android
Go Back   abi>>forums > MP3 Players By Brand > Microsoft Zune

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-06-2008, 08:45 AM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,054
Default Button Combinations for things like formatting your Zune

Zune 30



Zune 4/8/16/80/120

Press and hold the Back button and Down direction to turn Zune completely off.
Reboot, and while Zune is restarting, use the button combo's below.


This is the NEW BUTTON COMBO for deleting all contents and firmware on a Zune 4/8/16/80/120.

Credits go to Zuneboards.com for images

These instructions have been updated to correct a few errors, hope all works well.
T.DS

For Zune HD Button Combos look here

Last edited by The DarkSide; 03-19-2010 at 10:13 AM. Reason: Editing for clarification and getting rid of extra images.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 06-06-2008, 07:49 PM
Lawrence Lawrence is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,140
Default

Don't forget for the Zune 80, its you replace center with play to do the functions that include center.
__________________
lurking again.. till something good comes out
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 06-14-2008, 11:22 PM
li'l bit li'l bit is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: the states
Posts: 2
Default

Just wanted to say thank you much for posting this. have had the 8gb for awhile & didn't even know I could put it in a deep sleep. i just got the 80 & obviously that's going to help with battery life
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 06-19-2008, 01:47 AM
lceriyirri lceriyirri is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 14
Default

hopefully, i can remember them... it's back+down, not back+up

so if I press backup, would it erase the files inside? or would it just restart the zune80?
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 06-19-2008, 08:13 AM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,054
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lceriyirri View Post
hopefully, i can remember them... it's back+down, not back+up

so if I press backup, would it erase the files inside? or would it just restart the zune80?
Only restarts the Zune.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 07-25-2008, 06:43 PM
karaokegoalie's Avatar
karaokegoalie karaokegoalie is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 34
Default

I can't seem to get the "delete everything" functions to work on the Zune 30. Anyone else?
__________________
1st-gen Microsoft Zune 30gb ($80/Woot!)
Creative Zen Vision:M 30gb ($65/eBay)
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 07-25-2008, 07:46 PM
Royel91 Royel91 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York City
Posts: 111
Default

You have to press up+back at the same time to restart it first, and then when it is at the loading screen, then press the button combo you want.
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 07-26-2008, 03:07 AM
karaokegoalie's Avatar
karaokegoalie karaokegoalie is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 34
Default

Much obliged.
__________________
1st-gen Microsoft Zune 30gb ($80/Woot!)
Creative Zen Vision:M 30gb ($65/eBay)
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 11-03-2008, 12:59 AM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,054
Default

Images have been edited, and incorrect instructions removed. I tested the button combo's on my Zune 120, so I know these combo's are correct..
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 11-03-2008, 02:02 AM
jjrosaria's Avatar
jjrosaria jjrosaria is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sheepland (NZ)
Posts: 956
Default

wat will happend if u delete the firmware?
__________________
Portable Rig:
<sony a728 8Gb, Sennheiser Hd555, Ultimate Ears Metro fi 200, Koss KSC75, Sennheiser CX400, CMoy amp
-Awaiting to buy an AKG K701-
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 11-03-2008, 04:07 AM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,054
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jjrosaria View Post
wat will happend if u delete the firmware?
You need to connect the Zune to your computer, start the Zune software, and reload the firmware for the player on the device. Takes all of a few minutes. Reloading all my podcasts & videos, THAT takes awhile!!!
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 11-08-2008, 03:51 PM
Machiventa's Avatar
Machiventa Machiventa is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 886
Default

Note that you have to reboot first before using the button combos. So... Back+Up will initiate a reboot. Then as the Zune logo comes up use desired button combos.
__________________
DILLA BANGED MY WIFE
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 03-12-2009, 02:11 AM
NauticusLX NauticusLX is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 129
Default

I couldn't turn off my Zune 8gig with the key combination. Doesn't holding down the pause button turn it off?
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 03-12-2009, 03:02 PM
Royel91 Royel91 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York City
Posts: 111
Default

By holding down the pause button, you're putting it in "sleep mode". It is still using up battery (although not as much).

Turning it off will completely stop it from using up the battery. (You can tell it was turned off by seeing the boot screen.)

EDIT: Back Arrow (<-) and then pressing 'down' on d-pad should be correct for turning it off. Works for both my Zune 30 and 80. Don't know about Zune 8, but I assume it should be the same.
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 03-12-2009, 10:51 PM
Ricardo Dawkins Ricardo Dawkins is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 665
Default

it is the same combo for all zune devices.
Reply With Quote

  #16  
Old 03-13-2009, 03:02 PM
NauticusLX NauticusLX is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 129
Default

I haven't seen the boot-up screen since I first plugged it in, which suggests it's never really been turned off. None of the suggestions have worked to turned of my 8gig zune.

But I did notice that when the display is off but the device is playing, you can see a ghost image of the display if you hold it to the light very carefully. When I press pause, then press and hold it down, the music stops and there's no ghost image (let's call this State 1). Does this mean it's off? From this state, if I click the pause button it immediately displays the main menu. Does State 1 = turned off?

In order to maximize the battery life, and therefore user enjoyment, doesn't it behoove Microsoft to tell users how to turn off their Zunes? This seems like a no brainer. I have another device (the Logitech SqueezeBox internet radio device) that never turns off, by design, but it works of AC power only so battery life isn't an issue. But where battery life is an issue, as with the Zune, one has to know how to turn the thing off, right? Or am I missing something?
Reply With Quote

  #17  
Old 03-14-2009, 01:31 PM
Ricardo Dawkins Ricardo Dawkins is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 665
Default

Quote:
But I did notice that when the display is off but the device is playing, you can see a ghost image of the display if you hold it to the light very carefully.
all zune devices does this. backlight is off but LCD is still on.

Quote:
When I press pause, then press and hold it down, the music stops and there's no ghost image (let's call this State 1). Does this mean it's off?
stage: standby


BTW, Royek91 told you the actual combo for turning it off. you must press and hold this buttons until the device turn off.
Reply With Quote

  #18  
Old 03-14-2009, 01:44 PM
jkj1962 jkj1962 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 369
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NauticusLX View Post
But where battery life is an issue, as with the Zune, one has to know how to turn the thing off, right? Or am I missing something?
I have noticed with my Zune 120 that if I don't use it for a couple of days, it turns off completely, or at least as completely as it can I suppose. When I slide the lock switch, it does not "wake up", and I must press and hold a button for it come on, starting with the boot-up screen. I believe my Zune 16 does this as well. I don't know how many hours it takes for it to go from standby to "off", but it seems to be 24 or more.
Reply With Quote

  #19  
Old 03-14-2009, 02:02 PM
Ricardo Dawkins Ricardo Dawkins is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 665
Default

^^ yeaj, it turns off after 24 hours in standby.
Reply With Quote

  #20  
Old 03-16-2009, 02:41 AM
NauticusLX NauticusLX is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 129
Default

The question remains, how do I know it's turned off? the button combinations don't work.

BTW, do these web pages load slowly for you? The icons on the "reply to thread" page load about 1 per sec, which is, like, dial up speed.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:10 PM.