android
  #1  
Old 05-07-2008, 10:38 AM
ORACLE15 ORACLE15 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 4
Default Rockbox on v2?

I just recently purchased a sansa e280 off amazon.com, and wanted to put rockbox on it. I am not familiar with rockbox, even though I am good with most things.

The official firmware on the Sansa is V03.01.11A, and on the metal backing in the corner it says, "model: e280v2"

My computer has Windows XP SP2.

Can I get rockbox on this Sansa e280, and if I can, would someone tell me how??
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 05-07-2008, 10:41 AM
A.z's Avatar
A.z A.z is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Israel
Posts: 1,349
Default

Unfortunately, you can't put Rockbox on the e200v2 series.
__________________
You got that rainbow feel...
But the rainbow has a beard

My Last.fm
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 05-07-2008, 03:59 PM
roebeet's Avatar
roebeet roebeet is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 266
Default

Buying a new E200 series model to get a V1 is probably unlikely, at this point. Probably, the only way to get a V1 E200 now are places like eBay (assuming the seller announces that it's a V1 in the auction). Or, if you can find an R series player, those can all be Rockboxed, tmk.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 05-07-2008, 06:05 PM
advcomp2019's Avatar
advcomp2019 advcomp2019 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,838
Default

Since you have v2, you can't put Rockbox on it.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 05-07-2008, 07:33 PM
chrisjs162216 chrisjs162216 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 1,515
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by roebeet View Post
Or, if you can find an R series player, those can all be Rockboxed, tmk.
If it's v2, it can't be Rockboxed, even if it is an R series player.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 05-08-2008, 07:37 PM
roebeet's Avatar
roebeet roebeet is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 266
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisjs162216 View Post
If it's v2, it can't be Rockboxed, even if it is an R series player.
I don't know if there was ever a v2 R series player made - that's why I mentioned it. ie. if someone is looking for a player on eBay, I think their chances of getting a V1 R series is much higher than a V1 non-R series.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 05-09-2008, 10:07 PM
ORACLE15 ORACLE15 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks for the info guys!!
I guess I have to do without Rockbox, but I can live with that.
Thanks for the replies!!
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 05-10-2008, 08:55 PM
ORACLE15 ORACLE15 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 4
Default

I just had a small question pop up in my mind.

Could I put a linux port onto the sansa e280v2??
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 05-10-2008, 09:02 PM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ORACLE15 View Post
...Could I put a linux port onto the sansa e280v2??
No, only on V1 models ... but if you're interested, you can read up SansaLinux forum
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 05-20-2008, 10:58 AM
ORACLE15 ORACLE15 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks for everything guys!!
I'm glad I have as good a resource as Anything But Ipod!
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 05-24-2008, 10:43 AM
matts great5 matts great5 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 122
Default

i just wanted to mention that the bootloader will Not work on the v2 unit.
__________________
Sansa e280 (rockboxed)
iPod Touch 3rd Gen. 32GB
PSP Slim CFW
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 05-26-2008, 05:37 AM
qurk qurk is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1
Default

Watch woot.com. They've offered a LOT of sansa players over the last few weeks... I had been noting the 8 gig e280 on Amazon but had no way to know what version it was... woot basically only offers the refurbished sansas, and as far as I know they are always v1. I had to upgrade my 2 gig to 8 gig when it popped up on woot, and was pretty confident it would be a v1 due to it's refurbished status. Have a friend interested in buying my 2 gig, so trying to get it set up with nice themes, etc.. I got my 2 gig off buy.com, and they clearly made note it was a refurb. Have fun with your sansa, I recommend one of those silicone skins with screen protector
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 05-29-2008, 08:01 PM
blackthunder blackthunder is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: seattle
Posts: 41
Default

I just got a sansa v1 off ebay, I emailed a couple sellers about the firmware version most were clueless and/or wouldn't check but a few responded.
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 06-05-2008, 06:45 PM
Nerdhead Nerdhead is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 4
Default

Try Ben's Bargains, which will direct you to Buy.com. I think you can get a refurb e250 v.1 for like $35-38 shipping included. I got mine there..works fine, I just never warmed up to the scroll wheel, but like the unit otherwise.
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 06-05-2008, 08:05 PM
sansaguy's Avatar
sansaguy sansaguy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 675
Default

I keep hearing rumors that Rockbox is being ported to the v2's..??. Any truth?
__________________
How I Roll:
Sansa e250v1 Rockboxed refurb
16GB microSDHC
Sansa e260v1 Rockboxed 8GB microsdhc
Sansa Fuze 8GB 16GB microSDHC
Reply With Quote

  #16  
Old 06-05-2008, 10:05 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,601
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sansaguy View Post
I keep hearing rumors that Rockbox is being ported to the v2's..??. Any truth?
I'm skeptical you actually heard a rumor about rockbox.
Reply With Quote

  #17  
Old 06-06-2008, 02:36 AM
Llorean Llorean is offline
Rockbox Developer
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 397
Default

That being said, there's been some investigation into the System on a Chip that is used in the V2 Sansas. But there's been investigation into dozens of MP3 players that nothing has come of, so it's not worth getting your hopes up over unless you're planning to pitch in and make it happen.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:26 AM.