android
Go Back   abi>>forums > MP3 Players By Brand > Cowon iAudio > Cowon D2/D2+

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-25-2008, 04:53 PM
gorcorps's Avatar
gorcorps gorcorps is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Golden, Colorado, USA
Posts: 383
Default no way around the 'double clicking' to select menu items?

I swear, the D2 is so near perfection it boggles the mind how such an obviously annoying design choice is what's keeping it from sheer bliss. Why do I have to click every item twice to do anything? There's absolutely no point to it from what I can tell, and no way of changing it. I can understand clicking the screen to bring up the navigation controls... that makes sense. But when I hit the menu button and click music I expect to be taken to music, not have to click music again.

Are we really stuck with this or is there any theme/firmware modification that can change it?
__________________
There's no such thing as a stupid question, but there sure are a lot of inquisitive idiots...

My Deviant Art page - they make great wallpapers
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 12-25-2008, 05:50 PM
no9's Avatar
no9 no9 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 1,098
Default

What firmware version are you running? And these double presses, do they occur when the screen has gone black? When using the/a stylus it seems to go better for me than when using just fingers. Other than that if you are using 2.57 and not 3.57 with different themes or skins, you have it as good as it gets unless your screen is damaged.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 12-25-2008, 06:38 PM
gorcorps's Avatar
gorcorps gorcorps is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Golden, Colorado, USA
Posts: 383
Default

I have 2.57 which is what it shipped with. I'm running a different theme but even the default theme did this. Let me try to explain a bit more precisely what I mean to make sure I didn't get a borked player somehow:

Start your D2 and enter the main menu (to select music, video, etc)
Now when you click the option that you were on previously, it works on one click, but if you are trying to get somewhere else it requires 2 clicks. For example, if your D2 boots to the music screen then go to the menu and click music again. You got right back to the music screen right?
Now click menu again, and then click something else like video. Video doesn't open right away for me, instead it gets highlighted and then I have to click video AGAIN to get into the video screen. This is what I mean by 'double click'.
__________________
There's no such thing as a stupid question, but there sure are a lot of inquisitive idiots...

My Deviant Art page - they make great wallpapers
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 12-25-2008, 07:39 PM
no9's Avatar
no9 no9 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 1,098
Default

Yes that sounds about right to me. I have more problems when I use my fingers vs when I use a stylus though. Alot of people tell me that on firmware 3.57 with different themes and skins that the D2 becomes less responsive. Meaning that changing to the korean firmware won't help it become more responsive. I myself haven't notice much of a change between the two, but what you are experiencing sounds pretty much standard to my experiences.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 12-25-2008, 08:12 PM
gorcorps's Avatar
gorcorps gorcorps is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Golden, Colorado, USA
Posts: 383
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by no9 View Post
Yes that sounds about right to me. I have more problems when I use my fingers vs when I use a stylus though. Alot of people tell me that on firmware 3.57 with different themes and skins that the D2 becomes less responsive. Meaning that changing to the korean firmware won't help it become more responsive. I myself haven't notice much of a change between the two, but what you are experiencing sounds pretty much standard to my experiences.
Yeah, I checked the review video here and their unit works exactly like mine does. So it's not a problem with mine, just a shoddy design choice IMO which was even brought up in the review. Not a deal breaker as it's not hard to double tap, but it still makes the UI a tad less fluid when it didn't need to take that hit.
__________________
There's no such thing as a stupid question, but there sure are a lot of inquisitive idiots...

My Deviant Art page - they make great wallpapers
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:23 PM.