android
  #1  
Old 01-29-2009, 01:57 PM
jbc jbc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 291
Default V1 and V2 firmware

I just hear that there are two version of the firmware. Why are there two different versions of the firmware? I have 1.02.22A why would I need to switch versions? Can someone please fill me on the two different firmware versions.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 01-29-2009, 02:14 PM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jbc View Post
I just hear that there are two version of the firmware. Why are there two different versions of the firmware? I have 1.02.22A why would I need to switch versions? Can someone please fill me on the two different firmware versions.
You're asking a lot of questions today that you could easily find out just by looking a little harder. Asides from the search function in this site, there is always "the Google" which I used to give you a link in your Rockbox question in the other thread. But, since I am a wonderful guy....
http://www.anythingbutipod.com/forum...ad.php?t=37450
http://forums.sandisk.com/sansa/boar...thread.id=9473
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 01-29-2009, 04:12 PM
sansaguy's Avatar
sansaguy sansaguy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 675
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jbc View Post
I just hear that there are two version of the firmware. Why are there two different versions of the firmware? I have 1.02.22A why would I need to switch versions? Can someone please fill me on the two different firmware versions.
they are not 2 versions but 2 revisions of the firmware based on slight differences in hardware if I'm not mistaken. Only time will tell how they both perform. Take heart if you have a revision 1 Fuze because that's the one Rockbox is being ported to.
__________________
How I Roll:
Sansa e250v1 Rockboxed refurb
16GB microSDHC
Sansa e260v1 Rockboxed 8GB microsdhc
Sansa Fuze 8GB 16GB microSDHC
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 01-29-2009, 05:26 PM
jkj1962 jkj1962 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 369
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jbc View Post
I just hear that there are two version of the firmware.
Yes, that's true. There is the original version, the 1.xx.xx series, and a revision to the firmware, the 2.xx.xx series.

Quote:
Why are there two different versions of the firmware?
Because there was a revision of the hardware, the player itself. We don't know the difference internally. It could be that some part in the original was discontinued or had a revision from the manufacturer; it could be a part was changed for some other reason. It was stated by "Sansafix" I believe on the Sandisk Community forum that the Clip's harware/firmware revision from 1.xx.xx to 2.xx.xx was because the original didn't support more than 4GB, so it had to be revised for the 8GB version. Whether something similar is the case with the Fuze, they haven't said. Whatever the reason, 1.xx.xx series firmware wouldn't work on the revised hardware, so it had to be revised.

Quote:
I have 1.02.22A why would I need to switch versions?
First of all, you don't need to. Word from Sandisk is that there is no functional difference, both versions have all the same features. Second, you can't. The 1.xx.xx series runs only on the original hardware, which is what you have. The 2.xx.xx series runs only on the revised hardware. Third, if you try, you will most likely brick your Fuze.

Quote:
Can someone please fill me on the two different firmware versions.
Done.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 01-30-2009, 10:27 AM
jbc jbc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 291
Default

Adequately explained jkj tanx.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 01-30-2009, 11:49 AM
jkj1962 jkj1962 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 369
Default

You're welcome.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 01-30-2009, 01:31 PM
d_headshot d_headshot is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 346
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jkj1962 View Post
you will most likely brick your Fuze.
I hear that it will not most likely brick your fuze. The main thing that would happen is just that the firmware won't run when you unplug the fuze. I use the sansa updater for mine anyways so I don't have to worry about accidentally uploading wrong firmware.
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 01-30-2009, 01:37 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,608
Default

Unless they're amazingly stupid, the V2 firmware should be rejected on a V1 player as unsupported and no flashing occur. However, if you did manage to flash it (by changing the header), it would almost certainly brick a Fuze.
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 02-02-2009, 02:21 PM
jbc jbc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 291
Default

What is the current versions of Fuze firmware for V1 hardware? And where do you find the current version number?
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 02-02-2009, 02:26 PM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jbc View Post
What is the current versions of Fuze firmware for V1 hardware? And where do you find the current version number?
Look back to the 2nd post in this thread.....my response to your original question. Then, click on the second of the 2 links I supplied you there....and there you shall find the answers you seek.
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 02-02-2009, 11:01 PM
fhantazm's Avatar
fhantazm fhantazm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hampton Roads, Va.
Posts: 151
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jkj1962 View Post
It was stated by "Sansafix" I believe on the Sandisk Community forum that the Clip's harware/firmware revision from 1.xx.xx to 2.xx.xx was because the original didn't support more than 4GB, so it had to be revised for the 8GB version.
I have 2 Fuzes with the 8GB having 1.x firmware and the 4gb having 2.x firmware. This causes me to question the claim mentioned above.
__________________
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 02-03-2009, 08:15 AM
jkj1962 jkj1962 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 369
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fhantazm View Post
I have 2 Fuzes with the 8GB having 1.x firmware and the 4gb having 2.x firmware. This causes me to question the claim mentioned above.
I said that my recollection is that SansaFix on the Sansa Forums said the Clip had to be revised (a different PC board) to be able to support 8GB. He also said that all models of the Clip manufactured after that time would be 2.x, regardless of the capacity, since the revised board would accomodate the 1GB, 2GB and 4GB capacities. (There are still some 1.x models in the supply chain, so they still show up.) I mentioned the Clip's revision for higher capacity as an example of why a revision might be done. The Fuze already supported 8GB, obviously. I was inferring that a Fuze with a higher capacity, greater than 8GB, might be in the works and that might be the reason for 2.x. So far, no one has said why the Fuze was revised, hence my saying, "Whether something similar is the case with the Fuze, they haven't said."
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:41 AM.