android
  #1  
Old 05-28-2008, 05:49 PM
jjr jjr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 170
Default D2 has arrived ;-) Some questions

When I ordered the D2 from Jetmall I ordered the extra screen protectors, my new D2 has come with a screen protector on it from the factory or at least I believe it is a screen protector.

Is it ok to use that and when it gets warn then replace it with the regular protectors I purchased???

My player is the 8gb model and I would like to ad on a 12gb or 32gb SD card if I do will it automaticly increase the size on the player so i do not have to access the card for any reaseon to play music from it? Hopefully I'm wording this correctly?

I thought I read somwhere if you have added a card that you would have to open up the card to use it???

More questions to come and what a nice player and well built to boot!

TIA,
John
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 05-28-2008, 05:58 PM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,054
Default

1) Leave the screen protector on till you feel like removing it - thats fine.
2) The sd card is fully integrated into the D2 library - you only need to navigate to it when you want to view in folder mode.
3) Enjoy your D2 and WELCOME TO THE FAMILY !!!
Here's a link to the review as it gives a little more info on your baby: http://www.anythingbutipod.com/archi...-d2-review.php
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 05-28-2008, 08:24 PM
jjr jjr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 170
Default

So the player will work the same as having a larger memory? If I have the player set to play all songs randomly it will automatically go to the card if needed?

Thanks about the review info I have saw that and about everything else on it, now if trying to figure out all it can do.

John
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 05-29-2008, 10:57 AM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,054
Default

Again:
1) YES.
2) YES.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 05-29-2008, 12:09 PM
jjr jjr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 170
Default

One last question, so I popped in a transcend 2GB 150x card and went to my settings to see if my space increased, it did not. The amount of memory was the same with or without the card.

Am I using a card that is not recommended or somthing?

Thanks for your patience,
John
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 05-29-2008, 12:19 PM
Andreas's Avatar
Andreas Andreas is offline
Visiting troll from Pocketables
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Norway
Posts: 2,285
Default

The space thingy only shows internal memory. If the files on the card show up, it works
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 06-02-2008, 08:42 AM
Branchedout Branchedout is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 17
Default

I believe what he's asking is if the card will actually increase the size of the player itself.

It will not. You'll have to put files on the card itself.

What these guys are saying, the D2 will read the files on the card and the files on the D2 like it is one unit. You will not have to go to a "Media Card" menu to access the file on the card. You'll be able to browse them in a big list.

Hope this helps.
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 06-02-2008, 08:53 AM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,054
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cptnodegard View Post
The space thingy only shows internal memory. If the files on the card show up, it works
No,.. the Cptn was right. The card is part of your library but does not show when you go to settings to see the amount of space remaining. It will show when you sync w/your comp.
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 06-02-2008, 08:58 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

No matter if MTP or MSC mode, in Windows Explorer the internal memory and SD card will show up as two separate devices.

In file/folder browsing mode on the D2 the two memories will be treated separately. You'll see "D2" and "D2 EXT" in the folder list.

In ID3 browsing mode on the D2 both memories will be shown as one device, all audio will be merged/mixed into one list.

Clear enough?
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:36 AM.