android
  #1  
Old 08-30-2008, 10:29 PM
jac0b jac0b is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 136
Default Complied Rockbox: Simple Branch

Note: Current build doesn't have the mpeg playlist patch.
Last Updated: 7/23/2009 9:30PM

[Download Rockbox S-Series Current Build]

Patches:
FS#6733 - Shutdown Only in menu
FS#8400 - Option to keep backlight off while pressing certain buttons
FS#7542 - Move playlist creation from root to Playlists directory
FS#8607 - MPEG video playlist
__________________
Player: Gigabeat F40/S30
Firmware: Rockbox Simple F Series Branch, Rockbox Simple S Series Branch
Headphone: MDR-V150 / HA-FX34 / HA-FX66 / KSC75

Last edited by jac0b; 07-23-2009 at 08:47 PM.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 09-03-2008, 04:45 PM
Brodie_337 Brodie_337 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3
Default

Hi,

How would you go about installing this. I cant seem to properly compile the sendfirm.exe utility, so I cant install. Whenever I try to compile, it says somthing about the directory "cc1" not existing.

Any help would be appreciated.

Brodie.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 09-03-2008, 09:02 PM
jac0b jac0b is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 136
Default

These are the instructions to install it. But wait till tomorrow I will uploading a better build of the gigabeat S this supposedly has a problem with the USB code and will mess up you gigabeat. Or you could just use the default build on the instruction page and then put mine on at a later time.

Good luck and if you have any questions let me know.
__________________
Player: Gigabeat F40/S30
Firmware: Rockbox Simple F Series Branch, Rockbox Simple S Series Branch
Headphone: MDR-V150 / HA-FX34 / HA-FX66 / KSC75
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 09-04-2008, 06:35 AM
Brodie_337 Brodie_337 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks for your help mate.

I'll probably wind up using your build, thanks for making it possible for newbs like me to use RockBox. Just a quick question, I'm using Windows Vista, and dont have the FDISK utility. How do I format the disk, and which partition needs formatting.

Thanks again,
Brodie.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 09-04-2008, 08:56 AM
jac0b jac0b is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 136
Default

If you are using windows you don't have to do the fdisk thing that is for linux.
__________________
Player: Gigabeat F40/S30
Firmware: Rockbox Simple F Series Branch, Rockbox Simple S Series Branch
Headphone: MDR-V150 / HA-FX34 / HA-FX66 / KSC75
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 09-04-2008, 11:50 PM
Brodie_337 Brodie_337 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3
Default

OK mate, so the disk wont need formatting at all?
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 09-05-2008, 07:05 AM
jac0b jac0b is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 136
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brodie_337 View Post
OK mate, so the disk wont need formatting at all?
You shouldn't have to, also your not formatting it you are just editing the partition tables so linux can understand what is on the disk.
__________________
Player: Gigabeat F40/S30
Firmware: Rockbox Simple F Series Branch, Rockbox Simple S Series Branch
Headphone: MDR-V150 / HA-FX34 / HA-FX66 / KSC75

Last edited by jac0b; 09-05-2008 at 11:26 AM.
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 09-17-2008, 08:10 AM
chu tuoc chu tuoc is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 11
Default

Hi
Could you please upload it on another site ?? I live in SE Asia and they don't allow me to download anything without paying them
Thx
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 09-17-2008, 03:57 PM
jac0b jac0b is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 136
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chu tuoc View Post
Hi
Could you please upload it on another site ?? I live in SE Asia and they don't allow me to download anything without paying them
Thx
Where can you d/l it from? Rapidshare, Megaupload?
__________________
Player: Gigabeat F40/S30
Firmware: Rockbox Simple F Series Branch, Rockbox Simple S Series Branch
Headphone: MDR-V150 / HA-FX34 / HA-FX66 / KSC75
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 09-17-2008, 07:55 PM
chu tuoc chu tuoc is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 11
Default

I can download from rapidshare
Thx
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 09-17-2008, 08:21 PM
jac0b jac0b is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 136
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chu tuoc View Post
I can download from rapidshare
Thx
Here you go
__________________
Player: Gigabeat F40/S30
Firmware: Rockbox Simple F Series Branch, Rockbox Simple S Series Branch
Headphone: MDR-V150 / HA-FX34 / HA-FX66 / KSC75
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 09-17-2008, 09:26 PM
chu tuoc chu tuoc is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 11
Default

Thank a lot
I have some question about this port.
-Can I play music with it (it sound silly but this port is incomplete so it may not able to play music) ?
-Can I reinstall the original firmware after I install this ?
-Can I recharge using this firmware or I have to swap back to the original Firmware?
Regard

Edit: I have some problem.After I download nk.bin and sendfirm from the instruction page I tried to send it to my player by exceuting sendfirm nk.bin but nothing happended only a commandline saying that"firmware send successfully" . I then shutdown the player and turn on again this time I jump to the recovery menu I say me to Restore to Portable Media Center.I tried to send the firmware to it again and only a partion with 1 Gb appear. It nothing like to description in the instruction page.What should I do
Edit 2: Strangely after I remove USB cable the device restart and enter rockbox but I only appear a 150Mb Partition. How can I make other partition appear to copy Rockbox to it ??
Ecit 3: I can make Rockbox boot. Now how can I apply the patch for rockbox.Thx

Last edited by chu tuoc; 09-17-2008 at 10:59 PM. Reason: Edit 2
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 09-18-2008, 05:53 AM
jac0b jac0b is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 136
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chu tuoc View Post
Thank a lot
Edit 3: I can make Rockbox boot. Now how can I apply the patch for rockbox.Thx
I am glad you got it working now. You can't apply patches unless you build your own rockbox build like the one I gave you. Check this out for more info on how to build your own.
__________________
Player: Gigabeat F40/S30
Firmware: Rockbox Simple F Series Branch, Rockbox Simple S Series Branch
Headphone: MDR-V150 / HA-FX34 / HA-FX66 / KSC75
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 09-18-2008, 09:04 AM
chu tuoc chu tuoc is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 11
Default

Thx for your information.
I have some other problem:
Every time I turn off the device when I turn back on I stuck to the Recovery Screen and have to send the firmware back to it.Are there other way around ? I see in the Instruction say about dual boot how can I do it ?
How can I customize the themes. And are there a way to change the wallpaper in Rockbox?
It amazing to see this port progress so fast it now almost fully functional.Love to see more progress
Regard
Edit : Where can I find the original firmware for S60 ? The read me said that I need the original Firmware for dual booting

Last edited by chu tuoc; 09-18-2008 at 09:44 AM.
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 09-18-2008, 11:42 AM
jac0b jac0b is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 136
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chu tuoc View Post
Thx for your information.
I have some other problem:
Every time I turn off the device when I turn back on I stuck to the Recovery Screen and have to send the firmware back to it.Are there other way around ? I see in the Instruction say about dual boot how can I do it ?
How can I customize the themes. And are there a way to change the wallpaper in Rockbox?
It amazing to see this port progress so fast it now almost fully functional.Love to see more progress
Regard
Edit : Where can I find the original firmware for S60 ? The read me said that I need the original Firmware for dual booting
The dual-boot process you needed just for charging but I have a patch applied to charge the player with RB.

On the recovery mode problem make sure you are unmounting/safely removing the player and not just unplugging it.

Currently I don't see any themes for the S but you could create your own Check Here.
__________________
Player: Gigabeat F40/S30
Firmware: Rockbox Simple F Series Branch, Rockbox Simple S Series Branch
Headphone: MDR-V150 / HA-FX34 / HA-FX66 / KSC75
Reply With Quote

  #16  
Old 09-18-2008, 12:40 PM
chu tuoc chu tuoc is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 11
Default

I have successfully make a dual boot and it solve the problem of the recovery
But if I want to use the single boot version how can I safety remove/unmount the device to avoid the recovery screen? I can see the Shut down option on Rockbox but when I click it it said Battery charging and nothing happened .After messing with my near dead battery I made it completely dead and now I have to use my Gigabeat with an adapter so every time I move around I have to unplug it and it will cause the recovery screen appear
Reply With Quote

  #17  
Old 09-18-2008, 01:31 PM
jac0b jac0b is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 136
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chu tuoc View Post
I have successfully make a dual boot and it solve the problem of the recovery
But if I want to use the single boot version how can I safety remove/unmount the device to avoid the recovery screen? I can see the Shut down option on Rockbox but when I click it it said Battery charging and nothing happened .After messing with my near dead battery I made it completely dead and now I have to use my Gigabeat with an adapter so every time I move around I have to unplug it and it will cause the recovery screen appear
The dual boot is just for if you want to boot into the OF(original firmware) and for what I said earlier about charging of the S, it has nothing to do with the recovery mode. To boot the OF turn off your player and turn on Hold then power the player back on and it will boot into the OF(Note: wait for until it has fully booted before turning hold off). To safely remove in windows you click the icon(looks like the below picture) in your taskbar and select "safely remove" and that will remove it from your computer. If you use linux just right click on the drive and select "unmount".
Attached Images
File Type: jpg usb.jpg (1.3 KB, 110 views)
__________________
Player: Gigabeat F40/S30
Firmware: Rockbox Simple F Series Branch, Rockbox Simple S Series Branch
Headphone: MDR-V150 / HA-FX34 / HA-FX66 / KSC75

Last edited by jac0b; 09-18-2008 at 01:37 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #18  
Old 09-18-2008, 06:31 PM
chu tuoc chu tuoc is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 11
Default

Thx.But my Gigabeat enter recovery mode when I unplug it from the adapter not USB.Since my battery is completely dead unplug from the adapter leave the Gigabeat with no power source and it cause the problem.I also encouter the problem when I hold the power button for a few second. The Gigabeat will reboot and it will jump into the recovery screen.In short with the single boot firmware every time I reboot the Gigabeeat it will enter the recovery screen not boot screen.
About the themes: the ones for X anf F series work fine with S series since they have the same screen resolution
Regard
Reply With Quote

  #19  
Old 09-18-2008, 08:30 PM
jac0b jac0b is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 136
Default

Does rockbox even boot up? Also did you put the build I gave the link to up above or did you put the default build from the instructions?
__________________
Player: Gigabeat F40/S30
Firmware: Rockbox Simple F Series Branch, Rockbox Simple S Series Branch
Headphone: MDR-V150 / HA-FX34 / HA-FX66 / KSC75
Reply With Quote

  #20  
Old 09-18-2008, 09:56 PM
chu tuoc chu tuoc is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 11
Default

No.Gigabeat detect that firmware were fail so it jump right to recovery mode.After I sent the nk.bin to the device again it can boot to Rockbox ,I can even resume the song that I play before I turn off the device so I think that may be the problem with the firmware ,are there anyway to bypassing the firmware check of Gigabeat? I use the Rockbox version that you send me.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:27 AM.