android
  #141  
Old 06-03-2008, 09:08 AM
rtech rtech is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 176
Default

Ok, I've d/l'd the .jar file (the only file I could get to d/l) from the Sourceforge site. I got the Java installed. And, I get nada. I click on the executable .jar file in the main folder but nothing happens. Nothing opens at all.
What am I missing here?
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #142  
Old 06-03-2008, 09:10 AM
kugel's Avatar
kugel kugel is offline
Rockbox Developer
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 1,153
Default

You either need to fix your file association or you open it in a cmd window.

For both, the correct command is "java -jar filename.jar"
__________________
;;
Reply With Quote

  #143  
Old 06-03-2008, 11:24 PM
rtech rtech is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 176
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kugel View Post
You either need to fix your file association or you open it in a cmd window.

For both, the correct command is "java -jar filename.jar"
Thanks for trying to help, Kugel, but I am apparently dumber than dishwater. I checked the file association for the executable, and it's right. It even dispalys as a Java icon. I double click, nothing. I try to run in the cmd window (Start -> Run ->java -main.jar, right?) A window opens & then shuts quickly.
I don't need the Sansa hooked up for this, do I?
Reply With Quote

  #144  
Old 06-04-2008, 01:51 AM
G.I.Joe G.I.Joe is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 68
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rtech View Post
Thanks for trying to help, Kugel, but I am apparently dumber than dishwater. I checked the file association for the executable, and it's right. It even dispalys as a Java icon. I double click, nothing. I try to run in the cmd window (Start -> Run ->java -main.jar, right?) A window opens & then shuts quickly.
I don't need the Sansa hooked up for this, do I?
If you start RockAA from the cmd window is there any message after RockAA crashed? If so, please post it here.
Reply With Quote

  #145  
Old 06-04-2008, 04:41 AM
kugel's Avatar
kugel kugel is offline
Rockbox Developer
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 1,153
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rtech View Post
Thanks for trying to help, Kugel, but I am apparently dumber than dishwater. I checked the file association for the executable, and it's right. It even dispalys as a Java icon. I double click, nothing. I try to run in the cmd window (Start -> Run ->java -main.jar, right?) A window opens & then shuts quickly.
I don't need the Sansa hooked up for this, do I?
Rather Start -> Run -> cmd; then (cd to the folder ->) java -jar main.jar

You need to have the -jar option in the file association as well.
__________________
;;
Reply With Quote

  #146  
Old 06-04-2008, 09:45 AM
rtech rtech is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 176
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by G.I.Joe View Post
If you start RockAA from the cmd window is there any message after RockAA crashed? If so, please post it here.
No message. It just flicker open, then closes right away. But when I use Kugels suggestion, it says it can't access file.

Last edited by rtech; 06-04-2008 at 10:00 AM. Reason: Added info
Reply With Quote

  #147  
Old 06-04-2008, 09:58 AM
rtech rtech is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 176
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kugel View Post
Rather Start -> Run -> cmd; then (cd to the folder ->) java -jar main.jar

You need to have the -jar option in the file association as well.
When I open the cmd window (now it's really open), I get C:\Documents and Settings\Sam>. The file is in My Documents. I tried typing "java -jar main.jar", but it says unable to access the file. I think I want this: C:\Documents and Settings\Sam\My Documents\RockAA_0.6>, but can't get the cmd line to backspace to get rid of the last > and let me do it.
Reply With Quote

  #148  
Old 06-04-2008, 10:06 AM
kugel's Avatar
kugel kugel is offline
Rockbox Developer
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 1,153
Default

Just enter 'cd "My Documents\RockAA_0.6"' before you type java -jar main.jar.
__________________
;;
Reply With Quote

  #149  
Old 06-04-2008, 11:44 PM
rtech rtech is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 176
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kugel View Post
Just enter 'cd "My Documents\RockAA_0.6"' before you type java -jar main.jar.
Alright, I am about to give this up. I have tried every way I can think of to enter this, including EXACTLY what you wrote, and I either " 'cd is not a valid" something or 'nother, or "can't find path". I put IN the punctuation, I took it out. I capitalized, I didn't. I moved it to another folder & tried to look for that one, I get nothing.
I don't mind not having it, I mind that I can't figure out HOW to get it.
Reply With Quote

  #150  
Old 06-05-2008, 01:08 AM
kugel's Avatar
kugel kugel is offline
Rockbox Developer
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 1,153
Default

You can use the tab key to automatically complete filenames. E.g. Type "My D", hit tap, and now "My Documents" should appear.

You can allways type "help" to get a command list, and "command /?" to get help for a specific command. If you start a program, most of the have a help file included which is shown by "program.exe [--help, -h or /?]" (chose one and remove the brackets).

Well, some basic command line knowledge is obligatory.
__________________
;;
Reply With Quote

  #151  
Old 06-05-2008, 01:22 AM
yj_kia yj_kia is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5
Default

Needs improvment.

Most AAs are saved in 130x130 resolution bmps which are actually quite pixellated if you use themes like saagarsbigart. Moreover, all of the saved AAs for OF looked horrible as they fall short of the 200x200 jpg i always use.

I don't where went wrong but maybe someone can improve on that by letting the user specify the size of the AA saved. Just my humble opinion. (:

Cheers
Reply With Quote

  #152  
Old 06-05-2008, 05:43 AM
G.I.Joe G.I.Joe is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 68
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yj_kia View Post
Needs improvment.

Most AAs are saved in 130x130 resolution bmps which are actually quite pixellated if you use themes like saagarsbigart. Moreover, all of the saved AAs for OF looked horrible as they fall short of the 200x200 jpg i always use.

I don't where went wrong but maybe someone can improve on that by letting the user specify the size of the AA saved. Just my humble opinion. (:

Cheers
RockAA 0.7 will support user defined save formats based on XML descriptions. I'm kind of busy right now, but there may be a first alpha release of the next version in 1-2 months.
Reply With Quote

  #153  
Old 06-10-2008, 04:19 AM
G.I.Joe G.I.Joe is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 68
Default

I'm looking for a talented PHP developer to create a small platform where users will be able to share RockAA 0.7 save formats. My PHP knowledge is somewhat limited, so I could really use some help
I'm also thinking about integrating this platform in one of the later RockAA version (0.8 or 0.9).
If you're interested, please contact me.
Reply With Quote

  #154  
Old 06-15-2008, 10:32 AM
G.I.Joe G.I.Joe is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 68
Default

Just wanted to tell you, that I had some free time to work on RockAA again. Version 0.7 is almost complete now. If all goes well, I might be able to release an alpha version next week.
Reply With Quote

  #155  
Old 06-15-2008, 12:51 PM
hotrod hotrod is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 72
Default

Cool. Looking forward to trying it out.
Reply With Quote

  #156  
Old 06-15-2008, 03:23 PM
zmjb1's Avatar
zmjb1 zmjb1 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 57
Thumb Up ditto

Quote:
Originally Posted by G.I.Joe View Post
Just wanted to tell you, that I had some free time to work on RockAA again. Version 0.7 is almost complete now. If all goes well, I might be able to release an alpha version next week.
I can't wait!
Reply With Quote

  #157  
Old 06-16-2008, 05:49 AM
G.I.Joe G.I.Joe is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 68
Default

OK, I've finally managed to put together an alpha version. I won't put this on Sourceforge or anywhere else, because this is still very, very, very alpha! (Did I say very?)
The next thing I'll work on is the color coding the folder scan mode uses. It's kind of confusing in its current state and the "error color" is somewhat stupid

Please post your save format XML files here, so I can have a look at them and maybe include them in one of the next versions.
Attached Files
File Type: zip RockAA_0.7_alpha.zip (765.2 KB, 28 views)
Reply With Quote

  #158  
Old 08-17-2008, 06:05 PM
captmonkey4777 captmonkey4777 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 33
Default

Are you still developing this software?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote

  #159  
Old 08-19-2008, 07:30 AM
G.I.Joe G.I.Joe is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 68
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by captmonkey4777 View Post
Are you still developing this software?

Thanks!
Not at the moment, since I'm quite busy. But I'll pick up development again as soon as I have some free time (maybe around Christmas?).
Reply With Quote

  #160  
Old 08-19-2008, 08:02 AM
sansaguy's Avatar
sansaguy sansaguy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 675
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by G.I.Joe View Post
OK, I've finally managed to put together an alpha version. I won't put this on Sourceforge or anywhere else, because this is still very, very, very alpha! (Did I say very?)
The next thing I'll work on is the color coding the folder scan mode uses. It's kind of confusing in its current state and the "error color" is somewhat stupid

Please post your save format XML files here, so I can have a look at them and maybe include them in one of the next versions.
just started using RockAA and already have a *noob* question. I was downloading some album art and the program froze up. Does the player need to be plugged in while doing this?. Thanks.
__________________
How I Roll:
Sansa e250v1 Rockboxed refurb
16GB microSDHC
Sansa e260v1 Rockboxed 8GB microsdhc
Sansa Fuze 8GB 16GB microSDHC
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:30 PM.