap!!!!
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 03-28-2009, 08:09 AM
daniel1703 daniel1703 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Singapore/Malaysia
Posts: 175
Default

Problem is I bought it in America and I'm in Singapore. Any idea what the problem might be?
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 03-28-2009, 01:56 PM
Asterix Asterix is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 9
Default

Have you tried a firmware update?
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 03-28-2009, 02:31 PM
daniel1703 daniel1703 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Singapore/Malaysia
Posts: 175
Default

Yeah I have. It seems to be a problem with the screen. The dark patch expanded and spread out. Now it's a bigger patch which isnt as dark, but still noticeable.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 03-28-2009, 03:20 PM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,061
Default

Sounds like a damaged LCD screen, so that's why I said to return it for an exchange. Otherwise, I'd contact Cowon about assistance w/getting it repaired.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 03-28-2009, 05:06 PM
abiNub abiNub is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 27
Default

It can be water under the screen?, it have happened to some people in their D2

http://iaudiophile.net/forums/showpo...2&postcount=10
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 03-28-2009, 09:25 PM
daniel1703 daniel1703 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Singapore/Malaysia
Posts: 175
Default

I don't know but the patch on my player doesn't seem like water. I pressed quite a few times on the patch but nothing much happened.

But the patch gradually expanded and the 'darkness' faded away.

Now it's less noticeable when watching videos. I'll see what I can do. Maybe I'll get my friend who studies in the states to get it repaired with the warranty.
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 03-28-2009, 09:31 PM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,577
Default

Do as The DarkSide stated, even if you have to pay for postage, it's a damaged screen :/
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 03-29-2009, 12:28 AM
daniel1703 daniel1703 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Singapore/Malaysia
Posts: 175
Default

sigh. I waited half a month for this thing to reach. I think I'll just stick to using it until I can spare the time to get it repaired under the warranty.

If I send it over now, it'll probably take a month to and fro. So much for being one of the best PMPs. :/
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 03-29-2009, 06:26 AM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,577
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daniel1703 View Post
... So much for being one of the best PMPs. :/
Hey I hear your pain, I know it sucks, but don’t blame the d2 for being damaged, that can happen with any gadget in shipping, manufacturing and slips by the checks and balances. That’s why they offer warranties.
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 03-29-2009, 07:36 AM
daniel1703 daniel1703 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Singapore/Malaysia
Posts: 175
Default

I guess I'll just live with it since it's not noticeable on videos.

Fortunately, the sound quality is awesome. But I feel my cheap live! 24 bit is doing better. Then again it might be a psychological effect because I'm used to how the soundcard sounds.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:32 PM.