android
  #1  
Old 01-04-2009, 08:02 PM
dougak dougak is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 15
Default Support for AAC, .M4A files

Does anyone know if there are plans to support AAC .m4a files on the Clip?

I am not talking about apple's DRMed AAC files. I am just talking about in the clear mpeg4 audio encoded files.

I would imagine if this player has the ability to decode .ogg and .flac, then it aught to have the decoding power to decode .m4a
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 01-04-2009, 11:10 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,646
Default

Theres no AAC support in the retail firmware.

Rockbox does support it though, and will be available on the clip eventually.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 01-07-2009, 11:34 PM
binaryhermit binaryhermit is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by saratoga View Post
Theres no AAC support in the retail firmware.

Rockbox does support it though, and will be available on the clip eventually.
Actually, not exactly for either part of your sentence.
AAC currently isn't built for the Clip because the Clip only has 2 MB of RAM and the AAC codec uses too much RAM.
And I'm not so sure Rockbox is actually coming for the clip.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 01-07-2009, 11:37 PM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by binaryhermit View Post
Actually, not exactly for either part of your sentence.
AAC currently isn't built for the Clip because the Clip only has 2 MB of RAM and the AAC codec uses too much RAM.
And I'm not so sure Rockbox is actually coming for the clip.
You should look at this then
http://i223.photobucket.com/albums/d...s/100_4599.jpg
http://i223.photobucket.com/albums/d...s/100_4622.jpg
http://i223.photobucket.com/albums/d...s/100_4616.jpg
http://i223.photobucket.com/albums/d...s/100_4612.jpg
Rockbox on a Clip, owned by the esteemed WalkGood
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520

Last edited by Marvin the Martian; 01-07-2009 at 11:43 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 01-08-2009, 02:31 PM
Mikerman Mikerman is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,543
Default

Note: this all is still in pre-alpha status. But, positive nonetheless, including the speed with which things are coming.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 01-08-2009, 03:27 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,646
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by binaryhermit View Post
Actually, not exactly for either part of your sentence.
Those are actually two sentences and both are exactly correct.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 01-08-2009, 04:15 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Binaryhermit, you might want to take notice of Saratoga's user title...

AAC doesn't plays as well as other codecs on my Rockboxed Clip yet, but as Saratoga said, "eventually"...
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 01-08-2009, 08:55 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,646
Default

I've been slowly rewriting the rockbox aac decoder for a while now to make it more efficient. Its not too hard to make it work on the Clip. I just haven't been motivated since the clip port isn't ready yet anyway.
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 04-13-2009, 04:30 PM
madmaxmedia madmaxmedia is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 35
Default

That's great news, thanks so much for your efforts.

My music player options are always limited due to the large number of AAC files I have (yes, iTunes.) I would love to have a Sansa Clip with AAC support.

The Clip is so popular that I imagine that Rockbox for the Clip will eventually get hammered out.
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 04-25-2009, 12:03 AM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,646
Default

I enabled AAC decoding for shorter files (still haven't figured out the weird parser issues for longer files). Of course theres still the little detail of getting rockbox itself ready for the clip . . .
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 04-25-2009, 02:36 PM
Mikerman Mikerman is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,543
Default

Thanks for the update, and congratulations on that! But as you note, sad that the port hasn't come yet, especially where things seemed to be moving so quickly early this year.
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 04-25-2009, 11:54 PM
d_headshot d_headshot is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 346
Default

Even if rockbox is supported on the clip, will it still have enough ram to support aac?
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 04-26-2009, 12:24 AM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,646
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by d_headshot View Post
Even if rockbox is supported on the clip, will it still have enough ram to support aac?
Quote:
Originally Posted by saratoga
I enabled AAC decoding for shorter files (still haven't figured out the weird parser issues for longer files).
I just explained!
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 06-04-2009, 04:23 PM
madmaxmedia madmaxmedia is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 35
Default

Hey Saratoga, how is AAC progressing for the Clip, now that people are up and running with RockBox?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 06-04-2009, 04:29 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,646
Default

The only AAC stuff I've done in the last month was a bit of optimization work which still isn't committed. It seemed a little pointless to debug parsing long files when the clip still crashes after 15 or 20 minutes of play time anyway.

Once the clip is working and I'm actually using it regularly I'll hopefully find some time.
Reply With Quote

  #16  
Old 06-04-2009, 05:14 PM
Mikerman Mikerman is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,543
Default

Thanks!
Reply With Quote

  #17  
Old 06-04-2009, 06:37 PM
madmaxmedia madmaxmedia is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 35
Default

Great, thanks for the update!
Reply With Quote

  #18  
Old 04-05-2011, 06:16 PM
m27315 m27315 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 5
Default can't play M4A files in latest Rockbox on Sansa Clip+

Quote:
Originally Posted by saratoga View Post
The only AAC stuff I've done in the last month was a bit of optimization work which still isn't committed. It seemed a little pointless to debug parsing long files when the clip still crashes after 15 or 20 minutes of play time anyway.

Once the clip is working and I'm actually using it regularly I'll hopefully find some time.
Hi saratoga,

I just installed the latest version of Rockbox using the GUI installer on the Sansa Clip+, but none of my M4A files are playable.

Were your patches ever committed?

The files were encoded at 256kbps. Does that make a difference?

Is there a way I can help debug or provide more troubleshooting info?

(Sorry to resurrect such an old post. This was the closest relevant thread according to Google.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote

  #19  
Old 04-05-2011, 06:21 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

AAC should work just fine in 2011 (contrary to the 2009 thread you resurrected). Are your M4A files DRMed?
Reply With Quote

  #20  
Old 04-05-2011, 09:54 PM
m27315 m27315 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 5
Default

No, the M4A files were encoded in iTunes 6 at 256kbps by me from my private CD collection. FWIW, They play fine in Songbird on Linux, which uses the libfaad decoder, I believe. ... Is there any way I can see or retrieve an error log to see exactly what is the problem? All I know is that the M4A files I created don't work, but my OGG and MP3 files play fine. If I try to manually play an M4A files from the "Files" menu, then it just flashes a quick message about M4A and goes to the next song in the list, if it can find one. Sometimes the player hangs, and I have to reboot it. ... Thanks!
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:21 AM.