android
  #1  
Old 07-08-2008, 05:47 PM
Rocco Rocco is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Scotland
Posts: 29
Default CD Ripping.....

Hi guys, thinking of getting myself a D2 as my Zen Sleek is looking a bit dated and the the fact I dropped it for the first time the other day did it no good (hold button died....sniff)!

I was wondering, if like the Creative software for my Sleek, can you rip CDs straight to the D2 device, without having to rip them onto a PC first then transfer them over. I loved how easy this was with the Sleek, stick CD in PC, select compression rate and hey presto you have the album on you MP3 player.

Any help would be appreciated,

R.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 07-08-2008, 05:56 PM
FrododorF's Avatar
FrododorF FrododorF is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montgomery AL
Posts: 712
Default

well since the d2 is msc it is very simple, use any cd ripper that lets you choose the file path ( i don't know of any that don't) and choose a location on you D2. it should rip them straight to the player with no issues.
__________________
Leprechauns hide their gold in Electrical Outlets..
..Use Forks to Get em Out..
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 07-08-2008, 06:08 PM
Rocco Rocco is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Scotland
Posts: 29
Default

Brilliant, sounds so simple and efficient!
Cheers for the prompt reply FrododorF.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 07-12-2008, 04:23 PM
BlueMax BlueMax is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 7
Default

Backing up data has always been a recommended practice. Okay, you may have the original CD but it takes about 15 minutes to rip a CD. So it makes sense to rip to HD first and keep it as a backup.

Just a thought....

BTW. External HDs that plug into a USB port can be purchased for around one UKP per Gig. Possibly cheaper in some other countries. You might even be tempted to get into audio streaming.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 07-13-2008, 06:20 PM
Rocco Rocco is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Scotland
Posts: 29
Default

Ok this is now starting to drive me insane!!!
I'm ripping cds straight to the MUSIC folder of my D2. JetAudio is picking up the cd album info from the net, however when it gets imported to the D2 it does not recognise the artist or album, its saying 'unknown' when played. It just gives it a huge file name i.e the artist, album, track name etc, and you cannot find it through the artist or album menu.....WHY?
Its being saved to Music Library-Folder-D2-Music and not Music Library- Artist or Album.
Any ideas?
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 07-13-2008, 06:22 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rocco View Post
Any ideas?
Yes, use a good application for ripping instead of JetAudio.

http://wiki.hydrogenaudio.org/index.php?title=EAC
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 07-17-2008, 09:35 AM
Rocco Rocco is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Scotland
Posts: 29
Default

Ended up giving it a shot with Windows Media Player in the end. Ripped several CDs straigh to D" with no problems.
Amazingly it was much faster than JetAudio and so much easier to edit tracks IDs!
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 07-19-2008, 07:24 AM
Andavane Andavane is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3
Default Transferring CD's to D2 in Linux [Ubuntu]

Just plugged the d2 into my PC running on Ubuntu - it seems to pick up everything great. As a matter of interest, what would the team recommend as the optimum way (or program) for extracting CD's to Hard Drive and for subsequent transfer to Ubuntu Linux?
Regards
John
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 07-19-2008, 11:20 AM
BlueMax BlueMax is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 7
Default

both EAC and CDex have good reputation in hi-fi circles.
Lossless formats such as FLAC level 8 or APE are the best and supported by the D2. But they take much more memory space.
MP3 320 kbps is good enough with most earbuds and headphones.
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 07-19-2008, 11:31 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

In most cases 320k CBR MP3 is a waste of bitrate and space, with no noticeable quality improvement. It's usually better to use on of the recommended LAME VBR presets.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:06 PM.